04/29 Lucy PMPS 140 +2 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Good Morning!

Lucy had a great day yesterday! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69739 At one point she was 'helping' me post one of her updates for you all to see by marching across the keyboard! ohmygod_smile :lol:

I am hoping that since she likes green so much, we will be hanging out here for a while. I gave her a pep talk today about that today during breakfast an hopefully she was listening!

Sending thougths and healing vines to those who need them....thinking of Ella and her beans, just down the highway from us, who are I'm sure very sleep deprived! Keep up the awesome job!
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83

Awe Thanks Val and Lucy!!!
I think I'm getting used to the hour naps now! It's better than staying up and testing every 15-30 ohmygod_smile

We're rooting for you and Lucy! Listen to your mama bean...she knows best!
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 - here we go again!

Ugh! Here we go again!!

I think Lucy is D-O-N-E with insulin...or at least trying to tell me she is!

Gave her some syrup and 1tsp of HC food, she is meowing like crazy at the feeder, which doesnt open again until +4

Here is my dilemma: I have to go out today. I need to be out from about +3 to about +7. Any thoughts? I am able to leave food out, and can test right before we leave. Is that terrible? ugh!

Also, I am thinking that I shouldn't be giving her insulin anymore? From what I can see, to be declared OTJ, she would have to have normal numbers for 14 days right? Anything else? I tried finding a sticky about it but didn't see one!

Val
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 - here we go again! Plus questi

Hi Val,

I don't believe I've visited your condo yet. Hello from me and Cini Mini :-D

I'm not familiar with what kind of protocol you have Lucy on but if it's TR you may want to read Phases 4 and 5 on Tilly's page
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm I like Tilly's because it spells out the TR protocol in plain English.
IMHO, I think you are at the start of Phase 4.


OH, and also, what's your feeding routine? You may want to up the carb content and/or timing of her morning meals so that she has a smoother drop at +3.

Good Luck!
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 - here we go again! Plus questi

Is there any way to delay what time you leave to make sure Lucy's numbers aren't dropping?
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 - here we go again! Plus questi

Ok, I tested at +2.5 ~51 and then +3 71!

She is on the rise for sure! I have adjusted her feeder foods to add some MC as well.

Welcome CiniMini's mom! Thanks for the links, I knew I had read something somewhere but didn't know where!
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

I think Lucy may be ready for an OTJ trial!! How about starting at the next green pre-shot which is likely to be tonight?

Here are the instructions:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

very exciting! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

lucy does seem determined!

btw, in your situation today, i take punkin with me, park in the shade, leave the windows open a few inches and test as needed. a litter box on the floor of the back seat, bowl of water . . . they are relatively portable. just make sure the car doesn't get too hot. ya gotta run out often, but at least it's not driving home.
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Awesome! I agree that Lucy is ready to try being diet controlled! Will test as normal tonight and let you all know what she is at!

Thanks,
Val
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Forgot to mention-my neighbour has agreed to check in on Lucy while we are out! She will let me know if anything is abnormal. She will attempt to test around +5 if she can!
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Wow! My eye caught the pretty green cycle! Congratulations on starting a trial. She sure is looking like she wants off the juice. Go Lucy! Have a nice day.
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Way to go Lucy, you are looking really good. Good luck on your trial! I'm sure your momma bean will be glad to ease up on the number of pokes she has to give.

Val, you have a great neighbour if she is willing to try to do the testing.
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Wohoo!!!! Congratulations on starting the trial!!! We'll be rooting for ya:)
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 41 +2.5 ~50 +3 71 Plus question!

Thank you all for all of the positive thoughts for Lucy's OTJ trial! I am very excited to start, and clearly by the numbers Lucy is too!

My sweet sweet neighbour tried her best to test Lucy, but couldn't seem to get enough blood the first time, and then tried again, but Lucy meowed when she got poked and that worried my neighbour so she stopped. I know she felt bad, I told her i was thrilled that she tried and it was fine! She made sure Lucy got some extra scritches for the trauma of a new person testing her.

Currently, Lucy is sunning herself in the office window sill :-D
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy PMPS 140?!?!

So Lucy apparently isn't ready to try being OTJ quite yet....seriously 140??? ohmygod_smile

Not sure where that came from, but maybe she just wants to start fresh on Monday? yeah that's it! :lol:
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy PMPS 140?!?!

It may just be a bouncette from this morning. That's why I suggested the next green pre-shot. Or, there is always the possibility that Lucy is just messin' with you.
 
Re: 04/29 Lucy PMPS 140?!?!

Sienne and Gabby said:
It may just be a bouncette from this morning. That's why I suggested the next green pre-shot. Or, there is always the possibility that Lucy is just messin' with you.

Bouncette - love it! :lol:

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
You shouldn't let her read your condo!
As of tonight, she is banned from reading condos! :lol:

Hopefully she isn't messing with me, will have to wait till morning to see ;-)
 
GO FOR THE GREEN, LUCY!!!!!!!

BINKS LOVES BEING OFF THE JUICE...AND YOU WILL AS WELL :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Celi & Binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top