04/24 Blackie PMPS 228

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69353&p=754459#p754459

I expected higher #s due to the extra fuds. And we continue on. :)

Question: I'm highly considering raising her dose to 1.25 fat in the morning. She's been on 1.25u for 55 cycles, and after taking her of the carb food on 04/06, and removing the raw turkey cutlet 04/16, she hasn't come down. A fat dose may help, whereas a 0.25u may be too much. I won't be using carb food unless she drops too low, but will be monitoring her closely, hence only fattening it. She needs a little nudge, but not a push.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Dose Question: 04/24 Blackie AMPS 173

From what I have seen f increases do not work and anything less than .25 changes should only be done on the way down.

ETA: I have now seen more - clearly this is an appropriate course of action for some kitties :smile:

I was looking at Blackie’s ss the other day and I was wondering about the f increase on 3/13. You have been doing this for quite a while now so I didn’t feel comfortable saying anything but, based on her 2012 ss, she seemed to be very well regulated on the 1U dose. She got that 33 straight after the increase so it was probably as a result of the 1U dose rather than the 1f but you didn’t decrease??? Then her numbers seem to have deteriorated a bit since the further increase to 1.25.

I’m assuming that since you weren’t happy with the regulation at the 1U dose that you are aiming for remission. Based on the research I have undertaken it seems that a cat is unlikely to get remission using lantus past 2 years which, based on your joining date, is where you’re at now. However levimer has been shown to still have success achieving remissions beyond the 2 years.

ETA: Will try to locate my source data for this. I didn't word it quite the way I meant it though, I meant that levimer has been successful in achieving remission for kitties who haven't had success with lantus after 2 yrs and I certainly didn't mean remission will never happen on lantus after 2 yrs :smile:

If remission is your aim I’m wondering if it isn’t time for a change in insulin rather than a dose change.
 
Re: Dose Question: 04/24 Blackie AMPS 173

I have to respectfully disagree with Serryn. Look at Gabby's SS. Fattening a dose can work very well. The dosing strategy depends on several factors, the most important of which is knowing one's cat. Fattening or shaving a dose is a very appropriate strategy as you are zeroing in on a good dose. Like Angela noted, a full 0.25u increase may be too much for her cat. There is little about FD that is one size fits all. I would agree that for someone who is new to the protocol, sticking with the guidelines makes the most sense. However, we've even seen newbies with cats that are very sensitive to even microdose changes. ECID.

Again, I disagree with the 2-year statement. I'm not sure where that research is from; I've not come across it. Based on what I've seen here, there is no arbitrary cut-off that says after X amount of time forget about remission. It's true that the closer to date of diagnosis, the better the chance of remission. However, there are cats that have gone into remission (without any other medical complication) after more than 2 years. There are fewer cats where this happens but it does occur. Jill or Libby can probably recall specific names.
 
Re: Dose Question: 04/24 Blackie AMPS 173

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I know you like seeing lower amps numbers, but this is still a nice way to start the day! And I have to agree with Sienne .. it might be close to your 2 year annifursary here, but never say never, right? You're doing great with blackie! have a great day!
 
Re: Dose Question: 04/24 Blackie AMPS 173, +3 150

With regards to any change, be it diet, or even a dose change, Blackie will react to it. The date that you specified (btw it's 03/18, not 03/13) is when she went down to 33 AMPS +3, yes, but that was the result to the new dose. As Blackie was given a fat dose that day, I had to make sure that she was brought up using carb food in order for her to not plummet any further, and I had to maintain that dose for a period of time.

She's been on 1.25u for 55 cycles even after taking away the carb food, it's not doing anything, hence she's stuck. I will be fattening her dose to gradually bring her #s down rather than increasing by 0.25u, which would ultimately make her drop like a rock, and I don't want that. If you take a look at her 2010-2011 SS, she does very well with the fats and skinnys of doses just like she does on 0.25u. :smile:

Tomorrow I won't be going anywhere, and that's when I'll fatten her dose, and keep tabs on her. I expect bouncing because of it, and we'll go through the NDW like everyone else, but eventually it'll mellow out, and we'll go from there.

Her 2 year annifursary of diagnosis was March 13, 2010. Our 2 years annifursary on the board is coming up.

Thank you for your input, Serryn. :smile:
 
Re: Dose Question: 04/24 Blackie AMPS 173, +3 150

+1 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 150 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.50 oz. Evo 95% C&T
PMPS 118, 1.25u, 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.50 oz. Evo 95% C&T
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top