05/01 amps 378 pmps 88

Chislow

Member Since 2018
Cinncy is bouncing all over, eating like a piggy again, should i decrease her dosage to 4 units for the amps, her number continuously went down today
 
Hi there, I wanted to suggest a few things. You don't have a particular method identified, and I'm not sure if anyone has pointed you to those stickies, ...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
but depending on which you may choose to follow, it will affect the suggestions people make. If I see correctly, from your signature, if you are occasionally feeding dry, you will need to follow SLGS.

Sometimes it helps when you get a low preshot to stall, don't feed, and retest in 20minutes. Then you can see if kitty is on their way back up, and based on that number you can decide whether to dose. With SLGS you wouldn't shoot anything under 90. You have had a lot of no shots. Yes, there is bouncing, but as an example, on April 27th you got a preshot of 67, no shot, but then gave him 4.5u at pm, when you should have reduced his dose to 3.75u. 4.5u is too much insulin, we dose based on how low the dose takes the kitty, not the preshot numbers. And the changing up doses isn't helping. Yesterday am, NS due to 67 (which would deserve a reduction), but you shot a 4.5 the night before, then that evening 4u then this morning 4.5u. If it were me, I would skip tonight, I don't see anything as history of diabetic ketoacidosis, which may affect suggestions to skip or not. I would try and see if you can get some consistent cycles, over the next 3-5 days maybe try 3.5u or 3.75u and see how that works. We also suggest dosing adjustment in 0.25u increase or decrease, can you do that with the insulin needles you use? You'd be surprised how much 0.25u of insulin can make. I hope I haven't overwhelmed you, I just saw you needed some help, wanted to try and offer some food for thought.

Keep asking questions, people here really do want to try and help where we can :)
 
Last edited:
Hi there, I wanted to suggest a few things. You don't have a particular method identified, and I'm not sure if anyone has pointed you to those stickies, ...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
but depending on which you may choose to follow, it will affect the suggestions people make. If I see correctly, from your signature, if you are occasionally feeding dry, you will need to follow SLGS.

Sometimes it helps when you get a low preshot to stall, don't feed, and retest in 20minutes. Then you can see if kitty is on their way back up, and based on that number you can decide whether to dose. With SLGS you wouldn't shoot anything under 90. You have had a lot of no shots. Yes, there is bouncing, but as an example, on April 27th you got a preshot of 67, no shot, but then gave him 4.5u at pm, when you should have reduced his dose to 3.75u. 4.5u is too much insulin, we dose based on how low the dose takes the kitty, not the preshot numbers. And the changing up doses isn't helping. Yesterday am, NS due to 67 (which would deserve a reduction), but you shot a 4.5 the night before, then that evening 4u then this morning 4.5u. If it were me, I would skip tonight, I don't see anything as history of diabetic ketoacidosis, which may affect suggestions to skip or not. I would try and see if you can get some consistent cycles, over the next 3-5 days maybe try 3.5u or 3.75u and see how that works. We also suggest dosing adjustment in 0.25u increase or decrease, can you do that with the insulin needles you use? You'd be surprised how much 0.25u of insulin can make. I hope I haven't overwhelmed you, I just saw you needed some help, wanted to try and offer some food for thought.

Keep asking questions, people here really do want to try and help where we can :)

Thanks Christie,
Yes she does have access to dry food (Dr. Elsey's) I have 6 other rescue cats and switched them all over to it, occasionally she does nibble on it but prefers raw food, vet wants her off the raw. I have read the slgs and going with that, I am able to do the .25u increase or decrease with the needles and will drop to 3.75 her next amps, all this has been a little overwhelming, the vet said she would probably only need the insulin for a short period since it was steroid induced, this has not been the case. I am not sure about the ketoacidosis, when she was first diagnosed she was non stop eating, drinking, and peeing, her urine did not smell like urine it was sweet smelling, her breath did not smell, I asked the vet about it and she brushed it off about the urine, i purchased test strips but was cinncy would not let me get a sample, purchased KetoMojo but by the time i got it the sweet smell stopped, never had any readings for ketoacidosis.
Thanks again for the suggestions and support, it's a great help!
 
You're welcome! Interesting that your vet doesn't like raw, did they say why? I know of a few members who prefer feeding raw, I don't but not for any reason, I'm just stuck on wet food convenience I guess. I can imagine it is overwhelming, you have 6 rescue cats to worry about and hoping Cinccy will get off the insulin is a good goal, but let's try and get her into more consistent cycles first :). With skipping shots lately, it might be worth getting some ketone tests in, just in case. Hoping to see you post her AMPS tomorrow, it is a bit slow tonight, but if you have time and would like to post how she is doing tomorrow, you may have a few more senior members who may pop by, and can comment on dosing going forward as well.
 
I am one who fed raw to my diabetic kitty. She loved it and I think it was really good for her. Plus I had a supportive vet. Even her internal medicine vet thought it was the best food for her.

I agree a reduction is warranted. The April 27th example is not good one, because the night before had been a one time reduced dose. The 4.5 unit depot was still influencing the night of the 26th and morning of the 27th. The 67 on that morning did mean a reduction earned. And every time you have to skip a bunch of shots because the numbers are too low to shoot, you should consider reducing the dose so you can find a dose you can shoot twice a day.

Before going off insulin, a cat has to get regulated. It is those times in healthy blood sugar numbers that helps the pancreas rest and recover.
 
You're welcome! Interesting that your vet doesn't like raw, did they say why? I know of a few members who prefer feeding raw, I don't but not for any reason, I'm just stuck on wet food convenience I guess. I can imagine it is overwhelming, you have 6 rescue cats to worry about and hoping Cinccy will get off the insulin is a good goal, but let's try and get her into more consistent cycles first :). With skipping shots lately, it might be worth getting some ketone tests in, just in case. Hoping to see you post her AMPS tomorrow, it is a bit slow tonight, but if you have time and would like to post how she is doing tomorrow, you may have a few more senior members who may pop by, and can comment on dosing going forward as well.

Cinncy was 5 year old feral when she was brought inside, she will eat wet food as a treat and nibble on kibble but will only eat raw for a meal, her boiled chicken has to be in large chunks because she has to throw it around and pounce on it before eating, the vet said raw has a lot of bacteria in and will make her sick and she feels it may have to many carbs in it, the last part i tried not to chuckle, she wants her on the dm that they sell but cinncy will not even eat it as a snack, I fed the case to the feral colony . I will check for ketones in the morning, she is currently killing her chicken breast, thanks a lot for the help
 
I am one who fed raw to my diabetic kitty. She loved it and I think it was really good for her. Plus I had a supportive vet. Even her internal medicine vet thought it was the best food for her.

I agree a reduction is warranted. The April 27th example is not good one, because the night before had been a one time reduced dose. The 4.5 unit depot was still influencing the night of the 26th and morning of the 27th. The 67 on that morning did mean a reduction earned. And every time you have to skip a bunch of shots because the numbers are too low to shoot, you should consider reducing the dose so you can find a dose you can shoot twice a day.

Before going off insulin, a cat has to get regulated. It is those times in healthy blood sugar numbers that helps the pancreas rest and recover.

thanks for the input, it helps greatly, just unsure at times and afraid i am gonna hurt her, i agree that the raw diet is good for her and she loves it but wish my vet was supportive, she is still fussing with me testing her all the time, i showed her the slgs protocol and she was not thrilled with it but will be supportive of my decision
 
Back
Top