04/29 - pmps - am i seeing a bounce??

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
We gave annie a dose change this morning - numbers were good - but her pmps seemed high. Is this a bounce? or what am i seeing? can someone help me understand
 
Yes this looks like a bounce to me. I'm glad you've gone to bid dosing. Will you be following the tight regulation protocol now? Has her pancreatitis resolved?

Just so you know...it can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce so you want to hold this dose until either the bounce clears by her coming back down into blue or green OR six cycles have passed starting with tonight's.
 
yes, i want to follow TR. We plan to hold this dose for a bit to see where it takes her. Her spreadsheet is really confusing me because her numbers are just so all over the place.
I'm not sure if her Pancreatitis has cleared...... she's still on her meds for it. how would i know>?
 
I agree with Marje.

Just so you know, it looks like Annie's nadirs were largely in the 200s. According to the Tight Regulation protocol, you would raise the dose by 0.25u, not 0.5u. Please monitor carefully over the next several days.

[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:2k48ktm5][b:2k48ktm5]Tight Regulation sticky[/b][/url] said:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You may realize this but the nadir doesn't mean the mid-point in the cycle. It's the lowest test reading in the cycle and it can be at any time.
 
so if the six cycles go by, and she's still in the yellow and purples... then the dose isn't enough for her? alternatively, if the six cycles go by and then she settles in the blue then what do i do?
 
I copied and pasted the info from the TR Protocol. If nadirs are predominantly blue, you still increase but when the nadirs are running under 200, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles.
 
yes, i understand, the reason for the dose going from 0.5 to 1u was because while i was on the board trying to get advice this morning, my hubby decided to give her the 1u - he doesn't quite understand the protocol, and he insisted it be brought up to 1u. so now here we are, at 1u, and i've just been nervous all day about it. (and i had a nice long talk with him about it and made him read some info after that)
 
a bounce can continue to rise from the "event" that i talked to you about yesterday and stay high for up to 3 days.

i'm glad you're testing. that was a big increase - i totally understand about your husband wanting to measure to the line, it is hard to figure in between amounts.

thanks for posting here too - there are more people who will see if you need help.

ps - welcome! :-D what do you want us to call you?
 
well trust me, i was not impressed with him this morning, but i think he understands more now. he knows what will happen if he does it again :-D

Oh, my name is Star
 
glad to officially meet you star! my name is julie. ;-)

everyone has a hard time with little increments - you get a system figured out and it will be ok.

just in case you need it at some point, i want to give you the link for Handling Low Numbers. it's in a yellow starred sticky at the top of this forum. low numbers is anything below 50. for anyone giving insulin, you need to be aware of what to do if you see a number below 50. usually someone is on here except in the very middle of the night, and even sometimes then someone is one. but it's good to have the info printed out just in case your electricity goes out or something! not likely, but you know . . .
 
awesome, thank you so much! :smile:

Well we figured out today we actually have been using the 1/2 unit syringes, so we actually figured out a system today on how to get it to the .25 etc ...

this is all such a huge learning experience, but i feel i've learned alot so far(my vet is very impressed), and i know i have a ton more to learn and i take comfort in this board and all the amazing people here that can help.
 
Hi Star!
I think I posted to you on health earlier this weekend. I just thought it would be good for others who are offering you suggestions to know that your kitty is on prednisolone right now (a steroid), which can in many cats cause higher or wonky numbers.

Can you tell us which cycle you give the prednisolone? In the a.m. or p.m.? Same time as shot or different?

You asked about pain medication for the pancreatitis, other than pred...buprenex is the most commonly used for that condition. If you decide to go that route vs the steroid, than you want to make sure you wean your cat off the prednisolone vs going cold turkey.

Any idea how many days left you have with the prednisolone?
 
She gets a half pill of predniliaone in the morning with her food and we also inject her at this time.

I'm not sure how long she has left on it. If she has to take the whole bottle then there's a lot left. I'm going to ask my vet about this and gatting bupranex
 
Hi Star-
Ask your vet why they prescribed a steroid (especially to a known diabetic cat). Tell them you think it may be causing her BG's to be higher than necessary and ask if buprenex would be appropriate. If it is for the pancreatitis then bupe should be appropriate. I cant imagine they would suggest metacam...but just in case...be sure to read the links in my signature before going that route.

Btw...the link to your ss is not working.
 
It's working now

Just a question... The dip today from 18 to 13, could that be from her b12 shot she had at +4? Does b12 drop numbers?
 
Its asking me to request access from the owner in order to view.
Its been a long time since I have set up a ss. Somehow you have to make it public.
 
On our ss...upper right hand corner it has a button that says "share". When I click on that it gives me options to share with anyone, or just myself. You want to make sure to mark "share with anyone who has the link"
 
Hi Star

Several of the cats in LL are on B12 and I'm not aware of any affecting BG.

Are you able to start a daily condo with her numbers so we can keep an eye out please? You just post the date, her name, and her numbers so it would look like:

4/30 Annie AMPS xxx +2 xxx +6 xxx +10 xxxx

Just as an example with the x's being her actual BG. In the evening, delete the a.m. Numbers and start over with PMPS.

Thanks very much. And if you have questions, just put them in the same subject line and click on the "?" button above the subject line. Example:

4/30 Annie AMPS Xxxx. Dose ?

Thanks Star!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top