05/01 Skipper: AMPS 374

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerb

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69552

Day 4 of Start Low, Go Slow protocol

High BG over weekend, lots of vomiting of a new kind of canned food I tried. I have run out of canned foods to try that meet the criteria of low-carb, low phosphorus, no beef, no poultry, no liver or organ meat, or don't cause vomiting. I don't see him ever changing to a wet-food diet. Saturday's BG was fairly steady, but Sunday was up and down.

Have a call into the vet for weekly check in and to get a refill on syringes, since I am almost out and they didn't give me refills.
 
I'd suggest ordering syringes from either ADW or Hocks. Your vet will need to fax them a prescription but you'll only need the vet to do that once. They'll keep the Rx on file. (It also depends on where you live. I don't need an Rx with Hocks.) You can also order syringes that come in half unit increments.

Regardless of the protocol. if you shot a 48 on 4/19, you really needed to stick around and monitor. When shooting that low, you need to get a +1 and a +2 in order to be certain that numbers aren't heading in a downward direction. If you can't be home to monitor, you should not shoot that low, even if you are giving only a token dose.

I know this may sound picky but, If you are shooting a whole unit, it would help if you put in decimals (e.g., 2.0). Again, regardless of protocol, dose changes are generally made in 0.25u amounts -- not in 1.0u increments. Increasing by that much can easily put your cat over dose and/or set up a great deal of bouncing. It's very hard to know with the way you're dosing and not getting any mid-cycle tests whether there are low numbers in between the shots. I'd really urge you to get spot checks as often as you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top