05/05 Mister AMPS 316 +2 334

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
Previous condo

Hi everyonešŸ™‚

Mister is doing well this morning. Test and shot went perfectly.

He was up all night, I woke up to check on him and he was in his catio every time. (Photo below, with Mister in the front. it’s nothing fancy but they love it. It has a chicken wire ā€œroofā€ so they can’t escape and runs the length of our garage. They use a doggie door to get in and out)

He did sneak a few bites of his sister’s Dr. Elsey’s Clean Protein kibble yesterday. I caught him jumping up to her bowl so I was able to stop him, I’ll have to be more careful about putting it away as soon as she’s done. I know that’s low carb but how might something like that affect him? He’s been off of dry food completely since the day of his diagnosis. I also switched his sister (civvie) to a mostly wet food diet at that time too after learning the benefits. She loves dry though, hard to get her to eat enough of the wet, so I went with Dr. Elsey’s. Does/has anyone else worry about their civvie cats diets more now after having a sugar kitty? I feel like I’m constantly worried she’s eating too much, not enough, reading ingredients and nutritional labels. I think if she could talk she’d say, ā€œmom why are you so obsessed with me?ā€

Anyway I’m rambling, I hope everyone has a beautiful day šŸŒž
IMG_0666.jpeg
 
Previous condo

Hi everyonešŸ™‚

Mister is doing well this morning. Test and shot went perfectly.

He was up all night, I woke up to check on him and he was in his catio every time. (Photo below, with Mister in the front. it’s nothing fancy but they love it. It has a chicken wire ā€œroofā€ so they can’t escape and runs the length of our garage. They use a doggie door to get in and out)

He did sneak a few bites of his sister’s Dr. Elsey’s Clean Protein kibble yesterday. I caught him jumping up to her bowl so I was able to stop him, I’ll have to be more careful about putting it away as soon as she’s done. I know that’s low carb but how might something like that affect him? He’s been off of dry food completely since the day of his diagnosis. I also switched his sister (civvie) to a mostly wet food diet at that time too after learning the benefits. She loves dry though, hard to get her to eat enough of the wet, so I went with Dr. Elsey’s. Does/has anyone else worry about their civvie cats diets more now after having a sugar kitty? I feel like I’m constantly worried she’s eating too much, not enough, reading ingredients and nutritional labels. I think if she could talk she’d say, ā€œmom why are you so obsessed with me?ā€

Anyway I’m rambling, I hope everyone has a beautiful day šŸŒž
Great photo. I think it’s so important to have a catio. We have one as well and it’s been loved by all of our cats, sadly most are now GA but it’s always been a favorite place. We have outdoor furniture out here (I’m writing this from the catio) so my morning coffee is always out here with them. They have several condos and cardboard cat houses and a big tree just outside the catio so they can watch birds. Safe enrichment, right?

I’m so happy he’s doing better and is hungry. You have done an amazing job. On Dr. Elsey’s, we have had members who have fed it in small amounts because their cat wouldn’t completely convert to wet. However, any dry food fed….even supposedly LC…requires the CG to do SLGS. Of course. This was an incident of thievery 🤣 but I would make sure he doesn’t have the chance to get into it.

Personally, having studied feline nutrition, I don’t think there is any healthy dry food. But I also understand there are some cats that it’s hard to wean them off of it. If you wanted to, for your civvie, try increasing her wet food in tiny portions while decreasing the dry. I have a cat scale and weigh my cats weekly. This will tell you if you are getting enough food in her and keeping her at a good weight. And it’s good to know for Mister as well. There are a variety of them on Amazon for a decent price but be sure you get one that sits flat as the cat feels more stable.

There are some things I am thankful for with Gracie’s FD. It made me start thinking more about food quality, portions, timed feedings, etc. we had just gotten a kitten and I transitioned him immediately to a homemade raw diet. It just didn’t have enough carbs in it to keep Gracie’s BG stable but I wish I could have done that for her. After she crossed, we got a kitten, Livia, and I immediately put her on the same homemade raw diet. She is on timed feedings so she gets the same portion every five hours. I watch weight like a hawk šŸ˜‚ I think many of us have made changes to how our civvies are fed because of what we learn about FD.

Hope you have a great day. I’ll check back in later.
 
Great photo. I think it’s so important to have a catio. We have one as well and it’s been loved by all of our cats, sadly most are now GA but it’s always been a favorite place. We have outdoor furniture out here (I’m writing this from the catio) so my morning coffee is always out here with them. They have several condos and cardboard cat houses and a big tree just outside the catio so they can watch birds. Safe enrichment, right?

I’m so happy he’s doing better and is hungry. You have done an amazing job. On Dr. Elsey’s, we have had members who have fed it in small amounts because their cat wouldn’t completely convert to wet. However, any dry food fed….even supposedly LC…requires the CG to do SLGS. Of course. This was an incident of thievery 🤣 but I would make sure he doesn’t have the chance to get into it.

Personally, having studied feline nutrition, I don’t think there is any healthy dry food. But I also understand there are some cats that it’s hard to wean them off of it. If you wanted to, for your civvie, try increasing her wet food in tiny portions while decreasing the dry. I have a cat scale and weigh my cats weekly. This will tell you if you are getting enough food in her and keeping her at a good weight. And it’s good to know for Mister as well. There are a variety of them on Amazon for a decent price but be sure you get one that sits flat as the cat feels more stable.

There are some things I am thankful for with Gracie’s FD. It made me start thinking more about food quality, portions, timed feedings, etc. we had just gotten a kitten and I transitioned him immediately to a homemade raw diet. It just didn’t have enough carbs in it to keep Gracie’s BG stable but I wish I could have done that for her. After she crossed, we got a kitten, Livia, and I immediately put her on the same homemade raw diet. She is on timed feedings so she gets the same portion every five hours. I watch weight like a hawk šŸ˜‚ I think many of us have made changes to how our civvies are fed because of what we learn about FD.

Hope you have a great day. I’ll check back in later.
An act of thievery, and he was quick about it too!šŸ˜†I would like to have them both on all wet eventually but I think you are right about transitioning her, she’ll take a few bites of the pate and then go over to where her dry food used to be and meow. I also have a baby scale (like this one) I will get them both on it today. I can start recording his weight once a week too, I agree that would be good to know.

Your kitties have all been so lucky to have you. I’m glad to know I’m not alone,and I think that’s a better way of looking at it too, rather than feeling worrisome it’s good to know I’m learning things that can help all of my animals.
 
Your kitties are just adorable Elizabeth!!
So glad they enjoy their catio, such lucky kitties!
I'm so happy Mister is eating and doing well! Great job mom :kiss:

Have a calm day and hope Mister comes down gently šŸŒŠšŸˆā€ā¬›šŸˆā€ā¬›šŸ’žšŸ„ā€ā™€ļø
 
An act of thievery, and he was quick about it too!šŸ˜†I would like to have them both on all wet eventually but I think you are right about transitioning her, she’ll take a few bites of the pate and then go over to where her dry food used to be and meow. I also have a baby scale (like this one) I will get them both on it today. I can start recording his weight once a week too, I agree that would be good to know.

Your kitties have all been so lucky to have you. I’m glad to know I’m not alone,and I think that’s a better way of looking at it too, rather than feeling worrisome it’s good to know I’m learning things that can help all of my animals.
Since you are home to monitor him, what do you think about increasing to 3.5u bid tomorrow for six cycles unless he sees a few yellow numbers tonight? I’d like to get him out of these links and reds but if he comes down tonight, we would need to hold the dose at least two more cycles.
 
I
Since you are home to monitor him, what do you think about increasing to 3.5u bid tomorrow for six cycles unless he sees a few yellow numbers tonight? I’d like to get him out of these links and reds but if he comes down tonight, we would need to hold the dose at least two more cycles.
I am good with that, I can get some in tonight, a +5 and +10, would you recommend any other spots?
He’s been sleeping most of the day. He was up all night so I almost expected that but I’d like to see yellow too. Ketones are up a little bit, 1.1. I’ll be getting a +2 now
 
Since you are home to monitor him, what do you think about increasing to 3.5u bid tomorrow for six cycles unless he sees a few yellow numbers tonight? I’d like to get him out of these links and reds but if he comes down tonight, we would need to hold the dose at least two more cycles.
He is at 291 @ +2, he’s also very stressed at the moment because of the prior ketone test so it may be up slightly from that also. i tried to get some fluids in him and he went wild, I just ordered that EZ harness. Getting the needle in him is fine; keeping him still is the hard part, so I think that will help a lot. What do you think about tomorrow’s dose? I can test again tonight and see if he goes up or down.
 
He is at 291 @ +2, he’s also very stressed at the moment because of the prior ketone test so it may be up slightly from that also. i tried to get some fluids in him and he went wild, I just ordered that EZ harness. Getting the needle in him is fine; keeping him still is the hard part, so I think that will help a lot. What do you think about tomorrow’s dose? I can test again tonight and see if he goes up or down.
Let’s see how much time he spends in yellow. If it’s most of the cycle or you get a yellow AMPS, hold the dose. If he pops right back up above 300, increase to 3.5u.
 
Let’s see how much time he spends in yellow. If it’s most of the cycle or you get a yellow AMPS, hold the dose. If he pops right back up above 300, increase to 3.5u.
That sounds like a plan, that’s what I was thinking too. Thank you! Have a nice evening, I’ll talk to you tomorrow :)
 
That sounds like a plan, that’s what I was thinking too. Thank you! Have a nice evening, I’ll talk to you tomorrow :)
I’m with the 🐘s most of tomorrow so post if you need help. I’ll be back later.

I’m hoping he will churn out a string of yellow but as long as he’s feeling well and eating, that’s great. Have a great evening.
 
Back
Top