04/27 Skipper AMPS 509

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerb

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69552

Beginning the Start Low Go Slow protocol today. I gave him 2 units this morning. I did have some success with getting him to eat some wet food! I had a can of Blue Wilderness turkey, and put some of the gravy from it onto his dry DM food. He ate that pretty heartily then went to eat the wet food on his own! He kept it down over the next 3 hours, so hopefully he'll keep it down all day. He has trouble with some poultry. I did look over the canned food spreadsheets again and found a couple other foods that are low in phosphorus and carbs, so I feel like I have a few options.

MANY THANKS to Julie and Pumpkin for your help the past few days. I am feeling more encouraged. I really have nothing to lose by trying this protocol. My husband is also on board. I've been working with a swim coach after work 2 days a week for the past couple weeks, so my husband had to do the evening routine alone.I'm very glad I got him involved in this care because it has taken some of the pressure off of me, and he is much more invested in Skipper's outcome now than he was before. And now I feel better about leaving for a weekend in a few weeks. Also, I found out that my neighbor across the street is a veterinarian, so she offered her help whenever needed.
 
aw, you're welcome. i think having learned that you're not going to change doses like you did with prozinc, combined with working on the food and having a dosing protocol to follow - skipper will get there.

i know how discouraging the beginning parts are - there is a lot to learn. one foot in front of the other and you'll get there. :YMHUG:
 
Great news about your husband lending a hand and having a VERY qualified neighbor as a back-up.

I'd like to offer two thoughts. First, I think you will have much greater insight into what's going on with Skipper if you can get at least two additional tests. If you are able to get a spot check each cycle, in addition to your pre-shot tests, it will let you know what's going on and be able to make better informed decisions regarding dose. While I know this sounds impossible, cats can go from a number in the 400 - 500s at pre-shot to a number in the 40s mid-cycle and spike back up to the high numbers by the next pre-shot. If all you see are the pre-shot numbers, you would increase the dose. However, if you know what the mid-cycle number was, you'd be decreasing the dose. Getting tests before you leave the house, when you walk in the door, before you go to bed, etc. help to fill in the gaps and give you a much better picture of what's going on.

Is there any way to transition Skipper off of dry food? It could make a huge difference. Also, in case you weren't aware, the Wellness Core in the fishy flavor is not low carb -- it's 13% (more medium carb than low). The poultry flavor is 8%. This food list has some of the newer foods than what's on Janet & Binky's list.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I have that spreadsheet of foods. The problem is, Skipper has a very delicate belly. He vomits any beef, liver or organ meat almost immediately after eating it. So any wet food with liver, beef or organ meat is automatically out. And, my other cat is allergic to chicken, so I tend to stay away from that since she sometimes finishes what Skipper leaves, and then I'd have two vomiting cats. :( They both throw up any of the EVO foods. Believe me, I've tried nearly everything out there and have cleaned up a lot of cat vomit. :mrgreen: We have three bottles of Nature's Miracle at home.

I'm going to see if he'll stick with the Blue Wilderness Turkey or Salmon, since he's eaten that before. I'll also try a couple of the low carb-low phosphorus Merrick foods.

I am not home during the weekdays so I can't get a midday test until the weekends. But I will do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top