05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302, +4 302, +6 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
133 PMPS
___ +1 (ate 1/4 can FF Chunky Chicken and 1/4 can FF Medleys)
176 +2 (ate 14 can FF Chunky Chicken and 1/4 can FF Medleys)
39 +8 (ate 1 teaspoon FF Medleys)
42 +8.25 (ate 1 teaspoon FF Medleys)
60 +8.75
98 +9.75

I was semi conscious at +7.5 and somewhere in my sleepy brain I thought I should test, but just couldn't break through the sleep barrier until +8 ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178

I did not reduce his insulin this morning, as I think I have been advised to hold the dose and control with higher carb food, so that's what we have been trying to do. Is that right?

He also ate all the leftover food from yesterday, during the course of the night, last night, which he normally doesn't do. Usually it just gets thrown out, that's why I feed Friskies or 9 Lives or Sophisticat in the Feeder, but it usually just gets tossed. I've always used the lowest carb ones that aren't fish, so usually about 6%.

J.D. ate 1/4 can of MC 10% FF Roasted Chicken and then Ginger's 1/4 can of MC 10% FF Roasted Chicken at AMPS.
I do have 3 cans of what I used to call MC Friskies 8% Mixed Grill. I will leave one of those in the feeder today.

Okay, time to get ready for work.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

I've never tried not reducing the dose and raising the carbs instead, before.
Am I doing this right?
Suggestions.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

Dyana said:
I was semi conscious at +7.5 and somewhere in my sleepy brain I thought I should test, but just couldn't break through the sleep barrier until +8 ohmygod_smile

I bet the +8 woke you up in a hurry :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

Good morning Dyana,
I believe that Marje uses this technique to control Gracie's bounces and dips. She does very scientific food manipulations and gives details every day in Gracie's condo. You might be able to pick up some tips there.

Good luck with the NEW PlAN. It sounds like J.D. likes the food!

Have a fine day. Thanks for all the help you are giving Tamara and Ella.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

Looks like JD is in bounce mode hope it a brief one and good luck with new food plan
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

well, ya gotta shoot through this bounce. next time you get a PS this low, just feed the higher carb to hold him/slow the drop. I would say 200 or less. then maybe once he adjusts we can alter either the dose or the food. gotta find this gracie and see what the scoop is. good idea to pop on over there too, or maybe....
bring him to camp Dians and you can pick him up in august
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282 Marge..

Marge, how does this look to you?
I started feeding him MC on the night of 04/30, and fed him MC yesterday morning and night, and he went down to 39 last night, anyway. Should I reduce or keep adding carbs? I'm a little worried, because I'm not home for the AM cycle.

J.D. (and Ginger) says I should keep adding carbs :)
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. AMPS 178, +1.5 374 - am I doing this right, D

dian and wheezer said:
well, ya gotta shoot through this bounce. next time you get a PS this low, just feed the higher carb to hold him/slow the drop. I would say 200 or less. then maybe once he adjusts we can alter either the dose or the food. gotta find this gracie and see what the scoop is. good idea to pop on over there too, or maybe....
bring him to camp Dians and you can pick him up in august
I bet, you would do wonders by him, Dian.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282 Marge..

I did a quick look at marge's ss and basically lower numbers, higher carbs, higher numbers lower carbs. looks as though she feeds every 2 hours.

]would be nice if I had that magic touch but I could test through the night. and I more than likely have more days off than you
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282 Marge..

Dyana --

You might ask Jill to take a look, as well. With J.D. throwing you a number in the 30s, especially with your not being home during the day, I'm inclined to suggest shaving the dose. FWIW, I manipulate Gabby's curve to try to prevent taking reductions and flatten the curve. Like you, I'm not at home most days and have to factor in the safety issue. Marje and Mike can often monitor 24/7 -- we don't have that luxury. Safety first and foremost.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

I did not feel right feeding him MC when he's so high, so I just fed the kitty's their 2nd dinner of LC.
J.D. got his meds., and it's time for bed.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

+4 :roll: that's just onset. I usually try to get up at nadir (+8ish).
Okay, I will, for you :-D

Ni~Ni now.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

+4 or +6. we know he can drop like a rock. or +5 +7 so getting a nadir is too late. you want to slow him down to the nadir, i think him dropping fast is what is causing the bounces (maybe). i am horrible at reading SS. wish i had JOJO's eyes. I usually do better when I do it myself
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

Dyana

I'm sorry....I've been out all day and just got back. We do walk the edge with Gracie but because we can....as Sienne said, one of us is here with her 24/7 if her numbers are running in the normal range and usually we are both here.

We have a feeding schedule for her; we don't feed every two hours although it may seem that way. Gracie is pretty different on lev than most cats I've seen. From what we can tell, and we've tried to look at her curves every
which way, she is often at her nadir from about +12 to +16 (which is +4 of the current dose). In other words, for her shot this morning, she is now coming down to nadir anywhere between +12 to 3 or 4 hours after the shot I will give her tonight.
Sometimes I think she might nadir around +12 and then get a second dip later.

We feed her at PS and then either +1.5 or +2 depending on where she is dropping. We also feed her at about +3; she typically starts back up at about +5 or so of the current dose and then onsets from the current dose at about +7.5/+8. Since the insulin is "strongest" at that time (using that word for lack of a better one), we feed her around onset (from +7/+8 or +10 sometimes). We try to space out her normal amount of food she should get for her caloric needs based on her lowest times but sometimes she throws us a curve and we have to feed more. We use 4% and 8% primarily but if she is coming down fast or she goes low (30s), we use 10%. We've figured out, for the most part, which mix slows her down, which gets her to surf, etc. Sometimes she does not respond the same way. One morning her AMPS will be 66 and I'll feed her 4% and she'll surf and the next time, the 4% sends her up. We try to correlate it with how fast the drop is....sometimes there is one, sometimes not. I never feed anything over 10% any more and am extremely judicious with the karo now....she only gets it if she drops low and won't come up immediately with her 10%. If/when she is high, I feed only 4%.

It's alot of food management in order to manage the extra insulin in her and should it be this hard? No. But Gracie has never been easy or normal and what we are doing now is working better than anything we've done before. Because she is only five years old, I want her in normal numbers as much as absolutely possible to save organ damage. We try to keep her above 40 but really prefer her to be above 50. When she's ready for a reduction, she lets us know by dropping into the 30s regardless of how we feed the curve. I don't reduce her in the 30s is if she has had a reduction some time in the previous six cycles because she is one who, for right now at this dose, the shed from the higher dose affects her at least six cycles. If her dose is right, she gets amazing overlap where I can barely tell where one cycle starts and one ends.

I'm sure this is way more than you wanted to know and it has taken alot of trial and error and we still goof it up sometimes. I do know that when Jill was helping Angela with Blackie, feeding the higher low carb food took time before Angela saw the curve flattening a little bit. So I don't think there is a change overnight. Blackie is not really a bouncer.

I think Sienne is right that Jill might be the one to best help you with this. I know what is working for Gracie right now. I certainly would not want someone to try what we do because (1) Gracie is really different and (2) we are here and we test alot because she doesn't mind and we agree that safety is first.

If you have any specific questions about how we are managing her, please let me know. And again a warning to anyone who is reading this: please do not assume that you can do as we do and keep your cat safe. We test alot and we know how Gracie responds to food. We also have a feel for her onset, nadir, and duration.
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

Nice greens for JD! Whatever you decide to do, I have no doubt it will work well with the big guy. Have a great night Dyana!
 
Re: 05/02 J.D. PMPS 282, +2 302

I've been looking at J.D.'s ss tonight, and I need to spend some more time with it tomorrow. In general, I don't believe in feeding higher carbs just to maintain a higher dose. You're not home during the day, and what if he doesn't eat normally? I also believe that a cat that hits 30s needs a reduction, or at least a shave. Was there anything different last night that might have made the 39 less meaningful? Was he feeling ok, eating ok, etc.?

There's nothing wrong with using carbs to get ahead of fast drops, but with your schedule I'm a little concerned about relying on that technique, know what I mean?

There are some cats that do better on a little higher carb food, but you would want to be consistent and use that food as his regular food.

I want to spend some time with his spreadsheet when I'm more awake, to try to come up with some more constructive comments.
 
Thanks Marge for your explanation of what you do. I knew it was complicated. I've always known it was complicated just by looking at your condos, that's why I so rarely post in your condos, is because I feel a little overwhelmed when I read them.

Thanks Libby, your input would be appreciated. I kind of think I should shave his dose next time he has a lower PS?
Just a little shave. Those 30s worry me, because of the what if I'm at work and he's sleeping away, and doesn't eat.


dian and wheezer said:
+4 or +6. we know he can drop like a rock. or +5 +7 so getting a nadir is too late. you want to slow him down to the nadir, i think him dropping fast is what is causing the bounces (maybe). i am horrible at reading SS. wish i had JOJO's eyes. I usually do better when I do it myself
Thanks Dian. So a little curve tonight
smiley-sleep017.gif
. I don't normally get up to do +6s. I'm starting to understand why I should. He fell 100 points in the last two hours, so I just gave him some MC (even though he is 202 and over 200) to stop the drop, a little. I think that's what you mean.

btb
 
FWIW: I too do not subscribe to feeding higher carbs just to maintain a higher dose. It requires constant testing... 24/7. I too also feel that a kitty that hits the 30's NEEDS a reduction. IMHO only, as I certainly am not an advisor. I wish you luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top