04/22 Bubba +11.75 95; +12.25 101; +12.5 86; AMPS 101 (stalled 45m); +1 160; +2 169; +5 203; +8 248

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
yesterday

Last night Bubba went into the lower greens... his first greens since April 6. I managed to bypass a lime by feeding Bubba, then rubbing about a tsp of honey on his gums.

This morning is Bubba's FIRST PRE-SHOT GREEN... @ 5.3mmol / 95...
His shot time is due in approx 5 minutes (I slept in)

Do I STALL? (and wait for his sugars to bump up); Or do I FEED then SHOOT? (his current dose of 8U).
If I STALL, how long do I stall for?

I'm reading the "how to handle low pre-shot #s" but am still unsure as this is the first green preshot # Bubba has had.

Thank you!
 
At +11.75 (from PM shot last night), Bubba was 5.3mmol / 95
At +12.25 (from PM shot last night), Bubba went up to 5.6mmol / 101
 
Last edited:
Ok so Bubba went DOWN to 4.8mmol / 86; he was just at 5.6mmol / 101 at +12.25

I don't know what to do?

Do I continue to stall? If so, for how much longer?
Do I hold the AM dose?

Any guidance would be appreciated!
 
How long can you afford to stall with whatever schedule flexibility you have?

You’re safe to shoot anything over 50 with TR, so I really wouldn’t want to skip given that it seems you might finally have hit a breakthrough dose!

However, given that you had to give honey to avoid limes last night, I understand your reticence! Hopefully someone with more experience than I will chime in!

@Diane Tyler's Mom do you know which experienced dose advisor might be around to help?

If you’re around to monitor today, I would give insulin.
 
How long can you afford to stall with whatever schedule flexibility you have?

You’re safe to shoot anything over 50 with TR, so I really wouldn’t want to skip given that it seems you might finally have hit a breakthrough dose!

However, given that you had to give honey to avoid limes last night, I understand your reticence! Hopefully someone with more experience than I will chime in!

If you’re around to monitor today, I would give insulin.


Thank you for your reply.
Yes, I and others will be around to monitor. I don't want to stall any longer as we are going 35 minutes past his dose time
 
BGs can go lower when stalling without food. You hold the syringe. You can skip the dose if you need to stay on schedule.
You can give a BCS (big chicken shot) which is a reduced dose but keep in mind the higher depot will still affect the first half of the cycle.
If you shoot the full dose, feed a little less at shot time then again at +1 and +2 to keep the surf. I can be around with you for support as well as @Cali S for at least the next couple of hours :cat:
Let us know what you decide.
 
Thank you @Cali S and @Angela & Cleo !!!!

I just tested Bubba (+12.75/AMPS, and he went back up to 5.6mmol / 101) so I gave his FULL DOSE of 8U lantus @ approx 45 minutes past his usual dose time.
He nibbled some breakfast... I enticed him with sardines and will continue to do so at +1 and +2, hehe.
That's great! 45 minutes should be fairly easy to walk back too. You can shoot 15 minutes early for the next three cycles, 4/22 PM, 4/23 AM, 4/23 PM and be back to normal shot time by Monday morning. Or you can shoot 30 minutes early tomorrow morning, then 15 minutes Monday morning.
Also, if Bubba happens to bounce (anti-jinx no bouncing Bubba) you might be able to shoot the full 45 minutes early tonight. But lets wait and see ;)
 
That's great! 45 minutes should be fairly easy to walk back too. You can shoot 15 minutes early for the next three cycles, 4/22 PM, 4/23 AM, 4/23 PM and be back to normal shot time by Monday morning. Or you can shoot 30 minutes early tomorrow morning, then 15 minutes Monday morning.
Also, if Bubba happens to bounce (anti-jinx no bouncing Bubba) you might be able to shoot the full 45 minutes early tonight. But lets wait and see ;)

Thank you for your time :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Well so far Bubba has held greens/low blues for approx 9 hours now!

I will keep you posted on here :):)
 
Congrats on shooting your first green! :D Here's your BOS award!

balls_of_steel.jpg
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 162
PMPS 234

Bubba went down a little bit from 13.8 @ +8 to 13.0 @ PMPS
he's been a good boy today - relaxing and munching all his foods

let's hope Bubba goes down tonight... but not too low! Mama gotta sleep before work tmrw ;)o_O:nailbiting::blackeye:
 
+3.25 12.9 / 232

staying about the same around 3hrs post PM shot !!!
mama can sleep!

On April 6 - the last time Bubba had greens in the evening, he was PINKS the following evening post-PM shot on April 7 - and never saw another green till last night/April 21

And on March 4 when Bubba had greens in the evening (for the first time) and dipped into a lime, he was pinks the next two days; till he saw more greens on March 7

Thankfully there were no pinks today after Bubba's dip into greens for about 8-9hrs last night into this morning. So hopefully my boopsie boy can hold this dose in the greens/blues for longer and get more comfy in those #s; fingers toes eyes legs arms crossed :bighug::bighug:o_Oo_O
 
Last edited:
Back
Top