04/22 Penny decrease in dose?

Courtnee P

Member Since 2022
Penny's nadir was 85 yesterday, the lowest it's been in months. That warrants a .25U decrease, correct? My next question is how long she needs to be regulated or below 300 in order for clinical signs to decrease? She has remained absolutely ravenous. Her urine volume has decreased but is still more than it should be. Finally, I'm assuming the high numbers yesterday and today after that low nadir are due to bouncing... thoughts? I did feed her a small amount of food because I was worried she would continue to go down when I went back to work. Thanks in advance.
 
Yes, since you are following SLGS, Penny's new dose should now be 2.25 units. And yes, she's now bouncing. Did you try warming her ear this morning to get a test?

If you read the New to the Group Sticky Note, you will notice there are several levels of regulation. The goal when following SLGS is to have their nadirs stay in the range of 90-149. In order for the amount of peeing to be reduced, you want them to spend as much time below renal threshold as possible. That number varies based on type of meter (pet or human) and the cat, but generally somewhere in the high 100's to mid 200's range.

The link to your previous dose for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-help-for-switch-from-prozinc-to-lantus.260430/
 
It would be helpful if you can fill out your signature
Information about Penny, as you can see it's at the end if everyone's post,
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.


Did you test Penny's AMPS this morning your SS is blank ?
 
It would be helpful if you can fill out your signature
Information about Penny, as you can see it's at the end if everyone's post,
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.


Did you test Penny's AMPS this morning your SS is blank ?
I believe the spreadsheet is already on my signature... at least, I can see it but maybe I've done something wrong. I will fill in the rest. Thanks for the link. I tried to test her this morning but could not get enough blood. That typically happens when her blood sugar is really high. Given her nadir today I'm guessing her AMPS was probably at least 400.
 
Yes, since you are following SLGS, Penny's new dose should now be 2.25 units. And yes, she's now bouncing. Did you try warming her ear this morning to get a test?

If you read the New to the Group Sticky Note, you will notice there are several levels of regulation. The goal when following SLGS is to have their nadirs stay in the range of 90-149. In order for the amount of peeing to be reduced, you want them to spend as much time below renal threshold as possible. That number varies based on type of meter (pet or human) and the cat, but generally somewhere in the high 100's to mid 200's range.

The link to your previous dose for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-help-for-switch-from-prozinc-to-lantus.260430/

I rub her ear between my thumb and index finger for a while to get it warm. I actually was able to get blood on the first poke, but it was too thick for the meter/wouldn't spread all the way onto the test strip. After that I couldn't get anymore blood.
 
I rub her ear between my thumb and index finger for a while to get it warm. I actually was able to get blood on the first poke, but it was too thick for the meter/wouldn't spread all the way onto the test strip. After that I couldn't get anymore blood.
Thanks for doing your signature
Maybe this will help
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up
If you look at the lancet under a light you will see one side of the lancet is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with. I have always free handed. On the lancets I don't have to keep looking for the side that's curved because on the plastic on the lancet there are little holes if you want to call it that, the side on my lancets with the part that's curved upward had smaller holes on it, so when I poke I just look at the lancet for them and poke
 
Last edited:
Back
Top