05-07 - new member - Mumu - AMPS 362

Sisu

Member Since 2022
@tiffmaxee

So last night I decided to not shoot, I was considering giving 0.25 but was too nervous it would drop to dangerous levels, now in hindsight I think I should have. I didn't want to stall because I am feeding 12/12 only and he was hungry and knew it was supper time. If this happens again can we play a scenario out of checking, do I check every hour or two? What is the safest level for him to drop to without me feeding him again? I was told 4 mmol/L but i dont know if I will catch it at that before it drops too low, when he was at 2.6 mmol/L after his first shot of 2 U he was out of it but still able to eat but I am still nervous.
 
Next time you see a lower bg at preshot, stall dint feed and retest in 20-30. Why are you only feeding every 12 hours? I think that’s a big mistake. Smaller amounts spread out over the first half of the cycle usually help level them out.
 
Next time you see a lower bg at preshot, stall dint feed and retest in 20-30. Why are you only feeding every 12 hours? I think that’s a big mistake. Smaller amounts spread out over the first half of the cycle usually help level them out.

Because that's what I was told to do, what would an example be of feeding throughout the day be every 3,4 hours? Do you stick to the same times feeding everyday? And for the whole amount of food he is supposed to eat in a day how much do you portion out? I am not sure If I will accurately be able to do that everyday, never mind during the night. Every time I've fed him due to lower bg than im used to his bg would shoot up so I thought that feeding him during the day/night would make his levels rise?

I was doing good I think till I couldn't or didn't feel comfortable giving his second doses.
 
Feeding twice a day was needed with older insulins. Feeding the curve helps level dats out. I used to feed 1/2 of the food for the day at amps. Then I would divide the rest of his food up to the first half of the cycle or up to nadir if Max was going lower. Max would onset around +2.5-3 so his second mini beak would he then. After that I’d feed at +4-5. Each of those feedings would be just a teaspoon or two. That way he wasn’t starving by the next cycle.

When you say the BG shot up after eating were you feeding low darn snd small amounts?

Cats often drop lower at night so feeding at night would not cause the BG to rise. There’s lots of information on feeding the curve and good in general on the basics sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
 
Feeding twice a day was needed with older insulins. Feeding the curve helps level dats out. I used to feed 1/2 of the food for the day at amps. Then I would divide the rest of his food up to the first half of the cycle or up to nadir if Max was going lower. Max would onset around +2.5-3 so his second mini beak would he then. After that I’d feed at +4-5. Each of those feedings would be just a teaspoon or two. That way he wasn’t starving by the next cycle.

When you say the BG shot up after eating were you feeding low darn snd small amounts?

Cats often drop lower at night so feeding at night would not cause the BG to rise. There’s lots of information on feeding the curve and good in general on the basics sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/


I was feeding the same food as is in my signature, and around a quarter of the can. I think it is just getting too complicated feeding teaspoons during the day and night no offence, id rather stick to something more simple. He has gained a pound over the course of when he was receiving both his shots.

Ill just stick to what you said if over 150 give 0.25 if over 200 0.50. I should've just done that last night.
 
I agree with Elise that feeding a preshot meal and then a couple of snacks of low carb food during the first half of all the cycles both am and PM is a good idea. Only feeding twice a day before the insulin is given is old thinking.
It is better for the pancreas and I’m sure your kitty will thank you.
 
What about feeding at preshot, +2-3, and +4-6? So three times each cycle?

Can you explain whats better about it, how it helps the pancreas, curve, etc. My Vet told me it is better to feed 12/12 and no harm will be done.
Is regulation not done with consistincy? What if i cant do that everyday. I feel like i have been very consistent done everything i can what i think is right and still being told this isnt that or vice versa and its frustrating.

I am just doing what ive read/been told but seems like once i think i know something its actually the wrong way? I am just trying to do whats right for my cat i am not trying to be a perfectionist but it would sure be nice to live my life as well as have my cat regulated/healthy.
 
We are feeding Chico every 3 hours, when he was on higher doses of insulin/ not regulated we would feed only until +6 (just like Elise and Bron said), even more, all the time he was in remission we kept the same schedule - way better and easier for his pancreas.

A life hack from this forum that saved us a looot was to buy an autofeeder. With one you don’t have to think abt feeding them every couple of hours, the automatic feeder will do it for you. We have one that is with freezers, which allows us to use it for raw food as well. I am located in Europe so wouldn’t be useful the tell you the brand but i am sure there ate people here that could help you with that.
 
Back
Top