04/25 Hugo AMPS 337, +3 40, +3.15 54, +4 76, 419 +7 - PMPS 283, +1.5 81, + 2.5 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone! This morning I shot the reduced dose of 1 unit for the third time, at 7am, and went back to bed. At 10am I woke up and measured and he was at 40. With a teaspoon of HC wet , I got him up to 54. I gave two teaspoons of 0% chicken and now he is at 76. I think this low one is a combination of him not eating enough at shot time and me oversleeping, when I should have measured a +2 and fed then. So no reduction yet? He hasn't been on this dose for long enough, has he, to say what this dose can do to him?

I don't think he has gone for another loose stool since yesterday, but I'm not totally sure. He seems a bit better though. :)
 
Hi everyone! This morning I shot the reduced dose of 1 unit for the third time, at 7am, and went back to bed. At 10am I woke up and measured and he was at 40. With a teaspoon of HC wet , I got him up to 54. I gave two teaspoons of 0% chicken and now he is at 76. I think this low one is a combination of him not eating enough at shot time and me oversleeping, when I should have measured a +2 and fed then. So no reduction yet? He hasn't been on this dose for long enough, has he, to say what this dose can do to him?

I don't think he has gone for another loose stool since yesterday, but I'm not totally sure. He seems a bit better though. :)

On TR, isn't a 40 an immediate reduction of 0.25u?
 
On TR, isn't a 40 an immediate reduction of 0.25u?
I'm not sure, I'm very new with these low ones, but I was just thinking if this was just because I overslept and didn't measure early enough to feed him more LC so he wouldn't have dropped so much. He drops fast but I can't seem to make him surf.
 
Hi Tiina,

The depot from the higher dose might still be in play, but it's marginal.
I think, in light of the tummy problems Hugo is having it might be good to take the reduction (40 is awful close to a thirty something and that would be an immediate).
Hugo hasn't had any problems with DKA or ketones in the past has he?? That would be the only reason that I might consider holding.

Sometimes, cat's can race down the dosing scale, if you don't take the reduction the depot can get ahead of you.



At any rate if you reduce and numbers are high, test for ketones, and if he is trending up you can take him up to the previous dose.
 
Hi Tiina,

The depot from the higher dose might still be in play, but it's marginal.
I think, in light of the tummy problems Hugo is having it might be good to take the reduction (40 is awful close to a thirty something and that would be an immediate).
Hugo hasn't had any problems with DKA or ketones in the past has he?? That would be the only reason that I might consider holding.

Sometimes, cat's can race down the dosing scale, if you don't take the reduction the depot can get ahead of you.



At any rate if you reduce and numbers are high, test for ketones, and if he is trending up you can take him up to the previous dose.
I haven't tested for ketones in a while, but when he was diagnosed his urine showed a slight increase in ketones and I could smell it in his breath very clearly. But I will take the reduction now, perhaps if he bounces a lot can shoot through the bounce again this evening with 1 unit like last time, and reduce in the morning? A 2.2mmol/l is scary low to see first thing when I wake up. But the 7am to 10 am is the longest sleep I get every night, because I stay up and get up often because of Hugo or the other cats. Very tired most of the time...Hopefully this will get easier some day, I envy you whose kitties do those nice flat green surfs. You are lucky! If Hugo gives me amps of 20mmol/l or something and then after three hours is in 2mmol/l, it's so stressful. Wish I could get him to surf in the greens...With the 1.25U he was surfing quite nicely.
 
I know you just reduced, but I think I'd try the reduction. Like Gill said, 40 is awful close to the 30s. You can always go right back up if his numbers start creeping up. I hope Hugo's tummy is doing better. Sending prayers.
Thank you. I think the tummy is better, since there was no diarrhea in the litter box this morning and he didn't race to the box after the HC food I gave this morning. Maybe antibiotics are helping too, and the probiotics. I can't go to a health shop yet, since my car is being repaired and the closest one is 40km away to buy that product...elm bark was it, that was suggested to me yesterday. But that really sounds like something that might work if he takes it. :)
 
Well I can empathise with the lack of sleep!!
George wasn't always Mr flat, but it does get better, and going down the scale means that maybe you will be getting there sooner than you think (anti jinx)
 
It sounds like you have a plan -- shoot through the bounce if the numbers dictate.

You might check with Marje or others for the brand of SEB they use and see if you can order online.
 
Should I feed him or not feed him when he is so high?
Hope Hugo clears the bounce soon.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
If he is high by PMPS shooting through the bounce, like you did the other day might be helpful.
PMPS 283 so I shot the 1 unit. Will be around to monitor so hopefully I can catch a steep drop early if there is one.

About bouncing, I was wondering...When he bounces so high and clears it in a couple of hours, does it mean his pancreas is releasing insulin and that is how his numbers go down? Or just his system clears the excess glucose on its own?
 
Tiina maybe you should get a +1 in just in case he is clearing the bounce, so you can step in early with food if it looks like he is going to drop quickly.
 
Tiina maybe you should get a +1 in just in case he is clearing the bounce, so you can step in early with food if it looks like he is going to drop quickly.
He dropped again fast, you were right. I thought he was still bouncing but no. I caught him just in time, he was 50 at +3.5. Luckily he wanted to eat the Felix I offered and it got him up to 65 in 15 minutes. I will measure again soon. I'm all out of lancets! I have to use the same ones over and over again. And my car being repaired, I don't know when I'll be able to get new ones from the pharmacy. If I order online they will take two or three days to arrive. Should I use like an antiseptic spray to cleanse the lancet in between measurings?
 
And for some reason I don't get any notifications when someone comments...So I didn't get that +1 like you advised me to :( I wonder why he drops so fast now, what do you think?
 
+4 is 86, he's is zooming back up again. Should I keep giving LC food every hour to keep him lower? Probably can't stop him from bouncing to red again. How strange, it almost seems like he is more sensitive to insulin all of a sudden.
 
He may be dropping so fast because he's done with this dose. Are you planning to take the reduction to 0.75 units in the morning?

I'm sorry you have to keep using the same lancet. Is there anyone that can pick some up for you? The antiseptic spray is probably a good idea.
 
Sorry I got the times all wrong. It's not +4 yet, it's +3.

+1.5 81 I fed Gourmet Gold mousse two teaspoons
+2.5 50 I fed Felix As Good As It Looks in Jelly Senior, 3 teaspoons
+2.75 65
+3 86
 
I'm at work and have to log off. At the next test if he is flat or higher, don't feed and test again in an hour to see where he is.
 
He may be dropping so fast because he's done with this dose. Are you planning to take the reduction to 0.75 units in the morning?

I'm sorry you have to keep using the same lancet. Is there anyone that can pick some up for you? The antiseptic spray is probably a good idea.
Yes, will shoot 0.75 u in the morning and test more often to see where he is at. I don't have anyone who could get me new lancets, I have to wait until I get my car back or order online. Probably best to order since they are replacing the clutch and it might take a while.
 
Hi Tiina sorry I missed your drama! was on line but nipped out to walk my dogs for an hour or so.

I'm glad you got a +1.5.

I don't know if he was bouncing, I don't know the correct term, and I haven't got my head around the concept, but I think with bounces the cat will stay high and flat for longer.

What we might be seeing is something different, to do with aborting the cycle by giving too many carbs ( I don't know what you gave him this morning when he dropped if it was a lot), then as the carbs wear off we get the sudden drop.
As opposed to a bounce which is the liver 'panicking' pumping out sugar and counter regulatory hormones, which result in high BG this process lasts longer.

There is a term for it and I don't fully understand, but I wonder if this might be what happened today??

Maybe someone may clarify???.:confused::confused::confused:
 
O here is another cat with funny SS. I must follow your theme if you figured what happened with your kitty today. We are on "holiday" right now.
Fingers and paws crossed for your kitty!
 
Hi Tiina sorry I missed your drama! was on line but nipped out to walk my dogs for an hour or so.

I'm glad you got a +1.5.

I don't know if he was bouncing, I don't know the correct term, and I haven't got my head around the concept, but I think with bounces the cat will stay high and flat for longer.

What we might be seeing is something different, to do with aborting the cycle by giving too many carbs ( I don't know what you gave him this morning when he dropped if it was a lot), then as the carbs wear off we get the sudden drop.
As opposed to a bounce which is the liver 'panicking' pumping out sugar and counter regulatory hormones, which result in high BG this process lasts longer.

There is a term for it and I don't fully understand, but I wonder if this might be what happened today??

Maybe someone may clarify???.:confused::confused::confused:
This morning when he gave me the 40 at +3, I gave HC Gourmet Mon Petit, two teaspoons. Ten minutes later I gave 0% Applaws Chicken. Next feeding was two hours after that and it was 4% carbs tuna. So not that much of carbs, but the first one of course was high carb food. But I am having to give food that has a bit more carbs than the Applaws, because mostly he is totally refusing it. I'm also unable to go to the pet store to buy different brands without my car...Hopefully I'll get it back soon :) Of course cars break down when you least expect it, I was planning on going to buy more lancets today but then this happened.

What about the effect of the antibiotics? I don't know if the antibiotic I'm giving could change how his BG behaves. The diarrhea has stopped now and he hasn't gone since. He is drinking a lot, even when he was at 40 he prefered the water to the food. Maybe he is trying to fill his tummy with it. o_OI think he hates the LC foods now :stop:, is even a bit bored with Cosma Snackies and he used to love those.
 
O here is another cat with funny SS. I must follow your theme if you figured what happened with your kitty today. We are on "holiday" right now.
Fingers and paws crossed for your kitty!
Thanks! I've been lurking in the background reading about your kitty too. :) It's nice to see more people from Europe :bighug: My Hugo was recently diagnosed too, in February. I still feel like a total newbie! Kisses to your sweet kitty.
 
Doesn't sound like you overdid it with carbs, I think the mon petit is 20% and only 2 teaspoons and wasn't late in his cycle (ie past his usual nadir)

Perhaps you are right to think the AB and the tummy issues may be affecting him in some way.

If he was feeling uncomfortable that might spike his BG and then if he felt better his BG might drop again.
 
Congrats on the reduction! I hope he surfs the rest of the night for you.

Antibiotics could be helping any inflammation or infection, both of which can increase the BG's. And it's possible that his pancreas is sputtering a bit.
 
Thanks for the congrats. :) It remains to be seen tomorrow if 0.75 will make him drop like he dropped twice today with one unit. The evening cycle looks almost identical to the am cycle. Now there is the big red bounce again, 401 at +6. From blue to red in just two hours. I wish I understood this illness better, why his BG acts like this. A bounce yes, but I'm starting to think if the antibiotic metronidazole contains glucose or something.... I always give it at +4. Two hours after the antibiotic he skyrockets from blue to red. The ingredients list is in German, I don't speak a word of German...Antibiotic is called Clont 250mg. Now off to bed, thank you for all the help you have given me and my boy Hugo today :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top