04/21 Juno AMPS 378 +3 405 +5 432: Dose help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone,

I have been giving 1u of Levemir to Juno, but his values have been too high for many days, except in the past Friday which was a really good day for him. Now his readings went back to the high numbers and I'm starting to see it from his coat and the loss of muscle of his back legs. Tonight he kept splashing the water out from his bowl. I got some help from Julie who advice me to hold on the dose for 3 days as he might be bouncing, but I'm getting a bit desperate with his high numbers. I was wondering if I should increase his dose by 0.25u.

Thank you!
 
Hi Cristina, today is the 6th dose at 1.0U and it doesn't look like he's clearing a bounce, so I would increase to 1.25U tonight. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
I think it'd be fine for you to go ahead and increase to 1.25 tonight if you want, or you could wait until morning if you're not comfortable increasing the dose at night.

We typically wait for at least 6 cycles (3 days) after they go lower than they're used to for a bounce to clear, and that 6th cycle was this AMPS one (although some people count them differently and would say it's tonight's PM cycle)

Good luck with the dosecrease whenever you decide to do it, and make sure you're testing for ketones when Juno is up in those higher numbers!
 
Hi Wendy! Thanks for the advice. I just gave him the evening shot and increased the dose to 1.25u. Let's see how he's going to react to the increase of dose.
 
Hi Chris! Thank you for the advice. I decided to increase the dose right away to 1.25u and not wait for tomorrow morning. I'm sleeping too little these days anyway because of his diabetes. I also tested for ketones and thank God they were negative, but he has been around the water bowl the whole day and eating pretty everything he finds on his bowl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top