04/28 Eddie AMPS 371 +8 398 PMPS 326 +8 338

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jodey&Eddie&Blue, Apr 28, 2024.

  1. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What do you think? Are you happy with nadirs in the yellows? I'd do a 2 unit increase if you decide you need one. Increases should be 10-15% of the size of the total dose.
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  5. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Well, I'm torn. I'd like to see Eddie at least in the low yellow or high blue. I'm torn because of 1) wanting to keep Eddie safe (like I concerned about him ending in Emerg with that overly high BG, which has happened a couple of times in the past) and what the WSU endocrinologist vet said (which I posted earlier): "I’m sort of out of ideas, but to be honest, I am not at all bothered with the numbers and the fact that he is maintaining his weight makes me really happy. I agree with the insulin adjustments that have been made this month – it looks fine to me! I would honestly probably stay the course for now with what you are currently doing and I am ok with those insulin adjustments. I think getting a dental would be great and June isn’t too far off. I think you are doing really well! Kudos!!"

    Like I can't figure out why she would not be bothered with the high numbers.
     
  6. Rainbow Conti

    Rainbow Conti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    :bighug:

    I agree I don't understand vet responses sometimes. :bighug::bighug:
     
  7. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Also, look at this AM +8
    And she's an IM specialist at a veterinary teaching hospital...:confused:
     
    Rainbow Conti likes this.
  8. Rainbow Conti

    Rainbow Conti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    That's nuts! I mean I agree with her and I am glad he is "ok" but the numbers indicate differently.

    I think if you can be around to monitor I'd increase personally. His numbers don't look much different. I will say though I have no experience with levimer though and you increased 3 days ago. You know Eddie best go with your gut!;):bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The higher the nadirs, the higher the highest numbers. Depends how much time you want him below renal threshold. For Neko, that meant nadirs in the 70-80 range on a human meter. Each cat is different. But if you look at Eddie's SS, the higher numbers go away if he spends more time in those low blues.

    The IM vet at Colorado State University, also a teaching hospital, suggested I take reductions when Neko went under 70, (human meter), but was OK with her that low. EVID. Each vet is different.

    If it is IAA causing the higher numbers, the way to treat IAA is to show it normal BG numbers - otherwise you'll end up and up and up.
     
  10. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So, really, then an increase of 2u is appropriate. I’m home tomorrow, all day.
     
  11. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So, in spite of Mirtazapine and making a catfood smoothie, we had another bout of syringe wars. I've increased and I feel awful, like somehow I've failed Eddie with each increase.
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
    You haven't failed Eddie. There's just only so much that we as caregivers can do. At some point Eddie's body has to do the rest.
     
  13. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thanks, Wendy. I needed that. :cat:
     

Share This Page