05/04 Kitty PMPS 117 +1 115 +2.25 103 +3 102 +4 106

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-03-kitty-pmps-118-1-112-2-88-3-82-4-78-10-25-84.262794/

The last few posts in yesterday's thread are details on this morning. If you can read #25, it explains what I'm going to do today with testing.

AMPS was 93, so I fed LC with a teaspoon, maybe a bit more, of MC mixed in (according to the food chart its 15% carbs).

I gave her the full 2 units, it might have been a teeny tiny hairline less (I was nervous).

I'm mixing some MC in with the +1.5 meal in the feeder as well. I will be back around +3/+3.5 to check BG but like I said in the previous thread, I will have no time to post on here to make any decisions, so any info in advance is appreciated.
 
It's good you shot! :) You might want to feed her a spoon of LC-MC mix before you leave.

If she is flat or higher at +3/+3.5, you can feed LC. Will you test again at lunch? Around +5.5?

ETA: Just saw your posts on yesterday's thread, Had to go into a class, so couldn't respomd earlier.
 
104 @ +5.25, did I overdo it with the MC today?

Also, does the 87 today mean another reduction even though we just reduced to 2 units this morning. Or would it be better to lower the reduction threshold?
 
104 @ +5.25, did I overdo it with the MC today?
It's possible she may not have needed the MC today. But since it was your first green preshot and you were not at home, it was okay to be extra-safe. With the amount of testing you managed today, you could try less or no MC the next time.

Also, does the 87 today mean another reduction even though we just reduced to 2 units this morning. Or would it be better to lower the reduction threshold?
This is still the 2.25U depot at play and back-to-back reductions often fail. However, with SLGS, every drop below 90 is a reduction. The logic for that being that caregivers following this method do not test very much beyong preshots and a weekly curve (and spot checks whenever possible).

If you are comfortable with it, you could either lower you reduction point to 70 or 80 or follow TR (trying my luck here! ;))
 
If you are comfortable with it, you could either lower you reduction point to 70 or 80 or follow TR (trying my luck here! ;))
Coming home on my 15 minute break wasn't the most pleasant experience, it was like running a sprint to see how much I could accomplish in 15 minutes, but I suppose I can keep doing that to squeeze in an earlier test each day. The 15 minute break ranges in times as well. It would usually be around the +2.5 to +3.25 range, but sometimes as late as +4.25. I'd like to try TR but maybe until I get a little more comfortable shooting greens I can just lower the reduction point for now.

What are the main points I need to be familiar with when it comes to following TR?
 
Sure, you could start with a lower reduction point and work your way up to TR :-)

The good thing is that Kitty is flattening out nicely and her cycles are gentler. When that happens, you can actually shoot low to stay low. A good example is the SS of Hendrick or Kloey.
 
Back
Top