04/14 Richard AMPS 331 +4 331 +7 124 +8 295

Alex&Richard

Member Since 2026
04/03

Intro
Had quite a busy time at work, so have not posted for a while. The amount of BG checks is low as well, unfortunately, due to the same reason.
Short summary of past week+ for Richard: increased the dose to 1.25U a week ago. His appetite is high now -around 4 pouches a day, which is good I think, as he's lost quite some weight in past months (~5 kilo at the moment, used to be ~6 before the DX, his norm is ~5.5 I think). The results are inconclusive: BG seems to be high all the time, but I'm suspecting I'm just not getting a spot check at the correct time, thus the numbers I get could be bounce related (could they?). Especially, as the mid cycle BG often is higher than the pre-shot value. Also, got a random check of 124 followed by 295 just now.
On the positive side - ketones seems to stay low.

Diet
His current daily diet: 2 pouches of Oasy Adult, 2 pouches of RC instinctive jelly, half tuna loin (~15g) as treat. If calc and analytic constituents on pouches are correct, all should be below 10% carbs. I try to not feed him for 3-4 hours before the shot.

Questions
I was considering increasing the dose to 1.5U, but no longer sure. Does anyone has experience with similar patterns for a cat? Could dose increase help getting BG regulated or will it just make the drops and spikes worse? I really don't want to go back to 400 -> <50 -> 400 cycles.

In general, could constantly high BG levels be caused by overreaction on droping into low (~100) numbers? If so, are there any tricks to prevent this from happening? Or is it all just lack of insulin and I'm imagining things? I'm just very confused with (presumably) drops to ~100 every few days.
 
Hi Alex, Would you be able to get at least one before bedtime BG test? That would help to see how he's doing at night.

If you have dosing questions, it's best to use the ? question mark prefix before your daily title so it catches the attention of someone who can give you dosing advice.
Also put "dosing advice needed" in your title until you get an answer (can change it later)

I am not qualified to give dosing advice, however, it seems Richard is not going under 90 (since you are following SLGS) on any tests we can see results.
So, it's probably safe to increase by.25 units as long as you can monitor and have a hypo kit handy and will be testing to make sure he's safe.
( but wait for formal advice).
Your goal is to begin seeing more yellow, then blue and greens on your spreadsheet as the dose is more effective and you safely get into that range.

It's great the ketones are staying low! You're doing great! :bighug:
It's very common to see them bounce, especially in the beginning. They should get used to being in lower numbers again as you get to a better dose, and the bouncing should lessen (most cats do).
Some cats are always bouncers.
 
Thank you!
I will try to get a few extra checks tonight/ tomorrow to get better picture and will post asking for dose advice after that.
 
Back
Top