04/21 Bailey uk amps 376.can i go up 0.5 on next shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117539

hi all, im just checking I can go up .5u tonight to 8u if numbers haven't changed much today? i kinda know the answer but I just want to confirm its ok to do so! im in work until +5 so will check bg as soon as I get in. he doesn't seem as lethargic the last few days and definitely drinking AS much which is a good sign.

im not worrying about the units now im just gonna keep trucking on! @-)
 
Yes, you can increase tonight. Until you see blue, it's OK to keep going up .5U every 4 doses. Keep on trucking! You will beat this thing! :YMHUG: For any lurkers out there, this advice is for Bailey only.

Those little signs that he's feeling better are good. They seem to sense when the good numbers are getting closer.
 
thanks wendy.i just wanted to check it was ok.im understanding things abit better these days.im just scared of telling the vet what dose hes on but she'll have to know now we're at such a high dose.the last conversation we had he was on 6 units so god only knows what shes going to say when I tell her hes on 8!!

I cant WAIT to see a blue on that spread sheet!!! hes definitely got more energy the last few days.hes not right by any means but hes wanting to get up and do things and watch the birds from the window,play under the bed,wake me at sill o'clock meowing to get in with me @-) (baileyisms ive not seen for a while) these are in between sleeping now where as before this week its just been eating,sleeping,toileting!!

lets see what the next dose brings. nailbite_smile
 
I'm so glad to hear your report on the "baileyisms," Anna! I have my paws crossed for blue.

Come on, Bailey, mama really needs to see a blue!
 
Hi Anna! I don't see a post for you today, and the board has been wonky and unpredictable since Sunday so i'm just going to post here. You want to increase by 0.5u every 4 cycles. Holding a dose too long can backfire on you because Bailey is getting used to the dose and just sucking it up. He is responding to the dose increases like a cat with a high dose condition - probably either acro or insulin autoantibodies, and it just doesn't help to hold doses too long or give too small of dose increases.

I know we've talked about the testing before - what are your thoughts about getting him tested?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top