04/28 bailey uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

Hi Anna, that number is still in the blues on a human meter but the first time shooting low is always scary. Is there anyway you can hold off, WITHOUT FEEDING, and test again in 1/2 hour? If his number is rising or steady you should be OK to shoot. I'll be here in 1/2 hour if you do that.
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

oh heck,ive just fed him as its dinner time shot time.now what do I do :-( also just tested after hes eaten.like straight after hes eaten and its 148.its all good him being lower but now its scary. and im at work for 8 hours without being able to come home from +4 (well his normal +4)to check on him. im really unsettled about giving him it.
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

Next time this happens, take a look at the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky. Don't be too hard on yourself, almost everyone feeds the first time they get a low number.

Since Bailey is still going lower, your options are to skip the shot or give a greatly reduced shot like maybe half a dose. If you can't monitor for the next several hours, skipping might be your best option. He will be high by next PS, but the one bonus of higher dose kitties is that they can take a skip better than lower dose kitties. What do you feel like doing?
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

I think I feel better skipping this dose or may even give it him at +4 when I go to work if his numbers have risen.his food will have gone down by then wont it? if I don't give him his shot does that then mean we'll be waiting days for his depot to build up again? gosh im glad ive got you guys.who the heck else would I turn to at 1.30am in the morning!???
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

If you give him his food now and nothing after +14 (two hours before your proposed new time), food should not be a factor. If you shoot at +16 (PS+4), can you do the next shot 12 hours after that? You can move his schedule back 1/2 hour a day or 15 minutes a cycle until you are back on time if you prefer to stick to your current schedule for PS. Moving his shot time would probably be best for his depot, but like I said, larger dose cats recover faster from a skip. I did that lots of times with fur shots. :oops:

BTW: It's just after 5:30 on a sunny Sunday afternoon here. :-D
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

yes I can as i go to work at 5am so will be up at 4am.(its now 1.45am here) I can test then and give him his shot.so food wont be a factor then at +15 ? im then home 12 hours after that and tomorrow im off so can start to bring the time back by half hour each time.well I never thought hed go that low.jst shows what a difference a dose can make!
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

As long as he hasn't had food for 2 hours before his test, you are good to shoot. This dose sure is looking good. :-D Just wish he'd get these pretty numbers when you can be home to monitor some more.
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

p.s depending on how high he is at +16 I may skip this dose then.il be rushing off to work later but il post when I get home but for now its zzzzzzzzzzzzzz time seeing as ive only had 2 hours and have to be up again in 2 hours.jeez!
 
Re: 04/28 baile uk HELP!! pmps 164 on ATrak.do i hold shot?

anna and bailey.uk england said:
im then home 12 hours after that and tomorrow im off so can start to bring the time back by half hour each time.
Normally, depending upon the numbers, we only recommend moving the shot schedule by a half hour each day. So, either 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes per 24 hours.
An early shot acts like a dose increase, and shooting more than 30 minutes early per day can affect his BGs more than you may want.
 
just a quick email to let you know.ive skipped the dose especially if im in work for the next 8 hours without being able to come home (which doesn't happen often at all thank goodness) .off to work now!
 
im home from work and have injected bailey with 8.5u.. I have to say I didn't think for one minute wed be worrying already about low numbers.that came round real quick!! if id been at home or on my usually shift I perhaps would have waited a couple of hors to see what was happening but I couldn't get home to check him so to be on the safe side.i skipped the dose.thanks wendy for your support last night.i didn't know what to do.lets just hope his little depot builds up quickly again. hes seems perky enough today :-D
 
Hi guys .. well sometimes the motto is better safe then sorry! You had to do what you felt comfortable doing and fingers crossed bailey keeps cruising in these nice numbers!
 
will his numbers be high now until his depot builds up again?

it was a real tough call but idve been worrying myself sick for those 8 hours I was gone as I don't know what his body does in these low numbers as weve not experienced them before so yes better safe than sorry.just such a shame were back to square one when we were doing so very well :-(
 
Bailey's numbers will start to come down again. You should be starting to see better numbers in 2-3 cycles time. In the mean time, catch up on your sleep!
 
i'm glad Wendy was here to help you, anna!

sometimes skipping is the thing to do. Once you've got experience shooting lower numbers and you have confidence about how he'll respond, then it will be easier. since you've had that happen once, it will happen again. so it would be good to have a plan for how to handle it next time.

do you have a way to get him food while you are at work? a timed feeder? catsickles of frozen cat food (both low carb and high carb) in the freezer that you could leave out for him?

Food is our first intervention tool when a cat's blood sugar goes low - so you want to have some way to get food to him. if he will graze you might be able to just leave out food as long as you can be certain he'll get it.

if you want to try the catsickles, make sure that he'll eat them after they stop being frozen solid now, before you need to leave them and go to work. same thing if you want to try a timed feeder - try it out now. i fed punkin from the timed feeder for several days while I was home, before we were going to need it, so that i was sure he would eat from it while i was gone.

if I were you, i'd "save a strip" now while he's high and test a little less often until you see him coming down. you don't have to test every 2 hours all day and night.
 
thanks Julie,thats good to know about the testing.

ive got a feeder and he will use it but im lucky because hes a grazer anyway and just comes back for food throughout the day.he never just eats everything that's down so while im at work he'll eat.it was just a little scary and I panicked not knowing what to do and all. nailbite_smile if idve been able to stay up with him idve just kept testing til I knew he was going up but I had 2 hours before work and id only had an hour and a half sleep so idve been fit for nothing and no use to my little guy!

these things are sent to try us :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top