04/20 J.D. PMPS 580 - Cyproheptadine Question - and Pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
126 PMPS
104 +2
59 +2.75
44 +3.5
39 +4 (HC)
55 +4.5
70 +5
123 +7

J.D. ate regular meals at +1.75 and at +2.75, both consisting of 5% FF Chunky Chicken with a sprinkling of some Free Sample of Wellness Complete Health kibble on top, that I found in my pantry. Bad, I know, but it helps him to eat.

At +4, I gave J.D. a quarter can of HC 19% Friskies, because it was so early in the cycle (onset of Levemir is around +4), and mostly because I wanted to spoil him. And I was tired. And he already earned his dose reduction. When he was done, he laid wrapped around my head, laying on the couch, and purred.
cat-hug-and-love-smiley-emoticon.gif


I was so tired last night, it was raining and I had the air conditioner on, but I woke up to my alarms just fine, for once.

I thought this morning, when I woke up that I did not have enough wakefulness in me to try to measure a 0.25 or s0.25 or f0.25 dose, but J.D. saved me from that. I'll have to decide and practice, later today. For now, it's back to bed :)
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. AMPS 537

Congrats on J.D.s reducie!!! He deserves a little spoiling !!! Enjoy your btb...and good luck with his new dose!! ....whatever it turns out to be. Many hugs and scritches to you
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. AMPS 537

Lucky JD! I am sure he'd enjoyed all that pampering from his mumbean! What is that HC Friskies you've gave him? Must be yummy! :lol:
Clear the bounce JD & good luck with the new reducie!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. AMPS 537

Congrats on the reducie :smile: hope J.D. Works it, whatever you decide. Hope he clears this bounce and gets back to the nice greens. Have a good day :-D
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. AMPS 537

Awwww, lucky J.D.! Spoiling is always good to spread around once and a while. Congrats on the reducie, and good luck figuring out the new dose measurements. Hard rain last night but not as much thunder as they predicted. The awful smelling trees are in bloom and the air is thick, ugh. I hope you don't have allergies! Have a good day!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

A long night of testing
Sleeping between tests
Gravy on my nose
Ummm HC Good!

I went to pick up some cypro for J.D. this morning, and the pharmacy that it was called into filled the order and I was smart enough to ask when the pills expire, because the 15 (4mg) pills last me for more than a year. They looked around and found their bottle and told me they expire in 01/2014, so I told them to put them back on the shelf. I said are you going to get a fresh supply? and the pharmacist (I don't remember the exact words, but I got the drift he said "no") said that their one bottle would probably sit on their shelf until it expired.
I called our grocery store pharmacy and asked them what expiration date they had on their bottle and the pharmacist said 02/2014. I asked if they were going to get a fresh supply, and she said "no" and that she couldn't remember the last time anyone wanted any.
I called Costco Pharmacy that is an hours drive away and the pharmacist said their bottle expires in 07/2013 and I asked if they would be getting a fresh supply and they said not until what they have is despensed.
I then came home and wrote and email to my vet... :*(
I still have 1 tablet and 1/4 tablet left, so that should last me at least 2 weeks as I only use them as needed.
Question: Does anyone know where to get Cyproheptadine online? Hopefully, with some kind of decent shelf life.
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Hi, Dyana, I'm sorry I don't have an answer about cypro... I hope you're able to find some w/ a later exp. date.

I love the pic of J.D. with gravy on his nose ~ was he going to save it for later? :lol:

I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

You can also try hospital pharmacies. I think with an online purchase, you'll know less than in a brick and mortar store.

An alternative that you could discuss with your pharmacist is to see if they'll dispense fewer pills -- or have your vet rewrite the prescription for fewer pills but with multiple refills.
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Hi Dyana,
Sorry I can't help you with the cypro question, but I sure liked the pics of J.D. Congrats on the reducie. Do you use calipers? That's probably the best way to measure a tiny dose with any consistency.

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Sienne and Gabby said:
You can also try hospital pharmacies. I think with an online purchase, you'll know less than in a brick and mortar store.

An alternative that you could discuss with your pharmacist is to see if they'll dispense fewer pills -- or have your vet rewrite the prescription for fewer pills but with multiple refills.

That's a good idea. Thanks.
They have a pharmacy at the vet's office, so I asked him in the email, if they have any there.
I was thinking that maybe I should get a prescription for 30 instead of 15, and then if I do find somewhere that has any that expire way out in the future, I could stock up on those, rather than have this same problem next year, if as the pharmacists are telling me..this medication is rarely ever ordered. I asked the pharmacist at the first store why it only said cyproheptad on the bottle instead of cyproheptadine and he said they just ran out of room. I asked to confirm it was still cyproheptadine and he said it is, and that it is the generic for a very old drug starting with a p..
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Dyana,
Sorry I can't help you with the cypro question, but I sure liked the pics of J.D. Congrats on the reducie. Do you use calipers? That's probably the best way to measure a tiny dose with any consistency.

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
Thanks for reminding me. I haven't gotten around to thinking about it yet. :roll: I do use calipers.

The best I can tell is that on my "wonderful" Relion syringes, a perfect 0.50 is 1.70mm. His last dose was a s0.50 or 1.60mm. If 1.70mm equals one half unit, then 0.85mm equals one quarter unit.
I don't know if I should halve the dose. That just seems like a lot.
Maybe I'll see what 1.20 or 1.10 looks like and then give it a name. :lol: I'll mess with it a bit later..


Right now, I'm going to take the kitties back outside while it's still sunshiney, and then I'll mess with the calipers when I get back.
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Wow...what a cycle he had last night. :shock: :-D LOVE all those pictures!!! He's so darn handsome. ;-) Hope he clears this bounce soon and you guys can get back to some nice numbers with lots more snuggles and purrs! Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

We give cypro to Zener. I don't know the expiration date on the pills, doesn't seem like something that would expire but I don't know. Nice pictures of J.D.! He gets to eat wherever he wants. So does Zener. :lol: :lol: Must be one of the side effects of cypro. :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Dyana said:
J.D. ate regular meals at +1.75 and at +2.75, both consisting of 5% FF Chunky Chicken with a sprinkling of some Free Sample of Wellness Complete Health kibble on top, that I found in my pantry. Bad, I know, but it helps him to eat.

At +4, I gave J.D. a quarter can of HC 19% Friskies, because it was so early in the cycle (onset of Levemir is around +4), and mostly because I wanted to spoil him. And I was tired.
I don't think it is bad to sprinkle a little kibble on his food if it helps him to eat. Great job steering his numbers; I did the same thing the other day and Gobbles absolutely loved me for it. Congratulations to you & J.D. on the decrease!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

And thanks for sharing all the pictures Dyana :-D I enjoyed looking at them and that sunset is just breathtaking!!!
 
Re: 04/20 J.D. Cyproheptadine Question, +5 294, +8 365 Pics

Great photos!! thanks for sharing. I love "kitty kisses"!!!!! J.D. and Ginger make SUCH a good looking pair. awwwwww. And Kat's so right. that sunset is gorgeous! have a great evening.
 
J.D. can wait until tomorrow for his dose reduction :roll: .

I did have my calipers all set on 1.20mm, but reset them to 1.60mm and gave him his regular dose, and then used a fresh syringe with some R in it, and reset the calipers back to 1.20mm to see what it looked like. On my "wonderful" syringes 1.20mm looks about at the zero line marking, so I guess the zero line marking is about 0.25 down from the top of this particular syringe. I left the calipers at the 1.20mm for tomorrow morning. I think I'll call it f0.25, maybe.
I then gave him a "real" zero line of R (with just the faintest sliver of light showing on top of the plunger).

Okay, I'm off to walk the cats, and then do a little shopping. Be back in a bit.
 
Those pictures are great. Thanks for sharing. Good luck finding some Cypro without an early expiration date. I hope J.D. clears the bounce soon.
 
Oh I just love the stinkeye where J.D. is wearing the bow....
like " really? " :-D

the very first picture you added this morning... I loved how his black and white on his body kind of swirls together.... ( I hadn't seen his underside before)


interesting on the periactin...
my DM used to take that decades ago.... I think for her nightmares.....
 
Looks like you got no sleep last night! Ni love all the pics especially the one with Ginger and the one on your dads fountain. Thanks for sharing!

I have no answer about the cypro...I hope you find it.
 
Great pictures! I love him walking among the yellow flowers, and breffis on the back of the couch! That's a special delivery setup he's got. And on the fountain. I wish we had enough acreage to let Leo out, but no way. Poor guy, but I tell him, but now buddy, you'd be dead twice over. Good luck with the measuring the new dose. It goes crazy down there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top