? 04/24 Fat Albert AMPS 289, +2 289, +4 243, +6 220, +8 149, +10 137 , PMPS 117- SLGS dose question

Marc & Jen

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

It's been a week since we've eliminated dry food and have maintained a dose of 3 units 2x per day. FA has remained rather consistent in the yellow with a couple dips into the blue and small increases into the pink. As per SLGS, I'm trying to get data for a 12 hr curve today - hoping work does not get in the way! I'll probably need some advice later today!

Also, I received our Lantus pens from Mark's Marine Pharmacy today, took just under a week to get here (which was including a couple postal holidays in Canada for Easter). The cold pack was completely melted and the 'brief dot' was pink, the 'moderate dot' was half pink and the 'prolonged dot' wasn't touched on the temperature strip. I am assuming the insulin will still be ok! It hasn't been really hot here or anything so I definitely will be avoiding ordering any in the middle of the summer!
 
Based on FA's +6 it doesn't look like he's going to get back into the blue this morning. Based on SLGS, if nadir's are more than 150, we should be increasing the dose. In the last week he has dropped below 150 only 3 times, but on average current nadir seems to be more in the 220-230 range. Some of those yellow nadir's were as a result of a bounce so I'm not sure what numbers to use to make a decision as to whether we increase the dose or not. I'm thinking of increasing to 3.5 units tonight, thoughts on this? Thank you in advance!
 
Well... Perhaps I spoke too soon, his +8 was 149 today and I haven't got many of those readings. Still, thoughts on increasing the dose or staying the same based on SLGS are appreciated!!!
 
+10 137! The lack of pattern/predictability is driving me crazy! I guess it's possible that he's been in the blue more than I've known, potentially during the second half of the night.
 
At least he answered your question about the dose. :cool: Many cats do go lower at night.
Of course the day I ask this question is the day he drops to the lowest he's been in the last week! His PMPS is at 117, I'm feeding him a bit now and will recheck in half an hour to an hour and decide whether or not to give him any dose and will give him the rest of his dinner then.
 
Back
Top