04/27 bailey uk amps 304 + 3 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117837

I think it was new dose wonkiness yesterday.he was high last night and I could tell he was feeling those high numbers cos he was lethargic and drinking a lot again.just miserable really but hes come round abit since I got in from work. his little legs are still bad. I so hope now his numbers are lowering that they start to heal.
I give him zobaline daily in the hope that it helps!
 
Hi Anna. So glad to see Bailey improving (number's wise). We just had a vet visit last weekend and she mentioned that kitties can't absorb B12 in pill form. Ah,that was news to us. I wonder if many on this board would agree with that statement or instead would quote research to the contrary. We've been giving Zeke Zobaline daily (in pill form) since his dx. Zeke wasn't walking on his hocks but we had noticed that he was having difficulty jumping, walking (needing to lay down every few steps to rest) and turning (instead of turning while standing up, he would lay down and use his front paws to turn/slide his body to the direction he wanted). Well his neuropathy is gone now, with no hint of any lingering issues. I must say that soon after diagnosis, we did have our vet give Zeke a B12 injection. So we can't really confirm or dispute the benefit of the Zobaline as there's no way of knowing if the reversal of the neuropathy was due purely to the reduced toxicity as a result of the lower BGs now as opposed to then (which is what our vet suggested) or perhaps may have also been impacted by the Zobaline. Regardless, perhaps a B12 shot might provide some immediate help, maybe reduce the severity of his symptons some. Have you considered or tried this?

Well, I'm sure once Bailey's BGs start to come down and you're able to get him in healthy BG numbers for longer periods of time, you'll see some improvement. I know it's hard to see him effected so now but keep the faith - he'll get better.

Hugs to you and keep up the great work you're doing with Bailey.
 
Vitamin B-12 injections can work wonders for preventing/treating pancreatitis too. When punkin had a bout of pancreatitis, we started out with once a week injections for a few weeks, then gradually worked them out (per vet's schedule) to once a month. My understanding from both Dyana and Marje is that the form of B-12 in injections is different than the oral Zobaline. It might be that cats react differently to the Zobaline because I have heard a number of people say that it resolved their cat's neuropathy.

I saw your response in yesterday's condo about the click of the lancet. I'm wondering if trying to desensitize him to that click so that you can use a device would enable you to get a bigger bead of blood. Some people will just randomly click the device nearer and nearer to the cat's ear to desensitize them. Start out across the room, and when Bailey doesn't react to that noise, move it gradually closer, each time waiting until he isn't reacting to the sound before you move it closer. we started out just clicking around punkin's head, but he wasn't a nervous cat and never did react to it. i'm only suggesting this because of the trick with the device cap that helps you get more blood to well up.

for today's math . . . 284 AT = 170-198 (60%-70%) human meter. Wendy's right - i love math! :-D

so enjoy that blue surf today, mr bailey!
 
thanks for working that out Julie.weve also just got an even lower 247 :-D (which if I do my maths and im poop at it makes him about 148 on the human metre right?) at least its made him hungry and want his tea .he goes off his food when hes in the reds and pinks!
il try that lancet thing but hes scared of EVERYTHING.i cant even put the extractor fan on in this house as he runs and hides under the bed,his tail like a yard brush :roll:
it seems to be taking a day for each new dose to settle each time,which surely means il have to hold each cycle slightly longer!

edited to say,hes going in the vets sat morning and is having a B12 injection.i do hope this helps him!
 
i love to hear that Bailey has tea! i think we lost something very valuable (tea time) when we gained independence from Britain! what a shame! :-D everyone should sit down with a couple of cookies and a cup in the afternoon and the world would be a better place.

looking good mr bailey! keep up that blue surf, little guy!

Blue-cat1.jpg
 
haha good old tea.we may have supper later ;-) hes doing good tonight :-D.were off to bed as I have a 5am start in work tomorrow.eurgh! so bed for us,then im up for pmps in 3 hours. I wont be able to test from +4 til amps.(I worry all the time) if I didn't work life would be sooooooo much easier!! without work I couldn't afford to help my boy get right so I shouldn't complain!
 
WUHOOOOOOOOO! weve got a blue on the ALPHATRAK at last!!!!!! its been weeks but weve done it! I could cry to see that colour and yet really its even lower due to the alpha being higher! goooooooo Bailey!!!!
only now im bloomin worried as hes gone lower throughout the day.do I still give him his amps at the normal time if he goes lower than he is cos really that last shot on a human metre was around 102.
so much for having a snooze :roll:
 
Woot!!!! That's awesome!!! Way to go, Bailey!!

She my parents, sister and I went to London several years ago, we had tea (at Harrod's, I think). It was nice...a time to just sit back and relax in the afternoon. I agree with Julie, we are definitely missing out on that over here!
 
164? Bailey got to 164????
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif


Well done, anna!!! That's dipping his toes into normal numbers! i think that's somewhere roughly 98-115ish on the human meters. Go Bailey!

I think i've only used 12 exclamation points so far, so i need a few more to show my enthusiasm!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D

What did you end up shooting tonight? the cell is empty on his spreadsheet. I see the 263 at +4 - it would be normal for him to bounce when he's not used to these super numbers.

Time to slow down on the increases. See ya tomorrow after work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top