04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +5 47 +5.5 86 +6.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Morning!

Well Lucy has decided that she has had enough of the green lagoon! She has had a run of blues, with a green pre-shot # last night just for fun! ohmygod_smile

Her appetite was better this morning, perhaps due to the decent sized hairball she left for me beside the bed :?

Here is yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69519

Hope all is well for others, sending healing thougths and strength to those who need it!

Val
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy AMPS 112

Hi guys .. she's still close enough to the lagoon to dip some toes in it today! How sweet, a nice hairball gift :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112

Thanks all!

Yes, Lucy was quite proud of the gift she left for her mama! :shock:

She seems her old self tonight again. We are heading in the right direction! Thanks for all the awesome support that we get here!
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

wow val - what a change in lucy's ss in the past few days!

i see one 47 on her ss - are you comfy handling low numbers, have the information, or do you need some coaching? i'm just guessing if she's at 52 +2, you're headed for some lower numbers tonight.

do you need help?
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

and i'll just add - you're going to want to shift to checking her every 30 minutes now. if she drops below 50, a teaspoon of the gravy from the high carb canned food, or one drop of karo, and then recheck in 20-30 minutes. your goal is to keep her above 50 using the minimum carbs needed to keep her there.

ie, don't do what i've done, plop down 1/2 can of high carbs and watch them hit 200 in no time! :lol:
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

julie & punkin said:
wow val - what a change in lucy's ss in the past few days!

i see one 47 on her ss - are you comfy handling low numbers, have the information, or do you need some coaching? i'm just guessing if she's at 52 +2, you're headed for some lower numbers tonight.

do you need help?

Hi Julie!

It has been a quick change for Lucy! I'm not super comfy handling low numbers, especially at night time! I would love some help thanks!

I just tested her, at +3.5, she is down to 41. I gave her about 1tbsp of her regular food...should it have been HC? She isn't showing any hypo symptoms, in fact she is behaving like her old self!
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

if she goes below 50, you give a teaspoon of high carb gravy (not food) because we don't want to fill her up and have her refuse food later if we need to keep it up for awhile.

so just give her a teaspoon now, or a drop of karo, either is ok. then retest in 20-30 minutes.
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

ohmygod_smile ok, well she ate the food, i snuck a drop of maple syrup on it...she was hungry lol I will re-test in 20 min and let you know.
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52

looking great! :mrgreen:

wait 20-30 minutes and repeat. we fondly call this "lather, rinse, repeat." :lol: it only takes one round til ya feel like an expert! ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47

from the yellow starred sticky above - just wanted to make sure you have the complete instructions, not just the cliff/spark notes:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Janet & Binky's Food Chart for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47

Sienne and Gabby said:
Great job! Lucy has earned a dose reduction tonight!!
Yahooo! Lucy is thrilled!

Just tested at 4.5....she is at ~55 (3.1 here in Canada!)
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

She is at 47 at +5

Gave her a teeny bit of LC and maple syrup...she is starving! Can I feed her more? Or should I wait till she tests over 50?
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

hi val! just wanting to let you know that marje & patty are going to be keeping an eye out to see if you need any help tonight. my son is here and i want to go pay attention to him.

tell lucy she's doing great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

julie & punkin said:
hi val! just wanting to let you know that marje & patty are going to be keeping an eye out to see if you need any help tonight. my son is here and i want to go pay attention to him.

tell lucy she's doing great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

OK! Thanks Julie! Lucy is not amused by the extra poking, but she likes the midnight snacks and the extra cuddles! I keep telling her it will all be worth it soon! :lol:

Enjoy your time with your son!
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

More HC, please. At this point, Lucy has earned the reduction. You just need to bump her numbers into the 50s or preferably, the 60s so you have some room to maneuver.

Remember, as the HC wears off, numbers can wobble around or even drop. So, keep testing every 30 min. until you see a surf or a steady rise.
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

Hi Val

If she's hungry,myou can feed her a small amount (tsp) after you test..you don't want her getting full. We also want to be sure you get two rising, non food influenced numbers before you can think about bed time although you can nap. It usually takes about two hours for the HC to wear off so you want to be sure you are past that time and have the riding numbers.

As Julie said, lather, rinse, repeat if she's below 40. I'll be here for your next test. Keep testing every 30 mins until shes up in the 80s. k?
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +1 112 +2 52 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +

I'd give her 30 mins from when she ate so the food has a chance to work on her numbers......
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +5 47 +5.5 86

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'd give her 30 mins from when she ate so the food has a chance to work on her numbers......

I fed her about 15 min before I posted...she was begging to eat after her +5 test!

Just tested at +5.5 and she is up to 86!
 
Re: 04/26 Lucy PMPS 97 +3.5 41 +4 47 +4.5 ~55 +5 47 +5.5 86

Great! Why don't you give her an hour and take a quick nap? I'll be here in an hour to check on you all.
 
It's great! I'd probably test in an hor and make sure she is coming up.

Are you ok if she slides back down or should I stay up another hour? Nim happy to...I will at least be up 30 mins.
 
Marjorie, I am confident with her numbers now! I am ok if you need to sleep. Thank you so much for your help! Lucy also thanks you, even though I have disturbed her more than normal tonight! :-D
 
Ok? You did great tonight! Remember she gets a .25u reduction in the morning. IF her numbers shoot way up in a bounce, you can shoot tonight's dose once...we call that shooting through the bounce to help numbers not get quite so high. But then you would need to take the reduction tomorrow night. If she does not go up, then reduce her dose in the morning. Sound ok?
 
Sounds excellent! Thank you again for all of your help and support! Hopefully you can get some rest, as I see there are a couple of us that you are watching tonight!

See you in the morning! (ok, just later in the morning)
 
You are very welcome. I'm more than happy to help! I can always sleep in between tests when I'm helping someone but Miss Lucy is doing great. Remember she "could" possibly turn around so best to stay vigilant until she's up.

Good night! Hope you get some sleepus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top