04/28 Oliver AMPS 429 PMPS 100 +2 84 +3 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Well not sure what is going on with Oliver but he seems to be going low at PS time now.
1. Could it be I am getting to the bottom of the Insulin? Is it stronger at the end?
2. Is it a good sign and he could be going lower and needing less insulin?
3. Do Naidars change? and why?
Its just always been the opposite with him usually high at PS and lowest about 3 to 4 hours after.
He has been about the same as always since RX just always hungry and wanting water in the sink dripping.
He has changed a bit and been resting behind the toilet ? Which is strange. I pull him out and make him join us and hang most times.
So please look at SS see what has been happening the last few days. So we did not have a repeat of last night, I decided to give him 1U instead of the 2U he is currently on.
I am almost out of Test strips till i get there tomorrow. Unless something goes wrong I should have enough. But will go if need be.
Let me know thoughts
Thanks Guys
 
Re: 04/28 Oliver AMPS 429 PMPS 100

Hi Kelly, looks like Oliver's been keeping you busy lately. :mrgreen: Good call on shooting less if you don't have test strips, but it could still be an active cycle so I'd get at least a +1 or +2 and be ready to go to the store if you can get there quickly and back. Because of the Lantus depot, often the cycle of the reduction can still be busy.

To answer your questions, nadirs can change - because they are cats. :lol: What could be happening is that Oliver is getting over his bounces quicker. He's doing low at night, bouncing during the day, breaking the bounce mid day and sliding down to PS, then repeating over again. The pink to blue cycle was one of Neko's most common types of cycles on Lantus. I found with Neko that the nadir changed all the time and especially would be later if she started higher, earlier if the PS was lower - or sometimes not. :roll:

Insulin tends to get weaker to the end of the vial/pen if it changes at all. It could be that Oliver has been spending lots of healing time in green lately and needs less insulin.
 
Re: 04/28 Oliver AMPS 429 PMPS 100

Well he is getting less with the reductions and me being a chicken. :lol:
Ok that makes more sense as I was thinking with the insulin at the end it could be stronger.
Thanks for answering and reassuring me. I will post a BG in a min and yes I am prepared as its about 2 miles away. If I need to go get some.
:roll: cats gotta love em.
 
Exact #'s from last night.... oh boy here we go again. I will set alarm rest and check again in a little while, I did go to Walmart and get new test stripes. So we are all set and ready now. He is out and seems fine. I will worry less and check every 1/2 hour for a while. If it goes below 50 I will give a little HC gravy.
Hoping it doesn't. Glad i gave the lesser dose as I wonder what would have transpired if I didn't?
Wish me luck and Good night
:YMHUG: I-)
 
just stopped to lend you a little moral support, kelly! i agree with wendy that he seems like he's clearing bounces in just a cycle or so. i think that's the reason for the lower pmps as well, it just happens to be when the bounce is clearing. Overall, you've got a lot of green tests in there.

are you going back to the 2.0u dose in the morning? i think if anyone would be able to test him tomorrow, you probably could. he's got some great momentum going and keeping enough insulin in him will help keep it going.

there's no dose in the morning column for 4/26 - did he get a shot that morning? if so, can you add it in? if you skipped, you could put a - or "no shot" in. that's helpful info to know later.

hope you're getting to sleep tonight! :mrgreen:
 
I don't know if it would help, but I get my test strips from Walmart online. If you use the shopping link at the top of the page, part of the money spent comes back to support this site. Oliver looks great and you're doing a wonderful job with him!
 
I get my Test strips from Amazon send by Ups , I get 100 for 28.00 which is super cheap. I dont think Walmart offers them that cheap. I also use a more expensive machine, as I got it free. May switch when this one goes bad. But I like it a lot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top