05/02 bailey uk. pmps 99. HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118074

right were in exactly the same situation as the other night. im leaving for work in 3 hours except ive NOT fed and have held off giving him his insulin. now what do I do? I know I retest but how often and at what point do I give him his insulin. im so worried that hes getting to much insulin now.should we have perhaps stayed at 8? oh and please remember were using the alphatrak so really this number is even lower!
 
Did you give him the full dose? I'm asking because your ss has 8.50 in the units column.

Hopefully this computer will start working better now.

It looks like Bailey is coming down and on a dropping number and you not being home to check on his, I think I would test again in 30 minutes and if he is rising, then do a reduced dose or skip.
 
i wanted to get that to you quickly while the board is actually allowing a post.

thanks for reminding about the AT. I do want to tell you that i've been working on the math issue, and i told you wrong before. The formula I gave you before was to go from a human meter to an AT. To go the other way, you multiply times .74.

So a 100 AT is equivalent to approximately 74ish. It might be slightly lower than that. If you were home, I'd say shoot the full amount. But you just can't do that the first time and leave, so i think skipping is your best choice until you can shoot low and monitor so we know what he'll do when you do shoot low.

I would not reduce in advance of him going below 68. It's great that he's having good numbers and his highs are being brought down.
 
Anna, if you did shoot the full amount, like it says on the spreadsheet, let's come up with a couple of plans on how to take care of him.

you can monitor til +3, of course. get a +1 and a +2 for certain, to make sure he isn't continuing to drop.

i don't know what your weather is like, but i did take punkin with me and left him in the car a couple of times. stick the litter box in the back of the car, bring high carb food and the testing supplies. then you can run out and test him on breaks, and perhaps extra if necessary. you can't do that if your weather is too cold or too hot, of course, then it wouldn't be safe for him. Oregon is mild most of the time so i could make that work - not everyone can.

Dyana takes JD to work with her sometimes - is there a room inside he could be closed in? i remember you work in a grocery store, so i don't know if there is an office where he could hang out during your shift, but maybe call your boss and see if there is any choice there.

if he's low at +3 when you have to leave, and the weather is such that you can't take him with you to work, i'd leave a lot of food for him. more than you think he would need, and probably high carb. it depends on numbers. but consider that as an option. it would be better to overcarb him than have him go low unattended.

or, is there anyone close by who can check on him, or who you could leave him with?

just trying to think out loud about options for you. How are you doing?
 
i couldn't get on line :-(
right il tell you exactly what ive done and what I could with having to get at least a couple of hours sleep before work.i did his preshot reading and fed at 1am (half an hour before shot time) i know you said not to feed but that would mean id be terrified of him going lower and me not getting any sleep AT ALL(2 and a half hours is better than none right?) i then retested at preshot time (1.30am) and hed risen to 164,i had an 2hours and a halfs sleep and retested again and his reading was 199.so that was 3 hours after food so i gave him 8.25u. ive left aload of food down and am gonna make make my excuses to pop out half way through my shift around 9am.il try to get on line then too. ive tried to put it in the spreadsheet the best i can!

thered be no way i could take him into work afor health and safety reasons hey wouldn't allow it and i couldn't leave him in the car,hed be terrified as he doesn't go out.

i so hope hes ok and ive done the right thing!ive done what i thought was right for both him and i.its so tough all of this especially when im working 42 hours a week.im off for 2 days once i finis at 1pm today so if this happens tonight,it doesn't matter i can monitor!

i don't understand why hes dropping sonlow just before pm's preshot! do i need to reduce dose or is he ok.il be able to email more later!

edited to say. with me being of ive got 6 cycles now before he needs to be back at 1.30 shot time so i can do it gradually each shot!
 
Good job Anna! :YMHUG: Waiting until you see him rising quite a bit is a good idea. In your spreadsheet, you can put the 99 in the +11 column, something like 99@+12, plus whatever other tests you got before what turned out to be your PS. Then put 199 in the PS spot. You'll have to slowly work your way back onto schedule. You can move each shot up 15 minutes or you can move one shot a day up 1/2 hour, whatever works best for you. I'm glad you are off for a bit, maybe he'll give you a chance to monitor him when he's low so you can see what he does.

As for going low late, some cats like to nadir late. That plus he's breaking a bounce so there is some downward pressure on the numbers. Lots of cats here like to do what we call "the slide". :lol:
 
Im on my phone at work now :O yeah I just didn't know what to do for the best especially when I couldn't get on line.but I thought about it for a while and thought that was the best way to go.i thought if he risen to a number I felt safe with 3 hiurs after food and 2 and a half hours after pre shot time d give near enough the same dose.i just hope hes ok while im out.i wirry myself sick.in 3 weeks time ive got 9 days off.i bloomin need it.
 
i agree - good call on your decision on how to handle it. it IS tough to figure out what to do when you've got to go to work!! There isn't a perfect answer, but you thought it through and what you did makes sense.

i hope work went well!

Anna, if you're on facebook there are 2 groups of people who are associated with this site - one is for FDMB overall and just called "Feline Diabetes" https://www.facebook.com/groups/62167000201/- it has about 1200 members. the other is "Lantus Land" https://www.facebook.com/groups/160287714011679/. It's a closed group, but anyone who is here and wants to join it can. Neither is for dosing - you really want to do that here - but rather for socializing or other cat talk, but it's my understanding that if the board is down you could go there for help.
 
im now with my boy and am all weekend. we got through it!!! :-D

i nipped home half way through my shift ( i made my excuses as you know a lot of people wouldn't understand us crazy cat ladies ) and hed bounced so although its not ideal i wasn't worried for the rest of the shift! hes still bouncing so lets hope he clears that soon. although it was abit of a panic last night what fantastic numbers when all these months weve had no progress where as now there is. this has got to be positive right ???

will do half hour a day to get back to his usual shot time.lets see what happens! !
 
It is always positive to see Mr. Greenie out and about!! :mrgreen: Don't be surprised or discouraged if he bounces higher from dipping into the lagoon though. His body isn't used to it just yet and could think there's something wrong. We of course know differently, but Mr. Liver rarely listens to us!

You did awesome. Very quick and smart thinking on your part!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top