05/07 Cheech AMPS 354, PMPS 387/383

It does burn! I've been told that it has an acidic something in it, and even with humans, it can burn a little. Jude responds by turning around and trying to bite me sometimes--I gotta be quick.

We gotta get that dose up a bit so that she can get out of those stinky pinkies.
 
It does burn! I've been told that it has an acidic something in it, and even with humans, it can burn a little. Jude responds by turning around and trying to bite me sometimes--I gotta be quick.

We gotta get that dose up a bit so that she can get out of those stinky pinkies.
Yes ma’am! Planning on a Sunday curve.

Jude!! That does make me feel better 😜

Our vet had us go 1.5 to 2u last increase. SLGS says up by .25 so we could hypothetically go to 2.25, correct? I know I am not blind but holy cow is a .25 so tiny!
 
Yes ma’am! Planning on a Sunday curve.

Jude!! That does make me feel better 😜

Our vet had us go 1.5 to 2u last increase. SLGS says up by .25 so we could hypothetically go to 2.25, correct? I know I am not blind but holy cow is a .25 so tiny!
Yes, on SLGS, it's a .25 increase. Now, if you follow TR, if nadirs are greater than 300, you can take a .50 increase after three days (always check on the forum before making a dose increase/decrease). This is opinion, not advice: TR is a more aggressive dosing method, but if there is any way you can see yourself managing to test more frequently (and she's off kibble, right?? gotta be off kibble to do TR), I would try to follow TR. It is the dosing method that has research behind it showing that kitties go into remission when following it. I'm not saying that she WILL go into remission, of course, but the research is there. Saying that, I'll tell you that Jude went into remission on SLGS. That's because he was a steroid-induced diabetic, and once I got him off steroids and changed his food to LC, little dude's numbers dropped down into remission. He came out of remission due to urinary tract issues.
 
Yes, on SLGS, it's a .25 increase. Now, if you follow TR, if nadirs are greater than 300, you can take a .50 increase after three days (always check on the forum before making a dose increase/decrease). This is opinion, not advice: TR is a more aggressive dosing method, but if there is any way you can see yourself managing to test more frequently (and she's off kibble, right?? gotta be off kibble to do TR), I would try to follow TR. It is the dosing method that has research behind it showing that kitties go into remission when following it. I'm not saying that she WILL go into remission, of course, but the research is there. Saying that, I'll tell you that Jude went into remission on SLGS. That's because he was a steroid-induced diabetic, and once I got him off steroids and changed his food to LC, little dude's numbers dropped down into remission. He came out of remission due to urinary tract issues.
Yes, no kibble!! She has the very beginnings of a cavity but her vet is firm we want to get her regulated before pulling her tooth.

My fear with TR is having to test her so frequently. She is not happy with the ear pricks as we go, but I know she would be even more unhappy with a CGM.
 
I think Mary is right, Cheech is due for an increase as she’s staying in those nasty pinks too long.

Good luck with the curve and I hope she does well when you increase her dose.

And think about TR, getting her to a good dose will help a lot!
We understand it’s a bit scary in the beginning, we’ve all been there!

Hugs to you and Cheech 😻💕🐈‍⬛😽
 
You are using syringes with 1/2 unit markings, right? Here is a sticky that shows what those quarter unit doses look like: Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
I think Mary is right, Cheech is due for an increase as she’s staying in those nasty pinks too long.

Good luck with the curve and I hope she does well when you increase her dose.

And think about TR, getting her to a good dose will help a lot!
We understand it’s a bit scary in the beginning, we’ve all been there!

Hugs to you and Cheech 😻💕🐈‍⬛😽
Thank you both! Agreed. I know .25 is such a tiny increase but hoping it does work (post curve, though I would be shocked if her nadirs weren’t in line with her past curve).

Good news, I think she still likes me!! So silly to say 🥰🤡
 
Back
Top