05/04 Freckles/Judy AMPS 58 - BCS swimming with the sharks earlier

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
yesterday's post

I was expecting/hoping for a green this morning when I woke up, not a lime! I left her as I figured she would rise on her own but basically the number stayed flat/decreased a bit more so I decided to deplete the depot again for her AM shot.

This is the fourth reduction in 3 weeks. I like the plan my little girl is on!!

@Wendy&Neko do you think I should raise her reduction number a bit?
 
What is your goal? Is it to reduce the number of limes you see? Get a bit more sleep? Depending on how today goes (and do test!) so far you haven't been caught with an overfull depot. That could change though.
I think the big thing is not getting caught with a big depot.

I think there is starting to be a pattern emerging...
 
What pattern do you see? As an aside, she probably had some glucose toxity from all that time in yellow, so you could be seeing some of that breaking too.

What reduction number are you thinking about? Look back at the last couple of weeks, would it have changed by much when you would have reduced? I'm asking questions because I want you to figure out the answer.
 
What pattern do you see?
Not quite a pattern yet, but one might be emerging -going 6-8 cycles and then having low numbers.
What reduction number are you thinking about? Look back at the last couple of weeks, would it have changed by much when you would have reduced?
I'm thinking of a reduction point of 70 instead. A 70 would have given a reduction on April 26 AM - it's hard to say after that because if I would have given her a reduction then, it may have influenced her numbers after that.

I'm not sure if it's better to be reducing at a higher reduction point or do a BCS. When I do a BCS there has been higher numbers within a few cycles but it's also depleting that depot which a large depot could make things exciting.

If I want her to spend more time in green, I don't think the BCS are allowing for that but the BCS are also keeping her in safe numbers.....
 
All you can do is experiment and see what works for Freckles. If you find she's not holding reductions below 70, then move the reduction point down. The other thing to note is that normally with doses over 10 units you would have reduced down by 1 unit, so by doing a 0.5 unit reduction, you were "skinnying" the dose down.
If I want her to spend more time in green, I don't think the BCS are allowing for that but the BCS are also keeping her in safe numbers.....
Greens are OK for acros, but not probably not healing as her pancreas may already be working. Keeping her under renal threshold is a good goal. For me that meant blues and greens. Now is the time to figure out the balance of reduction points and where you want her to be, as well as looking for patterns. At one point if I saw a certain pattern over 3 cycles, I knew a reducie was coming next. Figuring out Freckles patterns now will help you when you have to go back to work.
 
The other thing to note is that normally with doses over 10 units you would have reduced down by 1 unit, so by doing a 0.5 unit reduction, you were "skinnying" the dose down.
Ok. I didn't think this was applicable seeing as I only increased by .5 when she got to 10 and over.
Keeping her under renal threshold is a good goal. For me that meant blues and greens.
Right - I will continue testing for glucose in urine.
Figuring out Freckles patterns now will help you when you have to go back to work.
I don't think I will be going back to work until fall (we will be the last of the phases to return to work) so his an opportunity for lots of data and lots of movement down the dosing scale! :cat:
All you can do is experiment and see what works for Freckles.
Ok. I will set 70 as the reduction number and see what happens.

Thanks for making me thnk! lol
 
Back
Top