? 04/15 Daphne AMPS 170 +3 61 +5 60 PMPS 135 +3 115

I could use your advice. After switching to .25 and going on a human meter, which reads lower than a pet meter, I noticed Daphne's bc numbers trending higher, so I bumped her to .50 without checking here first. Was this a mistake?

What confuses me is this guideline, which I believe is written for pet meters. I looked at those and noticed that since the .25 she has started trending higher and higher.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Our dosing methods are written for human meters. If you want to continue to follow SLGS, that drop below 90 today earned her a reduction back to 0.25U.
You could follow TR since she is eating LC wet and you are testing enough for it. It will enable you to keep her at a dose where she can spend more time in normal numbers - giving her pancreas a chance to heal.
 
This statement is at the top of the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:
THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS.
The dosing methods were developed long before pet meters became a thing.

The goal with SLGS is to keep nadirs between 90 and 149, and the highest numbers, which is often the preshot, at or below 300. She was at that with 0.25 units before you increased. The reason her numbers had started to go higher on 0.25 units previously is that the depot of the 0.5 unit dose you had been giving previously was wearing off. It was not due to the meters. Typically the human meters read lower than pet meters, especially in higher numbers.
 
This statement is at the top of the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:

The dosing methods were developed long before pet meters became a thing.

The goal with SLGS is to keep nadirs between 90 and 149, and the highest numbers, which is often the preshot, at or below 300. She was at that with 0.25 units before you increased. The reason her numbers had started to go higher on 0.25 units previously is that the depot of the 0.5 unit dose you had been giving previously was wearing off. It was not due to the meters. Typically the human meters read lower than pet meters, especially in higher numbers.

I've noticed that when Daphne is in the mid-200s she does not seem well. Her hind leg gait is off and she seldom leaves her bed. Today on .5 she was an active engaged kitty. However, I've put her back on .25 and hope she does well.

@Bandit's Mom suggested I try TR. I've read the differences between the 2 methods several times, and given that she is on Glargine I wonder if I should switch. It seems as though she will stand a better chance at remission if I use TR. Your thoughts?
 
You will get her better regulated and faster if you follow TR. The biggest change I see for you is that you will have to add a before bed test each every night, or at least a +2 or +3. TR requires 2 tests per cycle, the preshot and one other. It's actually a good idea for SLGS too, so you can tell if she's going lower in any cycle.
 
You will get her better regulated and faster if you follow TR. The biggest change I see for you is that you will have to add a before bed test each every night, or at least a +2 or +3. TR requires 2 tests per cycle, the preshot and one other. It's actually a good idea for SLGS too, so you can tell if she's going lower in any cycle.

I really appreciate this. I’ll switch her over to TR.
 
I really appreciate this. I’ll switch her over to TR.
Hi Karen if you are switching to TR can you please add that to the top of your SS where you have SLGS,you can just put after SLGS TR as of and the date.
If you can also can you put a line above the date you are switching to TR
and just put Switch to TR and highlight that line any color
@Daphne'sChallenge

Read about TR here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Hi Karen if you are switching to TR can you please add that to the top of your SS where you have SLGS,you can just put after SLGS TR as of and the date.
If you can also can you put a line above the date you are switching to TR
and just put Switch to TR and highlight that line any color
@Daphne'sChallenge

Read about TR here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

GM, Diane. I was able to do everything except remove the cells in that extra row. Thanks for the TR reminder.
 
Back
Top