Heather and Jasper
Active Member
Jasper has been vomiting since Sunday, starting with food then vile, and this morning there was a puddle of bloody vomit.
He had a trip to the vet yesterday. (had dental scheduled for prevention, i canceled that due to vomiting and just wanted him checked out.) the vet took his temperature (38C, 100.4F) and said he was 1/2 of a degree (C)too low and gave him a shot to raise his temperature and two other shots to make him feel better (not sure what they were, German Vets aren't really great with sharing names of meds, as much as I love Herr Dr, really frustrating)
On Sunday his BG jumped from an ambg of 108 to 245 after a day of a day of vomiting.
Jasper has been turning his nose up at all of his favorite foods, (yogurt, milk, FF, roasted chicken)
I haven't gotten a ketone check in yet (never been positive, need to buy more strips, all I have are 2 years old and I haven't caught him in the litter box yet today)
I asked for a X-ray yesterday but didn't get one, I'm going to ask for another one today.
He's never had a history of CP before, I"m going to see if we can get a test for it done today.
I'm taking him back to the vet when they open in 40 minutes
***Update, back from vet***
X-Rays show the lining of the stomach are inflamed, the vet I saw today feels thats the cause for the bloody vomit today.
She thinks he might be having problems with his kidneys, took blood for BW, we'll get the results back from that on Thursday.
He got another shot for pain today. If he doesn't start eating on his own by this evening, then I'm going to start with syringe feeding
poor guy is now meatloafing on my lap purring
He had a trip to the vet yesterday. (had dental scheduled for prevention, i canceled that due to vomiting and just wanted him checked out.) the vet took his temperature (38C, 100.4F) and said he was 1/2 of a degree (C)too low and gave him a shot to raise his temperature and two other shots to make him feel better (not sure what they were, German Vets aren't really great with sharing names of meds, as much as I love Herr Dr, really frustrating)
On Sunday his BG jumped from an ambg of 108 to 245 after a day of a day of vomiting.
Jasper has been turning his nose up at all of his favorite foods, (yogurt, milk, FF, roasted chicken)
I haven't gotten a ketone check in yet (never been positive, need to buy more strips, all I have are 2 years old and I haven't caught him in the litter box yet today)
I asked for a X-ray yesterday but didn't get one, I'm going to ask for another one today.
He's never had a history of CP before, I"m going to see if we can get a test for it done today.
I'm taking him back to the vet when they open in 40 minutes
***Update, back from vet***
X-Rays show the lining of the stomach are inflamed, the vet I saw today feels thats the cause for the bloody vomit today.
She thinks he might be having problems with his kidneys, took blood for BW, we'll get the results back from that on Thursday.
He got another shot for pain today. If he doesn't start eating on his own by this evening, then I'm going to start with syringe feeding

poor guy is now meatloafing on my lap purring