05/04 Furball, AMPS=303

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70145

I am wondering if when you lower the dose, are the numbers usually higher for a couple of days? I don't know if I should have kept her on the 1 unit, instead of the 1.5 units, after my vet said to lower it Wednesday evening.
 
We usually do dose changes in increments of quarter units. Vets don't do that, normally.

Furball had some really nice numbers on that 1.50 dose. What was your vet's reasoning in lowering the dose?
 
I'd be surprised if such a large reduction holds - especially when there's no evidence that any reduction was earned :sad:
 
I am wondering if when you lower the dose, are the numbers usually higher for a couple of days? I don't know if I should have kept her on the 1 unit, instead of the 1.5 units, after my vet said to lower it Wednesday evening.

The numbers are not necessarily higher unless you reduced during a bounce and they are still clearing the bounce. That is a very large decrease all at once, especially when Furball was doing so well on 1.5 U. Our vet would tell us to increase or decrease by units, not .25 U and we never got stable numbers. You really need to decrease slowly.

Have a great day!
 
I should have clarified better this morning for those who didn't read Furball's condo yesterday. I was trying to post quickly in between thunderstorms before I went to work this morning. My vet wanted me to lower the dose to 1 unit Wednesday night because Furball's PMPS was 97. I decided to keep the reduction because she was getting 90's recently and I am not home to monitor during the day since I have to go to work and it is hard to test at night. I was thinking she probably was under 90 at some point recently and had earned the reduction, but I didn't actually have the numbers. I think she has been high after the reduction due to a bounce. This evening's PMPS makes me believe that she did bounce and has come down. I am going to hold the 1 unit for now and see if her numbers stabilize. If not, I will go back to the 1.5 units. With the SLGS Protocol you do make dose adjustments by 0.5 units. Thanks for your thoughts on the matter.
 
are you doing a curve this weekend? you may be right about her clearing a bounce - hard to see.

if you think this dose isn't working, you might want to go back up. the TR protocol says if a reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

you can change dose by less than .5u using SLGS. a quarter unit can make an amazing difference in numbers. if i recall correctly, your vet wanted you to adjust by .5u, but in general, it's more successful on lantus to adjust by .25u.

Step 3. After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat’s normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I am planning to do a curve this weekend. That is one reason I didn't change the dose tonight. I didn't want that to make her numbers wacky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top