05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, PMPS 421, +5 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning!

Chaos and I have had an interesting day so far! Apparently he tried to wake me around 3 AM and was unsuccessful. I have vague memories of being kneaded at and hearing purrs, but I was pretty far out of it. Failing to wake me, Chaos managed to wake DH instead! :lol: DH figured he must be low, so he groggily came out to the kitchen and gave Chaos some food, then went btb. I learned about all this later on, when DH got out of bed for good.

I woke to my alarm at 4, tested Chaos and got 109. Now, I know this is nothing to panic about, but I know my cat and some kind of instinct told me DO NOT SHOOT THE WHOLE 2.5 UNITS. So I only shot 2 units. Look what I got at +3- a 35! :shock: I cannot imagine what would have happened had I shot the whole dose. Three cheers for instinct, everyone!

I dashed out to buy test strips right away. I thought I had another box in the house, imagine my surprise when I got a 35 and was suddenly out of strips!! HC was fed and he was re-tested as soon as I got back. He was 53 at +4. 81 at +6.

So here is the question: I took 0.5 units off his dose this AM based on instinct. I got the 35 reading at +3 on 2 units. So does that count as a reduction from 2u to 1.75u?? What do I do now?
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

Hi Violet - so great to have a condo for Chaos. No dose expert here, but I think they will tell you that the reduced shot was the reduction, even if he went to 35 after the shot. Another one would be considered an additional reduction. Wait for the experts though.

Wow on the numbers! Love the great things Chaos is doing. and yes, and omg, when you realize you have no strips and your kitty is at 35. :shock: been there too.... now I stock pile. :lol:

Good luck with the new dose! It is so great to hear from you!
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

wow Chaos, way to make sure your Bean is wide awake. That plus 3 is an eye opener.

No advice here but good luck whatever you decide.
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

I do not think so on 1.75. the 35 is more than likely still from the 2.5 last night. will more than likely bounce so I would shoot through bounce with the 2u and take it from there. he is coming down the scale nicely. wheezer did the same thing to me at 12:30 which I ignored and woke to a 35 at 3AM. sigh. he can not always be trusted with the waking. sometimes he just does not like me to sleep and makes me waste a strip
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

I agree with Dian here. The 35 was most likely from the last dose.
Your reduced dose now should be 2.25 u.

Good catch on the low number. :smile:
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

thanks miriam. missed the 2.50 to 2. yes, should be 2.25 unless something untoward happens
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, reduced dose ???

OK, I see what Dian and Miriam are saying. Thank you both so much for the input. I didn't think of the 35 being from last night's dose. I'll shoot 2.25u tonight and see how it goes. I am off work tomorrow as well so I can watch to see what happens.

Meanwhile, Chaos acts like it's just another day... when he's earning a dose reduction every week! :shock: He clearly does not understand what momentous occasions these reductions are. He is pretty good about waking me only when he has a reason, but he's a cat and sometimes they like to switch it up! I am finally enjoying seeing some progress for my sweet little guy. I thought he'd be going up and up forever, but it looks like his pancreas has decided to tell us it's still there, and it's listening. :-D Will be back with the PMPS report!
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

Boooiiiing!! Yup, there's that bounce we were expecting. 421. Whooo! So I shot 2.25u and we most likely won't see what it really does tonight. Perhaps tomorrow...

He is happily eating his dinner now, purring and content. We were out shopping earlier and I picked up some more MC and HC food. I was running low and didn't want to run out like I did with test strips this AM!

I hope everyone is having a lovely Monday evening. I know I am. It's DH's special beef tacos tonight! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

I was thinking of you yesterday & met another woman who is a cake maker baker :lol:
She has her own business in Queens,NY & is doing well..I thought of you, & your cakes are prettier(I'm prejudiced :lol: )She made cupcakes that said baby(I was at a baby shower) cute.
CONGRATS ON THE DOSE CREASE!!! I know how scary those 35's are, so I understand the 2.00, but you knoe dose creases are done in 0.25 U--Ok I know Chaos has the bestest momma bean, and happy he is doing so well!!
Doing the happy dance for Chaos's dose crease dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

Wow on the 35! I would have been so nervous but you handled it like a pro. Hope you have a good evening and tell Chaos to wake up a little later in the morning.

My family is still talking about your coconut cake recipe!
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

Just have to say WOW - for both Chaos and your DH for getting up and feeding. Hubby points there.
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

It's good that you were expecting that bounce, Violet. It kept you from freaking out. Okay, I would have. :lol:
 
Re: 05/02 Chaos AMPS 109, +3 35, +6 81, PMPS 421

Congratulations on the dosecrease, and hope them DH's special beef tacos were yummy.
 
***takes bow*** thank you, thank you! I remained calm, handled it like a pro, and was rewarded. I think part of the reason I stay calm and level-headed is because of Chaos. He is calm. As long as he is acting like he usually does, I'm just fine. It's obvious to me that he knows that food makes him feel better, so he acts annoying and hungrier than usual, very deliberately. Other than that, he is quite himself. And look at Chaos go tonight! He was 421 at PMPS and now he's a beautiful blue 139 at +5! :mrgreen: I cannot believe the progress he is making. Two dose decreases in two weeks, and now an apparent quick recovery from a bounce. I did not expect a bloo number after such a high PMPS. We are almost at +6 so I just fed him some more 7% food to help him surf along. I'm hoping for a nice AMPS tomorrow morning, and if he gets low during the night, we all know that he will get either DH or myself out of bed like a good boy.

DH has been told he got some good hubby points and we both enjoyed a really wonderful dinner. MMM, beef tacos and black beans and rice!

Georgia, I'm so happy they loved the cake. Mission accomplished, great teamwork! :thumbup

As for the new job, I am such a beast. My arms, shoulders, abs, etc are all coming back in a big way. I feel better. I am gaining between 0.5 and 1 lbs per week. It's hard work, but after two years of chronic illness, I am happy to be able to work that hard. It's still like boot camp, but it's OK. Life is good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top