05/01 Mister AMPS 396 +2 332 +6 358

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
Link to previous condo

Hello everyone. Today is Mister’s first day on Lantus, switched over from Vetsulin.

It was a bit of a rough start this morning. I usually do his shots at 7am/7pm EST but my Relion Premier decided to stop working so I had to switch over to my Keto-Mojo, thankfully I had some glucose strips. By the time I tried to test him a second time, he was not having it. He’s a spicy cat, he was a semi-feral adult when I found him and that has never fully left him. It was 8am on the dot by the time I gave him his injection. My question– since 7&7 is what will work for me when I eventually return to work, and I know Lantus is stricter about shot times, how can I get him safely back on schedule? Will inching closer by 10 minutes every day work?

He’s also on subcutaneous fluids for ketones but we had a time with that today too. He drew blood on my arm and leg trying to rip away from me. I might have got 10ml in him. I may try again tonight or just wait until tomorrow. It’s just me so it’s a bit difficult sometimes. I even brought out the canned tuna but to no avail. I worry about his ketones without fluids while waiting for the depot to form. They’ve fluctuated a bit. He hasn’t had a lot of movement in his BG and I know the formula for ketones is calories + insulin + fluids, so it concerns me. He is eating good thankfully. I feed him lots of small meals through the day which he mostly finishes.

If anyone has any other insights or advice for a newbie, I would appreciate it a lot. I hope I wrote my title correctly, I’m taking in a lot of information at the moment so it’s a little hard for me to keep up with everything. I’m doing my best. It’s nice to meet you all. Very thankful for this place.
 
Link to previous condo

Hello everyone. Today is Mister’s first day on Lantus, switched over from Vetsulin.

It was a bit of a rough start this morning. I usually do his shots at 7am/7pm EST but my Relion Premier decided to stop working so I had to switch over to my Keto-Mojo, thankfully I had some glucose strips. By the time I tried to test him a second time, he was not having it. He’s a spicy cat, he was a semi-feral adult when I found him and that has never fully left him. It was 8am on the dot by the time I gave him his injection. My question– since 7&7 is what will work for me when I eventually return to work, and I know Lantus is stricter about shot times, how can I get him safely back on schedule? Will inching closer by 10 minutes every day work?

He’s also on subcutaneous fluids for ketones but we had a time with that today too. He drew blood on my arm and leg trying to rip away from me. I might have got 10ml in him. I may try again tonight or just wait until tomorrow. It’s just me so it’s a bit difficult sometimes. I even brought out the canned tuna but to no avail. I worry about his ketones without fluids while waiting for the depot to form. They’ve fluctuated a bit. He hasn’t had a lot of movement in his BG and I know the formula for ketones is calories + insulin + fluids, so it concerns me. He is eating good thankfully. I feed him lots of small meals through the day which he mostly finishes.

If anyone has any other insights or advice for a newbie, I would appreciate it a lot. I hope I wrote my title correctly, I’m taking in a lot of information at the moment so it’s a little hard for me to keep up with everything. I’m doing my best. It’s nice to meet you all. Very thankful for this place.
Great to see you here. I’ve been checking in to find you. Subject line is perfect. Welcome!

You can move his shot time back either 15 mins a cycle or 30 mins once a day. I always found it to be easier to do 30 mins once a day. Here is a more detailed explanation.

Has anyone linked the post I did on how to do subq fluids at home? There are a lot of little hacks that make a big difference like freezing needles, warming fluids, making Ute the bevel is up, etc. Do you have a friend who can come by and help distract him with treats or pets? You might also look at these EZ IV Harnesses.
 
Great to see you here. I’ve been checking in to find you. Subject line is perfect. Welcome!

You can move his shot time back either 15 mins a cycle or 30 mins once a day. I always found it to be easier to do 30 mins once a day. Here is a more detailed explanation.

Has anyone linked the post I did on how to do subq fluids at home? There are a lot of little hacks that make a big difference like freezing needles, warming fluids, making Ute the bevel is up, etc. Do you have a friend who can come by and help distract him with treats or pets? You might also look at these EZ IV Harnesses.
Oh that’s great to know! That will be just fine to get us back on track.

Sometimes I have help, my mom will be available to help me with him tomorrow, at least to hold his treats while I focus on him but that harness interests me. He has done soo well up until today, I wonder if he sore or just sick of it. The needles are 18g which get the job done quickly but I know it’s gotta sting. Nonetheless we try again. Thank you so much for the links. Will check them all out.
 
Great to see you here. I’ve been checking in to find you. Subject line is perfect. Welcome!

You can move his shot time back either 15 mins a cycle or 30 mins once a day. I always found it to be easier to do 30 mins once a day. Here is a more detailed explanation.

Has anyone linked the post I did on how to do subq fluids at home? There are a lot of little hacks that make a big difference like freezing needles, warming fluids, making Ute the bevel is up, etc. Do you have a friend who can come by and help distract him with treats or pets? You might also look at these EZ IV Harnesses.
We are holding this 2.5U while we wait for the depot to fill, correct? I will update his ketone test at the +2 hours, he’s not thrilled about all the pokes today and I’ve been more focused on his BG but will definitely get one in to see where they are.
 
Yes you want to do random spot checks but I’d always recommend AMPS, +2 and the something around +5,+6 and maybe a +10 in the am cycle if he will let you and a PMPS, +2, and before bed at night. If he’s tired of the tests by the PM, if the +2 is more than 20% higher than PMPS and it’s above 300, take the night off.

You will hold this initial dose six cycles unless he drops below 50 at which time you would reduce by 0.25 u to 2.25u bid at next shot time. Normally when starting Lantus, we would hold the initial dose longer but with ketones, I want to be a little more aggressive.

Sound good?
 
Yes you want to do random spot checks but I’d always recommend AMPS, +2 and the something around +5,+6 and maybe a +10 in the am cycle if he will let you and a PMPS, +2, and before bed at night. If he’s tired of the tests by the PM, if the +2 is more than 20% higher than PMPS and it’s above 300, take the night off.

You will hold this initial dose six cycles unless he drops below 50 at which time you would reduce by 0.25 u to 2.25u bid at next shot time. Normally when starting Lantus, we would hold the initial dose longer but with ketones, I want to be a little more aggressive.

Sound good?
Sounds good to me, my only other question is do you mean six cycles total or six cycles on Lantus? (Meaning this is currently his 6th cycle at 2.5 if you’re counting total, but his 2nd cycle on Lantus)

Also I just noticed his tummy is awfully bloated/firm, he won’t let me touch it. He is peeing ok, haven’t noticed any poops today though. Could this be just from being full from dinner or constipation? I never noticed it before now

Edit: (if I should make updates to a previous statement in a new comment instead, please let me know) He did just poop, so I know he's not constipated. I compared his tummy to his sister's and hers was a tiny bit firm too so I think I'm feeling their dinners. And when he stood up after using the litter box, it wasn't nearly as firm/bloated. I'll keep an eye on it. Whew.
 
Last edited:
Hi Elizabeth, glad to see you here. Looks like Mister is doing better 🥰
You’re doing a great job.
I hope Lantus works great for him. So sorry about the fluids incident today.
Wishing you both a calm weekend and hope he continues to recover quickly.
🥰
 
Sounds good to me, my only other question is do you mean six cycles total or six cycles on Lantus? (Meaning this is currently his 6th cycle at 2.5 if you’re counting total, but his 2nd cycle on Lantus)

Also I just noticed his tummy is awfully bloated/firm, he won’t let me touch it. He is peeing ok, haven’t noticed any poops today though. Could this be just from being full from dinner or constipation? I never noticed it before now

Edit: (if I should make updates to a previous statement in a new comment instead, please let me know) He did just poop, so I know he's not constipated. I compared his tummy to his sister's and hers was a tiny bit firm too so I think I'm feeling their dinners. And when he stood up after using the litter box, it wasn't nearly as firm/bloated. I'll keep an eye on it. Whew.
Six cycles on Lantus at this dose. The doses on Vetsulin don’t count.

Be sure you watch that tummy bloat and if it’s not normal tomorrow, call your vet.
 
Got it, that’s what I figured but wanted to make sure i understood everything correctly. Thank you again. His tummy is looking/feeling better now but I’ll still be checking on it
Always fine to make sure we are clear.

I’m out until later today so if you need help, post and be sure to make it clear (besides the “?” Prefix) if it’s urgent like his BG is dropping suddenly and you don’t know what to do. I’ll check back in when I’m home late afternoon. Have a great day!
 
Back
Top