05/02 Furball, AMPS=201, PMPS=97, +1=108

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69968

Furball was a very happy, purry kitty this morning. I'm glad she's feeling so good. :smile:
 
Re: 05/02 Furball, PMPS=97 Need to Shoot in 20 min, Whole Do

I am giving Furball 1.5 units. Should I give the whole dose? I can monitor her this evening.
 
Re: 05/02 Furball, PMPS=97 Need to Shoot in 20 min, Whole Do

I got a hold of my vet and she said to give Furball 1 unit this evening.
 
Re: 05/02 Furball, PMPS=97 Need to Shoot in 20 min, Whole Do

i feel a little uncomfortable giving advice when we don't know how low the cat's been, but i know that the less-testing is part of the SLGS plan. It would have you decrease the dose by .5u when you have the lowest point of your curve be under 90.

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html

honestly, i'm not sure how to advise you. if you were doing TR as long as you could monitor, we would say to shoot. but without the TR test data to rely on, i don't want to say that.

i think a couple of reasonable options would be to decrease the dose a little bit or you could also stall until it comes up to a point that you feel comfortable shooting and then give the shot.

what are you leaning towards?
 
Re: 05/02 Furball, PMPS=97

Julie, thanks for the reply. I did what my vet suggested. I will monitor her this evening. My vet also gave me advice for tomorrow morning. She said if she is 80 or below to give her 0.5 units. If she is 80 to 120 to give her 1.0 units. If she is 120 or higher to give her 1.5 units.

I'm not always sure I can get an answer from my vet quickly. I thought I'd ask here too. It will be interesting to see what her AMPS is tomorrow. If she does what she usually does, it will be high from a bounce. But she could surprise me. I was very surprised to see the 97 this evening. I wish I could have gotten some readings during the day today. I hate being too far away to come home from work at lunch and test.
 
Re: 05/02 Furball, PMPS=97 Need to Shoot in 20 min, Whole Do

I couldn't stay by my computer this evening after I asked about the dose because Furball eats in a different room. It would have been too distracting to try and bring her in this room. I kept having to run back and forth.
 
That +1 is not much of a food spike. I'm going to check her again at +3. Then I'll know if I need to set an alarm to get back up and check her again during the night. At least I got caught up on my sleep last night. ;-)
 
Hey, Carla.

FWIW, I like getting a +2. (Although, given your PMPS, I'd have gotten a +1, too.) I like the +2 because if it's lower than your pre-shot, there's a good chance you're going to have an active cycle. It's like an early warning system!
 
Carla

I'm glad you are talking to your vet...that is great. But she is basing dosing on preshots and not nadirs; it's almost as if she is dosing like one would do on ProZinc instead of a long lasting insulin like lantus.

Because you haven't shot too many low numbers, the first time you do, there are options including shooting a reduced dose. But typically, the cycle will still play out the same way and the effects of the reduced
dose are seen more in a subsequent cycle.

Having said that, if you are having to leave to go to work in the mornings and you are worried, then maybe it's best to bring her dose down to something you can shoot consistently that will keep her safe.
 
i agree with marje's point about your vet thinking about dosing. the low point is the all-important bit of information for dosing. changing by the preshot will result in wonky numbers if you do it very often.

you do a good job of trying to catch the nadirs at night. i would rely heavily on those numbers in your decision-making.

hope you get to sleep tonight, carla! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top