05/01 Shmee +11 161, AMPS 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-6-123-more-dental-talk.194923/#post-2181685

Good morning,

In yesterdays condo we couldn't really decide what to do about his dose for today. He should be getting a .5 increase today (starting increases by .5 now since he is above 5, per advice from a prior condo), but he gave me some low blues yesterday (and was blue just now at +11), so Gill was thinking I could wait to increase, and Wendy was saying that if Shmee stays true to pattern, he might go lower on day 3 which would be the day of his dental... which made me nervous to increase him today.

Maybe I can just wait for the .5 increases until after the dental, and increase him to 5.25 as a precautionary measure? Or just keep on schedule and increase to 5.5 at AMPS? Am I overthinking it? I give him his AMPS in 40 minutes.... I am still undecided on what I should do.
 
I understand your hesitation and only because you have the dental coming up to consider and you don’t want to be dealing with low numbers then when you can’t monitor him, I would say split the different and go for the 5.25 and see how it goes. Looks like you might be working with a nice lower preshot too, which could really give you insight to what the dose is capable of. :)
 
I understand your hesitation and only because you have the dental coming up to consider and you don’t want to be dealing with low numbers then when you can’t monitor him, I would say split the different and go for the 5.25 and see how it goes. Looks like you might be working with a nice lower preshot too, which could really give you insight to what the dose is capable of. :)

I appreciate the response, I get so nervous!! I think this is a good idea, and I can start doing the .5 increases later.
 
Update -
AMPS 200, shot 5.25.
Since Wendy found his pattern where he usually goes lower by the third day, I didn't want him to fall too low on the dental day so I played it safe and increased by .25 for now. If my vet doesn't reply to my email about the dental questions by lunchtime I will call her (I asked if he could eat till midnight instead of 10pm, the dose Thursday morning, and AB's). I will also ask if the pain medication is Metacam / if we can switch to Buprenorphine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top