05/06 - Pip - AMPS 257, +7 214, PMPS 270

Good evening :)

Pip is grooming more and seems to have a bit more energy today and his breathing seems a bit better!

Continuing fluids, nausea meds, and of course the ear antibiotics. Next vet visit is the 13th.

I'm very relieved that he seems more like himself today :)

Have a wonderful evening and safe surfing 💕🏄‍♀️
I’m very happy to hear this.

I strongly suggest you raise his dose to 2.25u bid in the morning. We need to get him back to better numbers.
 
I’m very happy to hear this.

I strongly suggest you raise his dose to 2.25u bid in the morning. We need to get him back to better numbers.
The vet asked me to wait 10 days between dose switches... I tried to explain

I will do 2.25 tomorrow and i'll tell the vet when i go up to 2.5 i guess... I want to do what's best for Pip <3
 
20260506_141553.jpg

20260506_141453.jpg
 
The vet asked me to wait 10 days between dose switches... I tried to explain

I will do 2.25 tomorrow and i'll tell the vet when i go up to 2.5 i guess... I want to do what's best for Pip <3
Sarah, Can you share your dosing method guidelines with the vet? There is some research behind the TR method of dosing that is posted on the forum. Sometimes it can help vets to see the research. Let me know if you want me to link it for you.
 
The vet asked me to wait 10 days between dose switches... I tried to explain

I will do 2.25 tomorrow and i'll tell the vet when i go up to 2.5 i guess... I want to do what's best for Pip <3
Vets hold doses way too long. It’s not good for Pip especially since the vet cut his dose WAAAAYYYY back with no basis to do so. This puts Pip at risk for ketones, etc. So be sure you stay on top of ketone testing.

Can you please update your signature block indicating you are doing TR? You’ll keep getting the same question if you don’t. ;) Most members here do not rely on their vet for dosing suggestions; I certainly never did and my vet was awesome about it. In fact, I gave a presentation to all the vets at the clinic about FD patterns and many were shocked at the curves we see that they had never seen. It’s hard to make it clear to a vet when you don’t follow their advice but they get very little FD training and we have dealt with it here 24/7 for decades. A good vet will understand and be your partner.

I love Pip’s sweet face.
 
Back
Top