? 05/05 Rocky 254 AMPS - Dosing?

SDBennison

Member Since 2021
Good morning - Upped Rocky Dosage couple days ago to 1.5. He is reading very consistent every day but not dropping. Wondering if we stay the course, go up, go down? I've been going slow and numbers are not bouncing which I take is a good thing. However, I'd like to get more toward normal range if possible. He is eating good, drinking less water and seems content. What is the recommendation on how long to hold if no changes are showing? Thanks in advance. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/10KvJ3p7XBiD48k0zn8DIQacVxbv-T4VUSZzknp74PHM/edit?usp=sharing
 
Hi! Here is your previous thread - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-rocky-pmps-226-still-give-1-25.246699/ - we like to link for continuity.

Are you following a dosing method from here (click the blue for a link)? If you are only feeding wet food, then the choice is yours on the method. If you are feeding any dry, you need to follow SLGS. I'd recommend following one (and ask questions along the way :bighug:).

I see last time you posted folks asked if you could get a "before bed test" - a PMPS + 2 would be great and you can leave out food accordingly. Lantus generally onsets between +2 and +3 (but ECID of course and one must learn their own cat :)).
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for him
FWIW, you've been on your current dose for awhile - 18 cycles by my count (with one of those being an FS) - without the PM tests, it's hard for someone like me to say to increase with confidence but perhaps @Wendy&Neko can stop by again to throw in her two cents for increasing.

Hope that helps a little :bighug:
 
Sorry - my spreadsheet was messed up. I changed to 1.5 per cycle on Monday a.m. So the last 5 have been 1.5 and there's really been no change. That is why I was asking. I am not feeding any kibble so all wet. I did get a couple pre bed tests but timing is difficult. However, I do think the trend generally is showing that his numbers are the same pretty much each cycle. Thanks for the guidance. I believe I was using the SLGS method but don't know if that is the right thing either.
 
Hi. If following SLGS then you hold the dose for 7 days unless you get a reading under 90 and would decrease. It does look like an increase might be needed but it’s too soon to know. A before bed test is really encouraged.
 
Good to hear that Rocky seems to be doing well. Due to the Lantus depot, it can take a full six cycles before you see the full effect of a new dose.

Thanks for fixing the spreadsheet. If you want to increase any sooner than 7 days, that means following the Tight Regulation protocol which means more tests in the night cycle, 1 other in addition to the preshot. A before bed test if at least 2-3 hours after PMPS is a good one. If that's not something that works for your lifestyle, then as Elise said, hold the dose for 7 days, then do a curve and evaluate the dose.
 
Back
Top