04/28 Nam-kha AMPS 99 + 1 77 + 2 59 +4 68 +5 68 +8 95 PMPS 139 +2 113

Status
Not open for further replies.
77 at +1 ! I'm leaving for swimming lesson in 45 minutes, I'll be back around +4. Should I leave regular low carb food or high carb ?
 
77 at +1 ! I'm leaving for swimming lesson in 45 minutes, I'll be back around +4. Should I leave regular low carb food or high carb ?
Since that +1 is lower than the pre shot, I would give some LC food right now to slow her down. Get another test before you go. If she is continuing to drop more, give some higher carb food to her since you'll be gone for a few hours. Let the next test number determine whether you give MC or HC to her before you leave. If she is hanging at around the same number, just give her some LC to help her surf.
 
Her +2 and +3 have been her lowest points, so if you can get a +2 before you head out, it should tell you which food is best. If you can’t, I’d err on the side of getting her a little higher especially since she’s had a symptomatic hypo before. I hope she’s learning to surf a bit!
 
Okay, I gave her food and now at +2 she's at 59, so high carb? I don't have medium, just low or high :/ Except if you consider the pro plan dm as "medium", it has 11% carbs.
 
The gravy is what has most of the carbs in it. Can you grab another test before going out the door? And leave her some food. Mix some HC food with the LC food because the HC wears off fast and the lower carb can carry her some.


ETA: Got to get her up. You might have to abort the cycle with HC food to keep her safe while you are gone.
 
Last edited:
Héhé! The 3.3 test was just before leaving. I gave her high carb wet food, she ate everything. Then I left the dry food for her while we were away.

At +4 she's at 68! What do you think? I'm home for the rest of the day.
 
What was the 3.3 reading?

Glad she stayed safe for you. Things to consider would be that the higher carb food will wear off soon. So I would get another test in about 30 minutes to make sure she isn't dropping again since she hasn't hit the middle of the cycle yet, just to be safe.
 
What was the 3.3 reading?

Glad she stayed safe for you. Things to consider would be that the higher carb food will wear off soon. So I would get another test in about 30 minutes to make sure she isn't dropping again since she hasn't hit the middle of the cycle yet, just to be safe.

Oups, 3.3 is 58, I was talking reading my glucometer. It's in mmol/L.

Okay, I'll test her again in 30 minutes. While we were away, she ate half of the dry food we left.
 
Keep good notes of what carb % and the amount
Oups, 3.3 is 58, I was talking reading my glucometer. It's in mmol/L.

Okay, I'll test her again in 30 minutes. While we were away, she ate half of the dry food we left.

Oh okay, my mistake.

Keep good notes on what carb % and amount of food you gave her at what number. That will help you to know just how carb sensitive she is and will help you know how much it will bring her up. I actually put the food in the cells with my numbers. Especially when Bubba was earning reductions and coming down the dosing ladder as it helped me to know what % of food to give and when.

It's such a delicate act of steering. Especially when they aren't used to being in lower numbers for more than a few hours. You want to boost them up without sending them to the moon because their likely to start bouncing any way. All data is good data.
 
Okay! I usually do the same thing. I often use the dry food first because she LOVES it and now she's on wet food so she misses the dry and rushes to eat it. But if she doesn't go up fast enough I give her the high carb gravy + dry food available. If it still doesn't work I use honey.

But I've been doing that a lot the last few days. Should I reduce again?
 
Okay! I usually do the same thing. I often use the dry food first because she LOVES it and now she's on wet food so she misses the dry and rushes to eat it. But if she doesn't go up fast enough I give her the high carb gravy + dry food available. If it still doesn't work I use honey.

But I've been doing that a lot the last few days. Should I reduce again?
She technically didn't earn a reduction because she didn't go under 50, but she probably would have without the HC food. The more you can get her to stay in numbers under 100, the better , so that said, I would hold this dose and see if you can't get her to surf in green numbers for longer periods of time. If she had not come up easily for you, then a reduction would be in order. Hopefully she is surfing into the PMPS tonight. :D
 
Flat cat is flat! :smuggrin:

C766FAE9-5E99-4890-B7D1-12EC1EDAD203.jpeg
 
@Stacy & Asia haha!

Thanks for your advice @Bobbie And Bubba ! :)

The question I have is for Monday. Since Thursday, I've had to come home during the day (at recess, I'm a teacher), to give Nam-kha high carb food. So because I was late coming back to school, the principal stayed in my class for 5-10 minutes. But obviously, it's not something I can do often!

So what can I do? We still have time to decide, but it would be great to reduce before Monday so that I wouldn't have to worry and come home during the day!
 
I understand about not making the principal your teacher's aid :eek: Well, she is having a great cycle today and has stayed in the greens for the longest time yet. You could reduce her tomorrow morning if you are worried about Monday. That would give the depot 2 cycles to drain for Monday. If you can monitor her tonight , I would hold the dose.
 
Great! We can try and if it's not working I'll go back to 0.25. For tonight, I can give her 0.25 and monitor.

She's at 139 pre shot, it's higher than expected BUT, I forgot to take away the dry food I gave her this morning and she ate everything this afternoon. I completely forgot about her plate of dry food, I keep it high on her scratching post because my other cat is too... lazy to jump that high. So maybe it's just the food that brings her back in the 100s.
 
Great! We can try and if it's not working I'll go back to 0.25. For tonight, I can give her 0.25 and monitor.

She's at 139 pre shot, it's higher than expected BUT, I forgot to take away the dry food I gave her this morning and she ate everything this afternoon. I completely forgot about her plate of dry food, I keep it high on her scratching post because my other cat is too... lazy to jump that high. So maybe it's just the food that brings her back in the 100s.
One thing I forgot to mention. With TR dry food is not supposed to be given. The reasoning is that it takes longer to clear than wet food. So, with all the dry she got today, the PMPS could be propped up some from the dry food and you are correct in your thinking that it affected the PMPS tonight. So, please be vigilant with testing tonight.

She is looking really good Cyndy! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top