? 04/15 Mowgli PMPS 206 SWITCH TO LEVEMIR?

Jaime & Mowgli

Member Since 2021
Last Thread

We just had our first green yesterday after 3 months of bumping our Lantus dose, but unfortunately we might need to really consider switching to Levemir now.

Up to this point my mom hadn't seen Mowgli react to his shot. However, she told me today that Mowgli flinched and moved away from his morning shot... (and stared at her as if to say "What are you doing!?")

I know we planned on holding our current dose of 14u for at least 10 cycles, but now I'm thinking we should just switch over to Levemir. If we decide to do that, I hear we should start with 70% of our current dose right? That would be around 10u.

BTW, I read other posts of people wondering if injecting cold insulin could be the source of pain, and it seems like that is not the likely cause right? I'm assuming the discomfort is mainly from the acidity of Lantus.

I have Levemir ready if to switch over on a moment's notice.

Thoughts?

@Wendy&Neko
 
I would, as long as the first couple cycles can be closely monitored. Some cats react strongly to the change, hence the reduced dose to 10units. Also keep in mind onset and nadir are both likely to be a couple hours later on Levemir.

Nice cycle tonight. :cool:
 
Back
Top