04 AUG: Teasel: AM 151 | +2.25 166 | PM 236

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like you and Teasel are doing good in Lantus Land.

I think Buddy will be starting Lantus tomorrow (Saturday). Hoping that Buddy does as well as Teasel, here in Lantus Land.

Buddy has not been feeling very good for several week's, I am hoping he is over the hump. I would really like for Buddy to get where his pancreas could get a rest. His starting dose will be 5u, the pharmacy & vet say that is a very high starting dose, they both think it should be 1.5u. At Mark's Marine Pharmacy, who ever answered the phone told me, that 5u was too much for a kitty, that it might kill kitty. What do you think about that.
 
Looks like you and Teasel are doing good in Lantus Land.

I think Buddy will be starting Lantus tomorrow (Saturday). Hoping that Buddy does as well as Teasel, here in Lantus Land.

Buddy has not been feeling very good for several week's, I am hoping he is over the hump. I would really like for Buddy to get where his pancreas could get a rest. His starting dose will be 5u, the pharmacy & vet say that is a very high starting dose, they both think it should be 1.5u. At Mark's Marine Pharmacy, who ever answered the phone told me, that 5u was too much for a kitty, that it might kill kitty. What do you think about that.
I think they routinely say that, Teresa,because they assume the kitty is new to insulin. Buddy has been on it long enough that you know how he responds. Will you be home to monitor? It can take a few days for the depot to fill to the 5 u level so he might be higher for a bit - or not!
 
I think they routinely say that, Teresa,because they assume the kitty is new to insulin. Buddy has been on it long enough that you know how he responds. Will you be home to monitor? It can take a few days for the depot to fill to the 5 u level so he might be higher for a bit - or not!
I plan on staying home, I might have to run out for a minute to pick up something. I gave him 5.5 u at AMPS and the last reading I took he was @191, so he will be too low for a shot. He is not eating very much, he is not feeling good. Hope he gets to feeling better, maybe the insulin change will help. So he might have higher numbers, guess that means to stay at the starting dose until numbers start coming down.
 
I plan on staying home, I might have to run out for a minute to pick up something. I gave him 5.5 u at AMPS and the last reading I took he was @191, so he will be too low for a shot. He is not eating very much, he is not feeling good. Hope he gets to feeling better, maybe the insulin change will help. So he might have higher numbers, guess that means to stay at the starting dose until numbers start coming down.
If you're doing SLGS you have to keep the starting dose for 5 to 7 days unless he drops below 90. It's a different method than dosing ProZinc. AM and PM always have the same dose unless the BG is low, in which case you stall and retest NOT feed and retest. In the beginning you might have to review the SLGS guidelines many times, Teresa.
 
If you're doing SLGS you have to keep the starting dose for 5 to 7 days unless he drops below 90. It's a different method than dosing ProZinc. AM and PM always have the same dose unless the BG is low, in which case you stall and retest NOT feed and retest. In the beginning you might have to review the SLGS guidelines many times, Teresa.
I have to do SLGS, what do you do when you stall and they do not raise their BG numbers.
 
I have to do SLGS, what do you do when you stall and they do not raise their BG numbers.
Depending how low, and how your kitty reacts to food, you would feed, some cats just need to be feed a few teaspoon of LC, others need MC or HC. If really low (Lime Green), some people give karo to quickly push the number up and I think feed also, you would then check bg again in 20 or 30 minutes (all depends how low the BG is)
 
Depending how low, and how your kitty reacts to food, you would feed, some cats just need to be feed a few teaspoon of LC, others need MC or HC. If really low (Lime Green), some people give karo to quickly push the number up and I think feed also, you would then check bg again in 20 or 30 minutes (all depends how low the BG is)
A little different, but about the same. Do you think I should start with 5u of Lantus or go higher.
 
A little different, but about the same. Do you think I should start with 5u of Lantus or go higher.
Hi Teresa,
I think the SLGS guide gives clear directions about what to do if a PS is lower than you'd like. That's one of the things people who use Lantus like a lot - a set of written instructions on what to do when. You might want to print those out for yourself so they're right beside you when you need them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top