04/14 Frankie AMPS 166. Eeek!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
I dont have a lot of time because I need to be at church at 7:30 for set up. The AM shot was below 200, since I will not be around today, I did not give her a shot.... I'm freaked out right now but this is all I got to go with.... I also have an immediate need for suggestions on a litter box... I had a budda box and the were peeing over the side of it and it was festering underneath it. I chose to take that box out and put the clever kitty (top entry) in nts place becasue they were barley using it upstairs. Now they are peeing in the middle of the floor!! Thankfully tile BUT ARRRRGH!! Any ideas?? Something that will prevent litter from getting all over the plays, maybe an automatic, to keep it cleaner... I'm sooo frustrated.
 
Dan and Frankie said:
I dont have a lot of time because I need to be at church at 7:30 for set up. The AM shot was below 200, since I will not be around today, I did not give her a shot.... I'm freaked out right now but this is all I got to go with.... I also have an immediate need for suggestions on a litter box... I had a budda box and the were peeing over the side of it and it was festering underneath it. I chose to take that box out and put the clever kitty (top entry) in nts place becasue they were barley using it upstairs. Now they are peeing in the middle of the floor!! Thankfully tile BUT ARRRRGH!! Any ideas?? Something that will prevent litter from getting all over the plays, maybe an automatic, to keep it cleaner... I'm sooo frustrated.


I've never had much luck with covered boxes in my household....my cats just don't like being enclosed.
So I bought the highest sided open ones I could find (highback, I think its called) and put the low side against the wall. But the tracking is in part because they get litter on their paws - and no box on the planet is going to prevent that from happening. Litter mats do help.....I think you could get the same effect by using something like an artificial turf doormat - it needs to be something that will kind of scratch their paws clean as they leave.

Good luck - and that AMPS is a great number - I understand totally why you didn't shoot it.
 
Dan.

Rather than an enclosed box I will tell you the absolutely best thing I ever did for a litter box....skip the commerical litter boxes...go out and buy clear storage boxes for storing stuff like sweaters or christmas decorations from like Walmart. If you have to you can cut down one side for and entry. They are easier to clean as nothing sticks to them, the cats can't claw them up like they do the soft plastic of regular commercial litter boxes and they are deep enough that you can keep a nice deep depth of litter, with sides that are high enough to keep them from peeing over the edge, even with my two males that like to stand up to pee. As for litter, love my Tidy Cat multicat (red lid...blue lid is too perfumey) nice solid clumps. Also if by some chance they are still peeing over the edge, put puppy piddle pads under it.

Nice Amps, I understand why you skipped today, but you probably could have shot if you were going to be around to monitor.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Dan.

Rather than an enclosed box I will tell you the absolutely best thing I ever did for a litter box....skip the commerical litter boxes...go out and buy clear storage boxes for storing stuff like sweaters or christmas decorations from like Walmart. If you have to you can cut down one side for and entry. They are easier to clean as nothing sticks to them, the cats can't claw them up like they do the soft plastic of regular commercial litter boxes and they are deep enough that you can keep a nice deep depth of litter, with sides that are high enough to keep them from peeing over the edge, even with my two males that like to stand up to pee. As for litter, love my Tidy Cat multicat (red lid...blue lid is too perfumey) nice solid clumps. Also if by some chance they are still peeing over the edge, put puppy piddle pads under it.

Nice Amps, I understand why you skipped today, but you probably could have shot if you were going to be around to monitor.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Mel - how are you solving the tracking problem? I have the litterboxes under a table, and I used a two inch wood frame around it all to keep the scattered litter in the area...but even so, they do pick it up on their paws.....so I use an indoor outdoor carpet runner and either vacuum or just pick it up and shake it outside on occasion. I used Tidycat for a while and I agree that it clumps well.....but if you have found a solution to the tracking, I'd pay to hear it...the only thing that saves me is I keep the boxes in the basement, tile floor, easy to sweep.

That bit about a box on every floor I only did when I had a really old, arthritic cat - now I figure the stairs encourage exercise.
 
If you come up with something for the tracking, I'm all ears, too.

With mine, over the years, I think I have used every litter box there is, except for the automatic ones.

The regular, low, open ones, they'll pee over the side. I have what's called a Jumbo, covered box and even though I have the lid off most the time now, to catch Lucian for ketone tests, still no problem, cause it is probably 2-3 times as high as the regular ones.

But tracking? I just sweep it daily. I tried a rug in front to catch the litter, but Lucian has a tendency to scratch the floor outside the box and catches his claws in the rug, if they aren't trimmed all the time. Funny thing, he won't dig inside the box, just the floor when he's done. He also digs the floor when he doesn't like his food too, like he wants to bury it. :lol: That's my cue that he doesn't like that flavor.

If it's in the basement with tile, you may just have to sweep, like I do. I've always made it a point NOT to put it on carpet, for that very reason and that it will eventually smell up the carpet from the tracking. I've never tried the tracking mats though, can't justify the price when I can sweep for free. :lol:

Speaking of floors, I need to mop, it's been almost a week. Gotta keep the apt from smelling like litter and cat food. :o Between the tracking and their messy eating..........ya know.
 
In 30 years of living with cats I have never found anyway to stop the tracking, but then again the dog tracks in mud, the DH tracks in all kinds of various bits of stuff from work...sawdust, tar, bondo etc so I just pretty much live with a Swifer in hand. :lol:

As I read somewhere

If I didn't own pets:
My floors would be cleaner
My wallet and bank account fatter
My furniture nicer
And I would have more free time
But my heart would so much emptier

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Ain't that the truth!?!

Financially, I would be better off, but I would be so unhappy without my babies. I can clean up and cut back somewhere else, not gonna lose my babies. I don't care if we have to live in my truck, they aren't going anywhere! :-D
 
More than likely she went low or lower than normal overnight last night thus the 166 amps this morning and bounced that combined with a skipped shot is what you are seeing now. All you can do is wait until tonight shoot her regular dose and get her back on track...Trust me it has happened to all of us.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
nckitties3 said:
If you come up with something for the tracking, I'm all ears, too.

With mine, over the years, I think I have used every litter box there is, except for the automatic ones.

The regular, low, open ones, they'll pee over the side. I have what's called a Jumbo, covered box and even though I have the lid off most the time now, to catch Lucian for ketone tests, still no problem, cause it is probably 2-3 times as high as the regular ones.

But tracking? I just sweep it daily. I tried a rug in front to catch the litter, but Lucian has a tendency to scratch the floor outside the box and catches his claws in the rug, if they aren't trimmed all the time. Funny thing, he won't dig inside the box, just the floor when he's done. He also digs the floor when he doesn't like his food too, like he wants to bury it. :lol: That's my cue that he doesn't like that flavor.

If it's in the basement with tile, you may just have to sweep, like I do. I've always made it a point NOT to put it on carpet, for that very reason and that it will eventually smell up the carpet from the tracking. I've never tried the tracking mats though, can't justify the price when I can sweep for free. :lol:

Speaking of floors, I need to mop, it's been almost a week. Gotta keep the apt from smelling like litter and cat food. :o Between the tracking and their messy eating..........ya know.


Cheaper than the tracking mats is an astroturf mat if you can find one. That's what I used to use - they don't snag claws but they do trap most of the litter. You can't vacuum them - I would just pick it up and shake it into the trash when I had a carpeted apartment. But now with a basement, it really is pretty easy to sweep the indoor outdoor that I use under and around the box area...And because its indoor/outdoor - I don't have a smell problem - even on the rare occasions that someone has missed through illness or catitude- it cleans up fine with laundry detergent and a bit of scrubbing.
 
I use the breeze system for Sneakers mainly for the tracking thing. Yes- I do find the pellets around but not as much as the litter or as frequent. Costs some upfront and the pee pads are cheaper on Amazon in the 40 pk size but in all total costs less per month than I was spending on litter... and I don't find it on my pillow in the morning.
 
hmjohnston said:
I use the breeze system for Sneakers mainly for the tracking thing. Yes- I do find the pellets around but not as much as the litter or as frequent. Costs some upfront and the pee pads are cheaper on Amazon in the 40 pk size but in all total costs less per month than I was spending on litter... and I don't find it on my pillow in the morning.

I'd forgotten about that system. I had one and it worked for me except that at the time I had 3 cats and I had trouble keeping up with the pee pads. Seems in my house one box is always designated for #1 and one for #2.....and so by the time I got home from work......one tray runneth over.

I'm really glad to hear you like it and it might be worth trying again - thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top