? 05/05 Nam-kha time to stop? AMPS 79 +1 92 +3 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cyndy

Member Since 2018
Hello, hello,

I want to do lots of tests today, to see if you could stop the insulin shots on Monday. Nam-kha is doing very well. Well, except that she now refuses the cans of wet food she loved last week, and asks for the DM wet food.. haha ! She's picky with her wet food, but she eats when I give her what she wants (everything I have has less than 5% carbs, most of the cans have no carbs at all).

She's back hanging in our backyard with us during the evening. Yesterday we had a BBQ at home, *that's why I didn't test a lot, and she enjoyed staying out late. She's only allowed to go out with us, because she's so smart and adventurous that she's always looking for a way out of our backyard. A few days ago, I noticed she was trying to dig a tunnel under the fence.. Last summer, when she was still a new diabetic cat, she didn't go out as much.

So, what do you think? Could we try getting off insulin?
 
I think she’s almost there but not quite. I’d follow TR and wait until you get a drop under 50 or normal numbers with mostly green to maximize the chance of a strong remission. See what others say.
 
The thing is, on Thursday evening, she went down to 50 and I gave her high carb food to avoid going lower. But I think that without high carbs, she would have been in the 40's. It doesn't count?

I have to say that I'm really scared to have her in symptomatic hypo again, so I don't take a chance. As soon as she's in the 50's, especially if it's only a +2/3 I'm just feeding her a lot.
 
Given the hypos in her past, how low she seems to want to go on just a drop, and (if I'm not mistaken) the fact you're starting work again, I'd stop. The higher values you're seeing could be food bumps or mini-bounces.
 
I would leave her on a drop at least through the weekend when you can monitor. It’s been observed here that the more support they have near the end of needing insulin, the better the remission. If she goes below 50, then what can you do but go OTJ, but as long as she’s cruising along, I would just rather make sure she’s had adequate support to take over on her own.

In any case, I’m super happy and excited for you and Nam-kha. She’s been diabetic for over a year and a diet change and a couple weeks of TR...what an amazing turn around! :woot:
 
I agree with Stacy. We have had plenty of kitties that stopped insulin too soon and then had to restart, and it's always harder to make up the ground you lost that way. I would give her the weekend and see how she does.

I understand your fear of hypo, but if you are monitoring her, you can keep her safe, so try not to over-react to the lower numbers - you want to see if she really does want off the juice! We've got our paws crossed for you!

Here is a really good post that @Jill & Alex (GA) did on starting OTJ trials. It's a timely reminder for all of us.
 
Thank you all for your advices :) @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey I'm going to read the post when the little one goes to bed. We'll wait to see how she does tonight and tomorrow!

She was at 92 at preshot, then ate a big bowl of Weruda wet food. We had a very busy day here, swimming lessons, work in our backyard, we went to the park/lake with friends and our toddler, then groceries.. I'm exhausted and I hope Nam-kha will have a flat cycle tonight so that I can sleep! Well, if our son goes to bed and sleeps too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top