? 05/03 Maggie AMPS 350,+2.40 259, +6 220, PMPS 288, +2 154, +3 110, +4 96 Need Advice for the huge drops

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
27/02 Maggie AMPS 368 / +3 289 / +7,15 176 PMPS 294 FS

Hi everyone,

I'm seeking advice for Maggie. Although we switched from Caninsulin to Lantus about a month ago, Lantus seems to be behaving very aggressively, much like Caninsulin did, especially during the PMPS cycle. I feel like I am “feeding the insulin” just to keep her above 90 (since we follow SLGS and I don’t want to reduce the dose now because her preshot numbers are still too high).

When I tried 0.50u a few days ago her numbers went too high, but at 0.75u the drops are too steep and fast, often causing a bounce. Our diet is 80% high carb (kibble) and only 20% low carb. I can’t continue switching her to low carb food while she is on this dose with such fast drops because I’m afraid she might crash.

Questions:

Why is Lantus acting so sharply with Maggie?I have experimented quite a lot with both the timing and the amount of food at the beginning of each cycle, but nothing seems to slow down Lantus’ momentum or prevent the fast drops.

Should I reduce to 0.50u or maybe try something in between (like 0.60u), even though she didn’t technically drop below 90, since I am forced to overfeed her to keep her above 90?

How can I break this cycle of rapid drop-feeding-bounce?

PS: Sorry for the lack of updates lately. I’ve been sick with COVID for the past few days, which has made managing everything much harder, but I’m still doing my best to help my little girl.

Thank you so much for your help 🙏🙏🙏
 
I suspect that Elise (tiffmaxie) is on the right track. Some cats need a bit more carbohydrate in their diet. For example, if you're feeding a diet that's 5%, you could increase the carbs to 7 or 8%. There are some cats that are extremely sensitive to carbs and need a very low carb diet and others that are less sensitive and will do better with a little more carbs.
 
Back
Top