? 05/02 Eddie AMPS 95 +3 83 +7 101 PMPS 106 +8 65 +8.2 86 +8.5 104

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

Here is yesterday's story:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-7-5-257-pmps-259-3-270.289506/#post-3175497

Here is the story behind the thread:

Last night around 11:30 pm (PMPS + 3), I spoke with the vet tech who said just before they were to insert the nasogastric tube they tried giving Eddie some of the appetite inducing food (whatever they give I believe has some gravy in it) and he cleaned the plate! So, no tube. And he had a good rest of night hooked up to IV and ate another snack before they did a BG test (see spreadsheet, very interesting) on this at 7:45 this morning (1 hour earlier than I usually give insulin) and he was at 95. Go figure. So they gave him 12u instead of 24u so I imagine we'll see action there, too.

Radiology showed no blockage. Good. Odansetron injection on board. SNAP fPL gave a positive result but no numbers so I asked they do another today and send out to lab, at least as baseliine info for this event. They said ideally he should be fasted for 12 hours and I could wait until tomororw but I told them to go ahead and do it regardless because it will give some information. So, he's staying there until this evening so they can take the sample late in the day.

Ketones: blood=.3, urine=0

As usual, Eddie is a mystery. Will update once I know more. Phew.
 
Isn't the larger depot a wonderful thing.:) This is a pretty good Eddie report - you must be relieved.

I'm curious as to what food they gave him that he found so delicious. Might be worth having some of that around, just in case. Also good to know it's p'titis. Not that we like pancreatitis, but it's a an explanation for him being off his food, and higher numbers. And the fluids was what he needed too.

Ondansetron won't last that long. But if you can get the injectable, it's easier to give for a nauseous kitty than a pill. And the injectable does last longer than the pill.
 
Isn't the larger depot a wonderful thing.:) This is a pretty good Eddie report - you must be relieved.

I'm curious as to what food they gave him that he found so delicious. Might be worth having some of that around, just in case. Also good to know it's p'titis. Not that we like pancreatitis, but it's a an explanation for him being off his food, and higher numbers. And the fluids was what he needed too.

Ondansetron won't last that long. But if you can get the injectable, it's easier to give for a nauseous kitty than a pill. And the injectable does last longer than the pill.
So, he'll probably be getting 12u tonight at the clinic. The question will be: what do I do tomorrow morning??? What do you think?? I ask because if Eddie had registered 83 at home, I wouldn't necessarily have reduced, especially cutting the dose in half.

Further to that: PMPS 106. The clinic called and said they thought maybe they would give him 6u and I said to give him 12u as I didn't want him to boomerang around. They agreed and they said he's still eating and I'm picking him up in 30 mins. They are setting aside some of the magic food for me to pick up.
 
Last edited:
I'd like to see more numbers before commenting on dose. What he did this morning could be all 24u depot. Or not and something they did at the clinic helped him. Cutting the dose in half probably helps clinic staff not have to monitor him as closely.
 
Well, we are at home and Eddie is resting comfortably on his pillow. I think he's pretty tired. I brought home some cans of the magic cat food: Purina Essential Care Senior Formula. We'll see.
Good to have Eddie home although I'm probably hovering around him too much for his liking. So putting YouTube Cat Calming Music on for him, I'll check on him during the night.
 
Back
Top