04/30 Gizmo PMPS=117, +2=135, +4=113, +5=130, +11=167

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Very Active Member

04/29


Hubby t/f/s this morning and then went to sleep on the couch. I woke up to a complete mess in the testing department - lol. I rounded the times to the 1/2 hour just to keep things cleaner. The +4.5 test was right before his +4.5 snack and I tested :)

This is the 8th cycle on the 0.75U dose - should I reduce? I would like to with the exception of the AMPS #'s. He did not eat his +8.5 snack overnight.

The reason I would like to reduce it because of work. I am nervous to leave him with him getting down that low.

Maybe give him 0.75U tonight and reduce in the morning? IDK - advise please :bighug:
 
That 40 has earned the reduction.
If he goes up by pmps, you could shoot thru the bounce.....
But I always took reductions when they were earned....

I would reduce tonite so that tomorrow morning, the depot has drained a bit.
 
They are the last ones to come down.
They way to help that is small frequent meals and it looks like you are doing that. Is he able to eat when you are sleeping....
that can make a difference too.

If you look at Shadow's ss, she did the same thing..... the morning preshot was usually the highest....
eventually it changed.
 
Is he able to eat when you are sleeping....
that can make a difference too.
I use an autofeeder so yes, he has access - does he, no, not always. I moved the time of the last snack from +6.5 to +8.5 thinking maybe he would eat because he would be hungrier if there was more time between but I think he is just too lazy to wake up and eat. He does the same thing during the AM cycle but he does eat the +8.5 snack more often during the AM cycle than the PM cycle.
 
Definitely yes on the reduction. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles, so it's long gone. :D
Already changed the calipers and put a new note on the window with new dose! :D

Really didn't see this coming. These cats! Just love them and follow their lead I guess. :cool:
 
PMPS=117

History:
AMPS=196, +2.5=76, +3=59, +3.5=50, +4.5=40, +5=61, +5.5=63, +7=80, +11=128

I did wake him up and take him to his food bowl for his +8.5 snack today. He ate with no hesitation - which confirms my thinking that he is just sleeping/too lazy to get up and eat for it. :banghead:.
 
Question on giving Pepcid. I have given it twice - both times wrapped in pill pocket. Well, the pill pockets spike Gizmo's BG so those are our. Both times, previously, I gave in the middle of the day in between snacks or after his last one (+8.5).

Is there a specific time that is better to give this? I would like to give it to him when I test at +2 tonight (snack will be at +2.5). Is that a good time? Does it really matter? Another question - someone (can't remember who) said to coat in vaseline - I have never done this but would like to try it. Any tips? I assume coating it with a nice glob? I usually syringe water into the mouth after I drop the pill at the back of the throat. Do I do the same with the pill coated in valeline? Gizmo doesn't do well pilling but his eating has been SO much better with the addition of the pepcid I want to keep it up - at least twice a week if it doesn't prove to stress him out to much. He seems to feel much, much better also. How long can I give this to him?
 
You're as bad as me...you say 'Question'....and have a whole slew of them (is it a 'Texan' thing? I iz a transplanted Texan). :) If you do pill pockets, I'd do at food time so both will wear off together. If not in pill pocket, doesn't matter when.

Vaseline...doesn't work for me but lots of others do it...I'll let them answer. It's such a small amount, I put it on top of a small spoon of food when I begin feeding Doc. He never knows he ate it...then he gets the rest of his food.

It can be given daily forever if needed....
 
You're as bad as me...you say 'Question'....and have a whole slew of them (is it a 'Texan' thing? I iz a transplanted Texan). :)
:p

Pill pockets spike him for a long time (12 hours). I tried them twice and then gave them to nextdoor neighbor for her dogs. It sucks because they worked so well with no stress and fighting.

I am a transplant also but been here (Texas) for 30+ years, so been here longer than anywhere else my entire life.
 
I put it on top of a small spoon of food when I begin feeding Doc. He never knows he ate it...then he gets the rest of his food.
Hehe - I tried that. Earlier today I was mixing up his next batch of food and when I finished the paper plate I was using for the cans/spoons had a bit of the food left on it. Gizmo happened to be in the kitchen so I asked him if he wanted to lick the plate and put it down in front of his autofeeder. The boy licked that paper plate all over the den (it had less than a teaspoon of food on it). So I thought, well, let's try that again. I used his little "special" bowls that I use for food steering and put a small blob of the "new" food in it pushed the 1/4 pill down in it and and acted like it was his "special" (HC/MC) food. He licked the bowl clean along with the little 1/4 pill mixed in!
 
Have you tried the dog version of the duck and pea allergy free pill pockets? They are lower carb. Instead of Vaseline you can use unsalted butter, if the paper plate trick stops working. I have hear that Pepcid at night can work better for some cats. I preferred using SEB and din't use Pepcid much.
 
Have you tried the dog version of the duck and pea allergy free pill pockets? They are lower carb
That is what I had. Here is where I posted about it.
04/23 Gizmo PMPS=189, +2=152, +4=91, +11=78

Did some research on the Greenie Pill Pocket Duck & Pea

Ingredients
Rehydrated duck, glycerin, ground peas, natural flavors, pea protein, vegetable oil, sodium bisulfate, water, dried cultured skim milk, xanthan gum, smoke flavor, preserved with mixed tocopherols

http://www.greenies.com/dogs/allergy-formula-pill-pockets.aspx

ETA - all flavors, cat and dog, have glycerin listed as 2nd ingredient.

The reason I don't use SEB is because I mix his supplements and B12 into his cycle food and then divide it into his snacks so SEB would mean he wouldn't get the benefit of those when I used SEB. It also seems the Pepcid lasts a good 3 days or so with just 1/4 pill!
 
Last edited:
Question on giving Pepcid. I have given it twice - both times wrapped in pill pocket. Well, the pill pockets spike Gizmo's BG so those are our. Both times, previously, I gave in the middle of the day in between snacks or after his last one (+8.5).

Is there a specific time that is better to give this? I would like to give it to him when I test at +2 tonight (snack will be at +2.5). Is that a good time? Does it really matter? Another question - someone (can't remember who) said to coat in vaseline - I have never done this but would like to try it. Any tips? I assume coating it with a nice glob? I usually syringe water into the mouth after I drop the pill at the back of the throat. Do I do the same with the pill coated in valeline? Gizmo doesn't do well pilling but his eating has been SO much better with the addition of the pepcid I want to keep it up - at least twice a week if it doesn't prove to stress him out to much. He seems to feel much, much better also. How long can I give this to him?
I crush my pepcid with back of spoon & mix in my cats food. But, my diabetic eats just about anything! He's been diabetic for 4 1/2 yrs now & turning 15 next month. My favorite cat too!
 
My magnificent boy!

20170430_184732.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top