04/19 Bailey uk.amps 382 dosecrease to 7.5u :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Anna,

I feel your frustration. If you're ready, talk to your vet about testing for acromegaly and IAA (insulin autoantibodies). It's a simple blood draw. I was really hesitant to get the tests because I didn't want to know. But once you know you can develop a plan. I know you can get the tests in the UK, but don't have the link in front of me. I know some others have the link though.

Good luck with the dosecrease! Work that juice Bailey!

~Suzanne
 
Am I remembering right that you know he's got some dental issues? I would get his teeth taken care of asap. That may not be the entire concern, but until you do that you're not going to know how much of the puzzle is from his teeth.

by the way, anna, you don't have to put his doses in the subject line.
 
hi Julie.no no dental issues that I know of.barr his gums being a little red his teeth look really healthy.
diane said theres a vet here that can test for acromelagy so il see what my vet says then il get the tests done.id rather know or rule it out if that makes sense.
 
When you get him tested, you want to test for both acromegaly and insulin auto-antibodies (iaa.) Some cats have one or the other, some have both.

I guess i'm leery of the description of red gums, because that indicates something is going on. it's pretty difficult to get a good look in a cat's mouth if they aren't sedated. Diabetics with high blood sugar have sugar in their body fluids, including saliva, so dental issues are common.
 
well ill definitely get her to have a look!!! I feel like for the first time in ages we might be getting somewhere with lower numbers! he also seems better today!abit more of my rascal is coming back! he meowed,meowed and meowed today to get my attention.i ran from outside in ( cos its been months since he did that) to tell me a spider had got in.another bit of my Bails back. :D ( I get so happy these days about stupid little things like that)
 
well ill definitely get her to have a look!!! I feel like for the first time in ages we might be getting somewhere with lower numbers! he also seems better today!abit more of my rascal is coming back! he meowed,meowed and meowed today to get my attention.i ran from outside in ( cos its been months since he did that) to tell me a spider had got in.another bit of my Bails back. :D ( I get so happy these days about stupid little things like that)
 
well ill definitely get her to have a look!!! I feel like for the first time in ages we might be getting somewhere with lower numbers! he also seems better today!abit more of my rascal is coming back! he meowed,meowed and meowed today to get my attention.i ran from outside in ( cos its been months since he did that) to tell me a spider had got in.another bit of my Bails back. :D ( I get so happy these days about stupid little things like that)
 
well ill definitely get her to have a look!!! I feel like for the first time in ages we might be getting somewhere with lower numbers! he also seems better today!abit more of my rascal is coming back! he meowed,meowed and meowed today to get my attention.i ran from outside in ( cos its been months since he did that) to tell me a spider had got in.another bit of my Bails back. :D ( I get so happy these days about stupid little things like that)
 
Nice on some of the old Bailey coming back! Great PMPS too!

I second looking into the dental. A red gum line is a possible sign of FORL - Feline Odontoclastic Resorptive Lesions, a surprisingly common condition. I just took my other cat in a month ago because of a red gum line and they had to remove the tooth.
 
that's so cute that he came to tell you there was a spider! what a hoot! cats are so hysterical - i feel sorry for people who can't see how great they are. :-D

glad to hear he's feeling more like his old self. we'll get there!

yay - that IS a great preshot!

would you update the subject line of your first post of the day with the tests as you get them? that helps us keep an eye on people so we can see at a glance if anyone might need help.

with that lower preshot - for Bailey - would you get a +1 and a +2 just to make sure he's not going down anywhere significant? looks like he was clearing a bounce today - all his numbers went straight down from this morning.
 
Go Bailey! I hope you see some yellow. A spider!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: Mom, do something! :lol: :lol:
Liz
ETA: I see that you are using the AlphaTrak so that 209 is actually a blue. :-D We started with AlphaTrak and wow was it expensive. I'm glad that we switched, the human meter is cheaper and easier to use.
 
oh I fell asleep at +1 and +2.as I do his jab at midnight so was a tired girly! :oops:

it was lovely to be woken up this morning by him meowing for breakfast sat up on the end of my bed! ive had to hand feed some days cos he hasn't had the energy to get up so it was a lovely surprise! hes just more alert and interested in whats going on rather than just sleeping so that surely must be a good sign!

yep il ring the vet Monday and then get her to check his teeth and give him a full overhaul.

will start my new condo after amps. hes had a bounce from last night so hopefully he'll come out of that very soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top