Amanda & Shmee
Member Since 2018
Previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-01-shmee-11-161-amps-200.194953/#post-2181848
*** PMPS update - BG 158, shot little lower than half a dose, 2.5U.
----
The below has kindly been answered
----
Good morning everyone and happy hump day,
Good news – the pain meds shot is not Metacam, it is Buprenorphine. So that's a relief.
She also said I can leave the food out until midnight.
Possible bad news? – my vet wants to skip Thurs AM’s shot before the procedure. She said "don't give any insulin Thursday morning, since he won't be eating at all. Running a bit high is less dangerous then if he got too low. You can check his blood sugar when you get him home and see where it's at, but usually they can get insulin even if they don't feel like eating after the dental." He won't be home until after 4pm... so by after the dental I assume she means the PM shot (which for me is 9pm).
Per @Stacy & Asia yesterday, "See what vet says about a morning dose before the dental, what I’ve often heard is half dose, but your vet should make that call since they are the ones dealing with the insulin effects and anesthesia during the surgery. Remember, cats (and humans) need some insulin for fasting states as well, not just when they are eating."
I tried to find some information to back up insulin is needed during fasting states too, but I couldn’t find much (although I am at work, I have done like no work today my boss is going to kill me!!). The felinediabetes.com website “Insulin 101” says; “Always make sure your cat eats around the time (up to one hour before injection) of the insulin administration. This will insure that the cat has food in her stomach (and rising blood glucose levels as a result) to counteract the action of the insulin.” Another website about dental work in diabetic cats (https://www.diabeticcatcare.com/DCCCOK/Dentals1.htm) says; “Lack of insulin for one shot is easily treated once the cat is back home and able to eat on its own.”
Not sure what to think. I am scrabbling looking through other spreadsheets trying to gather some examples where other cats received dental.
@Wendy&Neko - I found that Neko received a portion of his dose after fasting, .1.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey - For some reason my search tool isn't working for your SS. Can you let me know when Harvey received his dental?
@Juliet – I see the vet gave Silver the insulin after the dental. After looking at your SS I see he is back in the hospital, I am so so sorry to see this, and I am sending vines, love, and hugs your way.
@Sandy and Black Kitty didn’t give the shot because her GB was low.
@Chris & China also did not give a shot, her BG was also on the low side.
Who else am I missing that has received dental? I would love to see more data if possible.
From what I am seeing, I think it might be best to just follow my vets wishes and do a NS tomorrow morning before the dental since she is comfortable with that. At this point I don’t think I have enough data to change her mind if I tried. Curious what you all would do / what your opinions are. I feel bad trying to go against her wishes, but I also want what is best for Shmee.
My Shmee only has a dental.... Some of you go through so much more with your kitties.... I really do not know how you do it.
I am so anxious and nervous, I can only imagine what the ones with other issues have to go through. Thank you all for your help.
*** PMPS update - BG 158, shot little lower than half a dose, 2.5U.
----
The below has kindly been answered
----
Good news – the pain meds shot is not Metacam, it is Buprenorphine. So that's a relief.
Possible bad news? – my vet wants to skip Thurs AM’s shot before the procedure. She said "don't give any insulin Thursday morning, since he won't be eating at all. Running a bit high is less dangerous then if he got too low. You can check his blood sugar when you get him home and see where it's at, but usually they can get insulin even if they don't feel like eating after the dental." He won't be home until after 4pm... so by after the dental I assume she means the PM shot (which for me is 9pm).
Per @Stacy & Asia yesterday, "See what vet says about a morning dose before the dental, what I’ve often heard is half dose, but your vet should make that call since they are the ones dealing with the insulin effects and anesthesia during the surgery. Remember, cats (and humans) need some insulin for fasting states as well, not just when they are eating."
I tried to find some information to back up insulin is needed during fasting states too, but I couldn’t find much (although I am at work, I have done like no work today my boss is going to kill me!!). The felinediabetes.com website “Insulin 101” says; “Always make sure your cat eats around the time (up to one hour before injection) of the insulin administration. This will insure that the cat has food in her stomach (and rising blood glucose levels as a result) to counteract the action of the insulin.” Another website about dental work in diabetic cats (https://www.diabeticcatcare.com/DCCCOK/Dentals1.htm) says; “Lack of insulin for one shot is easily treated once the cat is back home and able to eat on its own.”
Not sure what to think. I am scrabbling looking through other spreadsheets trying to gather some examples where other cats received dental.
@Wendy&Neko - I found that Neko received a portion of his dose after fasting, .1.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey - For some reason my search tool isn't working for your SS. Can you let me know when Harvey received his dental?
@Juliet – I see the vet gave Silver the insulin after the dental. After looking at your SS I see he is back in the hospital, I am so so sorry to see this, and I am sending vines, love, and hugs your way.
@Sandy and Black Kitty didn’t give the shot because her GB was low.
@Chris & China also did not give a shot, her BG was also on the low side.
Who else am I missing that has received dental? I would love to see more data if possible.
From what I am seeing, I think it might be best to just follow my vets wishes and do a NS tomorrow morning before the dental since she is comfortable with that. At this point I don’t think I have enough data to change her mind if I tried. Curious what you all would do / what your opinions are. I feel bad trying to go against her wishes, but I also want what is best for Shmee.
My Shmee only has a dental.... Some of you go through so much more with your kitties.... I really do not know how you do it.
I am so anxious and nervous, I can only imagine what the ones with other issues have to go through. Thank you all for your help.
Last edited:
She tends to drop after a vet visit and then have several wonky post vet freak out cycles. 
