04/28 Eddie AMPS 234 +3 196 PMPS 448 +2 320 (Let's Bounce!)

Update: I just spoke with Dr. Genevieve Hammond, the radiation oncologist from VCA Victoria and she delivered the news that Eddie's CT looks great. She thinks whatever is on the image is scar tissue not tumour regrowth. She did a comparison with his last imaging and she's said, "I'm really pleased". She said keep her informed and we can revisit any treatment requirements in six months. She said don't bother with an IGF-1.

I am so relieved. I asked about the DM/insulin dance and she said Eddie has such a complex history that what's best for him is to keep him regulated. She does not believe his insulin requirements have to do with acromegaly.

I was totally expecting something else. Did I say I am so relieved?

I am.
 
I'm glad you are happy the results. :bighug: Sounds like I good result, I think? Did she say the tumour was smaller? Not sure what "really great" means. I've already said this before, but not sure I'd revisit treatment in six months. Poor boy has been through a lot and SRT can take 2-3 years to work, so six months is too soon. Plus I'm not sure another CT and anaesthesia with no news is what his body needs.

I'm glad she confirmed the no IGF-1, that would be a waste of money. And I also agree with her on insulin. Give him what he needs, he does have more than the acro tumour in play and increase in dose does not necessarily mean tumour regrowth. Acromegaly may have a role, but it's not a solo act. He's a complex boy.
 
I'm glad you are happy the results. :bighug: Sounds like I good result, I think? Did she say the tumour was smaller? Not sure what "really great" means.
"Really great" means she sees scar tissue, not regrowth.

I've already said this before, but not sure I'd revisit treatment in six months.
Not so much about treatment. My word to describe keeping in touch. What she means is that should Eddie require treatment in the future, at all, it would require an anesthesiologist, not just a vet giving sedation via injection. This is not a requirement--the six month discussion. It's just a reasonable timeline to speak with her again. She's not rushing into anything: procedures, scans, treatment, nothing.

Poor boy has been through a lot and SRT can take 2-3 years to work, so six months is too soon. Plus I'm not sure another CT and anaesthesia with no news is what his body needs.
Please see above.

I'm glad she confirmed the no IGF-1, that would be a waste of money. And I also agree with her on insulin. Give him what he needs, he does have more than the acro tumour in play and increase in dose does not necessarily mean tumour regrowth. Acromegaly may have a role, but it's not a solo act. He's a complex boy.
She feels the tumour is on its way out the door, so to speak. Eddie's response to SRT is different, to be sure, from Blue's. In fact, Blue had only one fraction/session of SRT in Calgary whereas Eddie had three, meaning they really wanted precision. Eddie is a complex boy! :cat:

All I know is I'm relieved. Eddie's sleeping in the sun on his tower. All's right with the world at the moment. I'll take it.
 
I'm just curious what scarring looks like compared to regrowth. Science geek here. This was Neko, before 1st SRT on the left, 3 and a bit years later on the right. Crescent shaped mottled gray thing above the black rectangle was the tumour. Clearly smaller in the right hand picture.
ctscan - 1.jpeg


ECID, even between brothers.
 

Attachments

  • ctscan - 1.jpeg
    ctscan - 1.jpeg
    80 KB · Views: 201
I'm just curious what scarring looks like compared to regrowth. Science geek here. This was Neko, before 1st SRT on the left, 3 and a bit years later on the right. Crescent shaped mottled gray thing above the black rectangle was the tumour. Clearly smaller in the right hand picture.
View attachment 64156

ECID, even between brothers.
I don't have the images at hand but the radiation oncologist interpreted both scans (before and now). She said not only is the area smaller but she cannot discern any regrowth.
 
I am cheering for Eddie here! :bighug::bighug::bighug:And I am impressed that you were given a report that was in plain English, unlike when I had an US done and the report I was given by the radiologist vet was in such scientific terms I could not understand it:confused: I am not a science nerd obviously LOL:rolleyes:

Cheers for a good scan and cheers for the 5 P's in Eddie's Today!!! :cool:
 
Back
Top