04/24 Kitty PMPS 151 +1 162 +2 157 +3 159 +4 173 +5 186

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...215-5-5-162-10-25-266-pmps-274-11-251.262370/

Quite the drop this morning. I'm thinking it might be my fault, I'm a bit ashamed to admit this but last night I was lying on the couch after Kitty's PM shot. She decided to lay with me on my chest and was purring up a storm. I fell into such a deep sleep and didn't wake up until 7am (+11). So, last night she didn't get the extra food I usually give her around +4. She seemed content this morning, she wasn't chasing me to her food bowl like she would normally do if she were really hungry.

I'm gonna give her a little LC now and I'll keep monitoring.
 
While a big drop, it’s a safe number for +3. You want to see the blues . I would have stopped testing at +4 last night. I think she will continue to see better numbers now that the dry is gone.
 
While a big drop, it’s a safe number for +3. You want to see the blues . I would have stopped testing at +4 last night. I think she will continue to see better numbers now that the dry is gone.
Hmm, now you've got me second guessing myself. I just noticed I recorded a BG at +4 last night. I didn't see that this morning. I do not remember waking up at that time and doing that so now I don't know if I fed her at +4 or not. If I did, I must have been half alseep.
 
Try not to second guess yourself. It’s hard but it will just drive you nuts. JMHO. I like the improvement I see in the ss.
 
Try not to second guess yourself. It’s hard but it will just drive you nuts. JMHO. I like the improvement I see in the ss.
I just checked the memory on her glucometer and I did in fact check her at +4 last night, but I have no recollection of doing it. I would assume that I also fed her, but I'm unsure. Must have been sleep walking!

I also am happy to be seeing improvements in her numbers :woot:
 
Kitty is starting to see longer stretches of blue. Sounds like she's feeling better on Lantus too. :) And yes, sleep testing is a thing! :p

Following up on yesterday:
My only apprehension with TR is that when I look at other spreadsheets of people who are following TR, it seems like every one of them is testing more throughout both cycles. With AM cycles, on work days I can only test one time at about mid-cycle, I know you and Melissa (@FrostD) have both said that that's enough, but I'm worried that once she gets into low numbers, I might miss a light green number and therefore miss a reduction. Couldn't this put Kitty at risk?
It is early days yet, but you will get to a point where you can see patterns in Kitty's cycles on Lantus. Once that happens, her numbers will become a bit more predictable. With that, you'll get a better idea of what food to leave out for her to keep her safe. Regardless whether you are following TR or SLGS, you still want to do that. She can still go low on SLGS. This post might have tips for you: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
Are you saying I should wait? Above it kind of sounded like you were saying I should follow TR if there isn't a specific reason for following SLGS.
I was asking why SLGS or TR, because you are no longer feeding dry food and no longer limited to SLGS so TR is now an option. The decision of which dosing method to follow is one you make, based on your lifestyle and goals for your cat. Each dosing method has safety mechanisms built it it, so customizing the dosing method so early on is not recommended. If you wanted to be more aggressive with increases, going to TR is one way to do it. We don't usually suggest speeding up changes with SLGS. SLGS was developed here years before TR came about, there is lots of data to support it as a dosing method as written.
 
+6 and she's dropped more, now at 112. She's already eaten 1.75 cans of food for this cycle. Should I feed again or wait and check at +7?
 
How does 1.75 cans compare to what she would normally get in a cycle? If she normally would get more, I'd give her a tsp or two. If not, I'd leave her. This is a good opportunity to gather data for those days you won't be home to feed her.
 
How does 1.75 cans compare to what she would normally get in a cycle? If she normally would get more, I'd give her a tsp or two. If not, I'd leave her. This is a good opportunity to gather data for those days you won't be home to feed her.
1.75 cans is how much she normally gets each cycle, so I'll just keep monitoring BG for now.
 
With PMPS only 2 hours away, its kind of looking like we might be under 200 tonight. Trying to be proactive so I don't have to stall and mess up the schedule. On 4/19, PM cycle, I shot the full dose when she was under 200 per advice from @FrostD but it was also only her second cycle on this dose so the depot probably hadn't built up yet with the new dose. If she's under 200 again tonight should I still shoot the full dose?
 
Have you fed? If not, test again 15-20 minutes after that last test to see if she's coming up to where you'd feel more comfy shooting.
 
Have you fed? If not, test again 15-20 minutes after that last test to see if she's coming up to where you'd feel more comfy shooting.
I have not fed yet. I waited 20 minutes since the last test. She's now at 152 so she basically hasn't moved. The lowest I've shot her was at 181 and it was fine, but that was when just starting an increased dose. I don't really want to restart the count for the days she's been on this dose. I know she'll get a bump from the food, but do you think I'll be putting her in danger if I shoot the full dose at her current number?
 
When you shoot lower numbers, the cycle is typically much flatter. They don't drop as much as they do from higher numbers. That cycle you shot 181 was an example of that. Of course, it's hard to predict exactly what will happen. If you have higher carb foods on hand, just in case, plenty of test strips, and can monitor tonight, she should be safe.
 
When you shoot lower numbers, the cycle is typically much flatter. They don't drop as much as they do from higher numbers. That cycle you shot 181 was an example of that. Of course, it's hard to predict exactly what will happen. If you have higher carb foods on hand, just in case, plenty of test strips, and can monitor tonight, she should be safe.
I have HC food, plenty of testing supplies, and I have tomorrow off so I can stay up tonight. I think I'm going to shoot the full dose. Just so I can be prepared, at what point (what numbers) would I need to feed HC food?
 
If you are worried, a +1 and a +2 test will give you a clue what is going to happen during the cycle. We usually save the high carb foods for under 50. Or if we see a really steep drop early on you might add a touch or do medium carb. But it really depends on the cat and how they react to carbs. Neko was carb sensitive enough that LC would slow her down.
 
If you are worried, a +1 and a +2 test will give you a clue what is going to happen during the cycle. We usually save the high carb foods for under 50. Or if we see a really steep drop early on you might add a touch or do medium carb. But it really depends on the cat and how they react to carbs. Neko was carb sensitive enough that LC would slow her down.
Okay, thanks for your help Wendy. She's eating now and I just gave the full dose. I'll get a +1 and +2 reading next.
 
Sorry I didn't stop by earlier, but you could have stopped testing at +4 when she was starting up.
 
Back
Top