? 04/28 Furball +10.75=267 AMPS=250 +3.5=297 +6=308 PMPS=289 B12? Pictures

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...10-193-pmps-217-9-75-255-pmps-272-b12.194752/

Furball was happy & purry this morning. I hope she slides down today.

Simba's mouth is bothering her, but she did eat a little bit of breakfast and drink most of her milk with the remedy in it. I'm going to try giving her B-12 shots. I asked last night, but for those who didn't see and give B-12, how much do you give and how often? Thanks for any help.
 
Good morning, Carla. I hope Furball finds :cool: today and that Simba will feel better this morning.

Azalea, when in the 6 pound weight range, was on 0.25cc B12 (cyanocobalamin) once weekly.

Weekend and feel better vines for you and your clowder, one and all :bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:❤️
 
I give the methylcobalamin B12, so I’m sure it’s different, but Asia is 10 pounds and I give her .5 mL once every other week. Asia has had the other B12 injections in the past and they were once a week, but I don’t recall the amount (they were prefilled for me by the vet).

I hope Furball shows you what she’s up to today and I’m glad Simba is eating a little bit and drinking her remedies. More vines for sweet Simba. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope Furball comes down for you today!

I think about Simba often. Sending heaps of healing vines.:bighug: Do you have a pic of Simba to share? I'd love to see her
 
Carla, I don't have any experience with injectable B-12. How about putting a ? mark in you title with B-12 to get some eyes on it. I am glad Simba got her remedies and hopefully she will feel better and start to eat some more.

Hope Furball comes down for you.
 
So glad for you and your fur babies that it is the weekend , Carla :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: And I would love to see a pic of Miss Simba too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
http://www.felinecrf.org/vitamin_b.htm#methylcobalamin_injectable

Vitamin B12 Injectable

Injectable vitamin B12 is only available via prescription in the USA, but is an over the counter product in the UK and Canada. See below for stockists, including a US supplier of injectable methylcobalamin.

Unlike vitamin B complex, injectable vitamin B12 (which is a pinky red colour) does not sting, so some people give this to their cats during or immediately after sub-Qs.

The US National Library of Medicine mentions that many injectable forms of vitamin B12 in the form of cyanocobalamin "contain aluminum that may be toxic. Aluminum may reach toxic levels with prolonged parenteral administration if kidney function is impaired." If you are only using the injectable form occasionally, it is probably safe but discuss this further with your vet. The Anivit injectable B12 available in the UK is aluminium-free. Injectable methylcobalamin apparently does not contain aluminium (the version I know of is preserved with methyl alcohol).

If you do use an injectable form of vitamin B12, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend discarding multi-dose vials within 28 days of starting them.

Vitamin B12 Injectable Dosages

Doses are lower than for oral administration because less is wasted when the injectable form is used.

A commonly used dose for injectable cyanocobalamin is 250-500mcg every week or every two weeks. Drugs recommends 0.25 to 0.5 ml of the 1000mcg/1ml concentration (so 250-500mcg), every 1-2 weeks as required

Although it is more bioavailable than cyanocobalamin, I understand from those who have used injectable methylcobalamin that the dosage is the same, i.e. 0.25ml of the 1000mcg/ml strength (which is 250mcg), but it is normally only given every 2-4 weeks, although some members of Tanya's Support Group give it more often. Be guided by your vet on the best protocol for your cat.
 
I give the methylcobalamin B12, so I’m sure it’s different, but Asia is 10 pounds and I give her .5 mL once every other week. Asia has had the other B12 injections in the past and they were once a week, but I don’t recall the amount (they were prefilled for me by the vet).

I hope Furball shows you what she’s up to today and I’m glad Simba is eating a little bit and drinking her remedies. More vines for sweet Simba. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I agree with the dose but would give weekly. What isn’t absorbed will be peed out. I hope it helps. :bighug:
 
Vitamin B12 and Cancer
It may be wiser not to give vitamin B12 to a cat with cancer because cancer cells rely on vitamin B12 for growth In Purina Pro Club Update (2013) 12(1) Dr Sysel of the Bauer Research Foundation states "Vitamin B12 is important in DNA synthesis, as cells cannot divide without it. Rapidly growing tumors that are actively dividing have an especially high demand for vitamin B12. Tumor cells produce TCII [transcobalamin, a protein which moves vitamin B12 through the bloodstream] to obtain all the vitamin B12 they can."



However, if you are dealing with lymphoma, the University of Penn School of Veterinary Medicine is researching whether cats with lymphoma have a vitamin B12 deficiency (which is quite possible, because lymphoma may reduce vitamin B12 absorption in the intestines), and if they do, they plan to offer supplemental treatment to address the deficiency.



Researchers are also looking into whether they can use cancer cells' need for vitamin B12 to target cancer.Purina Pro Club Update (2013) 12(1) reports on a "vitamin B12-based anticancer drug, nitrosylcobalamin (NOCbl)", which is being evaluated to determine "whether it can be used to treat a variety of feline and canine tumors." One study, A stability-indicating HPLC method for the determination of nitrosylcobalamin (NO-Cbl), a novel Vitamin B12 analog(2014) Dunphy MJ, Sysel AM, Lupica JA, Griffith K, Sherrod T & Bauer JA Chromatographia 77(7-8) pp 581-589 reports further on the use of nitrosylcobalamin "as a biologic ‘Trojan horse’, utilizing the vitamin B12 transcobalamin II transport protein and cell surface receptor to specifically target cancer cells."
 
I can't get picture upload to work.
 

Attachments

  • Simba.jpg
    Simba.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 75
  • Simba Lion Cut.jpg
    Simba Lion Cut.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 86
Hey, all.

Here’s a link to a 2016 fdmb thread on the b12 subject. Adding the link here for easier reference to links posted earlier and above.

The 2016 thread includes lots of information including the reason why the member made an inquiry to Helen of Tanya’s site, and Helen’s reply:
“... ‘I am concerned to hear that people on the diabetes forum are avoiding VitaminB12 because of what I say on my site. Whilst it may be wiser not to give it to a cat with cancer, the benefits for a diabetic or CKD cat without cancer, especially those with neuropathy, probably outweigh the small potential risk that the cat might have undiagnosed cancer. Indeed, cats with lymphoma may actually require additional Vitamin B12. Ultimately this is a conversation people need to have with their vets.’”....

I hope this gives some measure of relief for those of us (including me) who have considered, have used, or are using B12 for similar reasons. ❤️

I’m also wondering if the 2016 fdmb thread also might be a good place toupdate/share additional links to information, studies, etc. on the subject.Yes?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/b12-supplementation-in-cats-with-possible-cancer.155009/

Also a link to another report/study bySysel, Valli and Bauer who I think are the ones doing the NO-Cbl studies. This study goes back to 2013/2014
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4385855/

Hope this is of interest and helps.
Heaps of feel better vines for all.❤️
a6363c96-99bc-4629-9915-abd0fa52fd3b-jpeg.35834
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top