What would you suggest I do if it were morning and I were leaving for work? Would I still give the full dose?You did the right thing. Get a +1 and +2.
I would stall without food and retest in 20 minutes to see if going up. If close to 150 I would shoot. If going down I would shoot a token dose of 25%. How much time do you have before you leave? Do you leave food out or use a feeder?What would you suggest I do if it were morning and I were leaving for work? Would I still give the full dose?
Just a retest to make sure she's flat or going up. She's a pretty flat cat when she starts low, so if it were me yes in that case I'd give full dose. If you're a little worried to do that, you can always mix a smidge of MC into that first feeding at +1.5, and +3.5 possibly until you're a little more comfortable.What would you suggest I do if it were morning and I were leaving for work? Would I still give the full dose?
What should I consider close to 150? What if it's staying flat like tonight?I would stall without food and retest in 20 minutes to see if going up. If close to 150 I would shoot. If going down I would shoot a token dose of 25%.
Depends on the day, but say it were tomorrow morning, I would have 50 minutes between when I give the shot and when I have to leave, but some days I have to shoot and run out the door. I use a feeder that feeds at +1.5 and +3.5.How much time do you have before you leave? Do you leave food out or use a feeder?
The problem I've been having lately is that she doesn't go right for the feeder anymore once it opens. Like today, I watched the playback on the camera, she waited almost 2 hours to eat the +1.5 meal, it was almost time for the +3.5 meal to switch over.If you're a little worried to do that, you can always mix a smidge of MC into that first feeding at +1.5
Can you elaborate on this please? Are you saying that I would see the same results with a half dose as I would with a full dose (at least until the depot drains) or that a half dose would have no effects on her BG?Half dose doesn't always do much when you also have the depot to contend with.
So, do you think when I am around I should not encourage her to eat when the feeder opens? My last two days off when I saw that she wasn't going for the food when it opened I was picking her up and bringing her to the food and then she would eat, I just figured she was being lazy and didn't want to get off the couch where she was comfortably napping. Maybe I shouldn't do that, and just let her eat the meal when/if she wants to?She might be feeding her own curve so to speak, eating when she feels the need.
Probably a good little experiment to see what she does and when/if it can be correlated to numbers.+1.5 meal just opened up and she went right for it.
So, do you think when I am around I should not encourage her to eat when the feeder opens? My last two days off when I saw that she wasn't going for the food when it opened I was picking her up and bringing her to the food and then she would eat, I just figured she was being lazy and didn't want to get off the couch where she was comfortably napping. Maybe I shouldn't do that, and just let her eat the meal when/if she wants to?
Okay, flattening out now it seems.Yes, that is another reduction. Stay with LC for now. Let's see the +3.
In active cycles you want to feed a spoon of food after every test to flatten the curve.
Should I keep testing, maybe +4? I have to get some sleep but I can stay up another hour.Nice surf!![]()
I will not be at home, I have to leave 50 minutes after shot time, and that's if I don't stall, if I stall then I have to leave even quicker. I will be back home briefly on my lunch break which is around +5.5. I'm in a predicament.With SLGS you do not shoot below 90. If she is below 90 at AMPS, you stall without food for 20 mins and see if it rises above 90.
Are you at home and can you monitor if you shoot? She is making great progress and yo u do not want to skip if she is over 90 and you can get a couple of tests in the cycle.
If she is above 90, you can shoot without stalling and feed some MC with the shot. Test before you leave and if needed, feed some MC/HC before you leave. Does she eat from an autofeeder when you are not at home?I will not be at home, I have to leave 50 minutes after shot time, and that's if I don't stall, if I stall then I have to leave even quicker. I will be back home briefly on my lunch break which is around +5.5. I'm in a predicament.
Okay, today I can only stall a max of about 35 minutes before I have to decided if I give a shot or not. So, if she is under 90 by the time it hits 35 minutes past shot time, then I skip the dose? If its 90 or above, even if its exactly 90, then I give the full 2 units? By feeding "some" MC with the shot, that's a teaspoon sized amount, mixed in with the LC? Or do I give more than a teaspoon? Maybe a tablespoon? Do I give mostly gravy, or the chunks too? You said MC/HC, so either one, both? How do I decide?If she is above 90, you can shoot without stalling and feed some MC with the shot. Test before you leave and if needed, feed some MC/HC before you leave. Does she eat from an autofeeder when you are not at home?
She is seeing pretty flat cycles when she starts lower and the higher carbs will also help.