04/14 MeowMeow amps 49-question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrsd4ever

Member Since 2010
MeowMeow's ps numbers have been so low lately we haven't been comfortable giving a dose. I know we have been negligent about getting spot checks but we are now dealing with two sick dogs also and haven't had the chance to get as many checks as we should. I was just wondering if not giving insulin is gonna set us up for a problem soon? The last week we have been giving very little insulin and he seems to be doing ok. He is acting great, eating well and his hair is even growing back in all his bald spots. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks again.
 
Just glancing over your SS it seems to me that MeowMeow is ready to start an OTJ trial! Even without those spot checks you have about 3 days without insulin and numbers are staying under 100. I would continue measuring like that and not giving insulin as long he stays green after 14 days it's official Honeymoon! If you at some point get a higher number go ahead as usual with feeding etc. and then measure again after a few hours (3-4 hours after eating) it should go back down to green on its own. If he starts creeping up higher (>120-150) and doesn't come back down lower you may need to give a very small dose of insulin for a few days to get back on track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top